Turbo Misconceptions

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
so what's the meaning of this ? A/R 50 is what turbo ? that's the most important question

p/s : 1 more thing, in drag race, horsepower won't guarantee a victory. that's why in some cases vtec car with only 200whp ++ can beat 400whp turbo car
Why? Please explain? How come 400whp cannot win 200whp?

pijulrs

Dec 31, 2007
Why? Please explain? How come 400whp cannot win 200whp?
because there are many other factors that come into play in a race for example torque, traction, driver's shifting skills, etc etc.....
Mostly below 300m drag 20B vtec with some mod and slight moded MMC turbo either one of them can win one.Reason is that vtec got good 1st,2nd,3rdgear ratios...MMC standard lock 4wd gearbox is suck.it all depends onlaunching time.Thats why vtec car love to drag with turbo for 250-300m lol.However,if drag for 400m is another difference stories.:biggrin:

kumar22mostwanted

Jan 9, 2010
HELL!!!
Mostly below 300m drag 20B vtec with some mod and slight moded MMC turbo either one of them can win one.Reason is that vtec got good 1st,2nd,3rdgear ratios...MMC standard lock 4wd gearbox is suck.it all depends onlaunching time.Thats why vtec car love to drag with turbo for 250-300m lol.However,if drag for 400m is another difference stories.:biggrin:
yess!!!! coz after 300m and the turbo is spooling like crazy :biggrin:
the vtec will probably be behind

pijulrs

Dec 31, 2007
yeap...63t at 3rd to 4th gear will go like hell.This is bcoz the spool n the ratio match n the traction will stick to the tarmac.IMHO,the best final drive is from e1 n vr4rs.

pijulrs

Dec 31, 2007
This final drive is like motorcycle rear sprocket.vr4rs/e1 same final drive n got more teeth then e2 or e3.Got many teeth = lotsa pickup n torque!Driving a 4wd lock gearbox feel like the ratio too short bcoz of it close ratio gearbox.This close ratio gearbox is to prevent lots of rpm dropping when changing in every gear when drag.:biggrin:

my uncle with evo2 previously start rolling only using 3rd gear....

1st and 2nd gear can keep in the store room.... :lol:

kumar22mostwanted

Jan 9, 2010
HELL!!!
with the evo3 ratio, i engage 1-3-5 jer, lol
i will try a few times to see the feeling but not too many times no $$$ to always tukar clutch plate hehehe :biggrin:

---------- Post added at 05:48 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:47 PM ----------

my uncle with evo2 previously start rolling only using 3rd gear....

1st and 2nd gear can keep in the store room.... :lol:
kekekek can sell mah sure got ppl wan for drag :rofl:

dear sifus,

i am planning to upgrade my BLM's rear drum brake to wira 1.6's rear disc brakes. is this advisable?

i heard that rear drum brakes are better in gripping power than rear disc brakes, is that true?

the problem i am facing with my car is that my handbrakes not very grippy when i stop at slopes, i have to pull my handbrakes really stiff or engage a gear when i park my car on a slope, would rear disc brakes improve the problem? would it give me better braking power during...