Reduce RPM during highway cruising

n0th1n

Feb 7, 2005
japan
junk-dealer.blogspot.com
changing FD will make u suffer at hill/slope climbs.
last time using 3.5, very suffer to take ramps (specifically in dayabumi, short cut masjid negara to central market)
couple of times engine stalled, just because i dont want to high rev....
why not just change the 5th gear. hahhahah
p/s: normal c56 5th gear is 0.815 only. why not change it to 0.6 ka, 0.5ka... then at 110km/h, the rev will be lower than 3000rpm

tonyops

Oct 28, 2010
Sarawak
I believe Toyota designed the GB in such a way, must have their reasons. Don't try to alter the FD, u'll screw up ur entire car performance in the end.

spwn

Jun 8, 2006
Haha no worries! Everyone has their rightful own opinion :D

Bro spwn: Err..okay, now I'm not really sure of your intention.. Are you looking to fix your cruising rpm or upgrade the engine? Coz IMHO, I don't think it makes sense to get a bigger displacement engine just for the lower cruising rpm. Normally people do it for POWERRRRR..heheh

Anyways, yup, 4AFE 5spd doing 2.5k RPM at 110km/h is a healthy 4AFE :D
Bro FGT, I was thinking of the 7AFE coz got higher torque kekeke but then will increas FC, road tax etc somemore hahaha :P

So mine doing 3.1k..haih very unhealthy engine huhuhuhu

changing FD will make u suffer at hill/slope climbs.
last time using 3.5, very suffer to take ramps (specifically in dayabumi, short cut masjid negara to central market)
couple of times engine stalled, just because i dont want to high rev....
why not just change the 5th gear. hahhahah
p/s: normal c56 5th gear is 0.815 only. why not change it to 0.6 ka, 0.5ka... then at 110km/h, the rev will be lower than 3000rpm
yeah change the 5th gear aka Final Drive would be a better choice. Any idea how much will it cost ka?

I believe Toyota designed the GB in such a way, must have their reasons. Don't try to alter the FD, u'll screw up ur entire car performance in the end.
kekeke well if the current design doesnt suit the usage the only way we can make it better is to change it kekeke thats y one of my considerations was to change to 6spd GB kekeke

n0th1n

Feb 7, 2005
japan
junk-dealer.blogspot.com
dude, FD is totally different with gears 1 until 5

hachiroku clan

Oct 16, 2008
whatt??!! u mean Final Drive is not the last gear?? aiseh... all this while i thought so...

final drive changes all the gears' ratio.. the whole shaft is connected to FD it so it effects all.. something like dat, hard to explain hehe..

Dayline668

Aug 4, 2007
final drive changes all the gears' ratio.. the whole shaft is connected to FD it so it effects all.. something like dat, hard to explain hehe..
Let me make it simple, changing final drive will change all your gear ratio then stock ratio. We wan rev faster will change final drive to 4.773(stock 3.xx) all your gear will be closer, hence get better performance of your engine,less top speed high rpm. The other way around will get more top speed less rpm but engine will fill sluggish no power then b4. Just change 5th gear is better.

Calculate gear ratio
http://locost7.info/gearcalc.php

---------- Post added at 06:54 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 06:53 PM ----------

What tire size are you using? And what is the original (OEM) tire size supposed to be?
Ori spec would be 185/60/14.

spwn

Jun 8, 2006
w00t! I learnt a lot from this thread. No 1 lesson learnt is FD= Final Drive does not equal 5th gear. Paiseh bro n0th1n.

I thk changing the 5th gear would be the best bet after all the discussion here. Especially if dont want to involve so much cost and sacrifice existing performance.

If got moolah then can think of plonking a 6spd :p

Thanks all!

Just did a quick calculation with the calculator that bro Daylight668 gave with 185/65/14

Stock C56 GB running 110km/h @ 3440 RPM
C56 GB with .725 5th GR running 110km/h @ 3060 RPM
Stock C160 GB running 110km/h @ 3214 RPM

Does this mean stock Corolla AE111 not capable of 110km/h @ 2500 RPM :bawling:

spwn

Jun 8, 2006
w00t! I learnt a lot from this thread. No 1 lesson learnt is FD= Final Drive does not equal 5th gear. Paiseh bro n0th1n.

I thk changing the 5th gear would be the best bet after all the discussion here. Especially if dont want to involve so much cost and sacrifice existing performance.

If got moolah then can think of plonking a 6spd :p

Thanks all!

Just did a quick calculation with the calculator that bro Daylight668 gave with 185/65/14

any takers??:hmmmm:

Dayline668

Aug 4, 2007
Not sure about manual, auto is around that rpm.

FGT

May 19, 2007

any takers??:hmmmm:
That's some useful info.. AE111 is capable of that bro, my car is doing it but its auto.. Manual should be just a bit higher.. Get that clutch checked :adore::adore::adore:

spwn

Jun 8, 2006
Bro FGT & Dayline6688 i got the clutch checked...the mechanic say its doing fine no slipping wor... hmm maybe need to get 2nd opinion hahaha

gonna try out some stuff like getting wheels upgraded and maybe change 5th gear....watch out for updates in the near future! :D

FGT

May 19, 2007
Bro FGT & Dayline6688 i got the clutch checked...the mechanic say its doing fine no slipping wor... hmm maybe need to get 2nd opinion hahaha

gonna try out some stuff like getting wheels upgraded and maybe change 5th gear....watch out for updates in the near future! :D
Did your mech test it until the 5th gear? Coz clutch slipping usually is not noticeable when you are in the first three gears. Only in the top gear that it's set to transfer 1:1 torque from the engine so thats when it slips.. Just my honest opinion bro.. All the best :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Hi guys...anyone of you know where I can get some bumper diffusers made.
Promote has them for their Putra / Wira. What about universal ones or custom ones.

I know Dai Ichi and Grandpire may have ...but anywehere else?