My Cefiro 8848

weikee

Jul 16, 2006
2 will be good enough lah,

Using free gear or D is just asking for trouble only.

When i go Genting i always see some car having problem be it high end or low end car. and lots of brake burning smell.. there is a reason why Auto come with 1 and 2, and not only D.

doob

May 2, 2006
Maybe too much brake force applied during downhill and wrapped the disc rotors.
I've done skimming on my rotors last year.
Sort of a on-wheel skimming job. No need send to foundry.
the mechanic removed my wheel and use a special tool to skim it.
about 30mins job. cost me about RM100 for 2 discs.

Advisable to change the pads after the skimming job too.

doob

weikee

Jul 16, 2006
I send it to machine shop only cost me RM 30, and RM 30 for my mechanic labor. Anyway i can't do it on the wheels cause i have a LSD box.

BTW, is advice todo only 1 time skim, don't overdo it it will cause lots of problem like brake pad will fall out if skim too thin and pad running low, disc crack, disc easy wrap. I changed my disc to brand new last year after it skim once before i got the car.

seizai

Jul 27, 2005
I send it to machine shop only cost me RM 30, and RM 30 for my mechanic labor. Anyway i can't do it on the wheels cause i have a LSD box.

BTW, is advice todo only 1 time skim, don't overdo it it will cause lots of problem like brake pad will fall out if skim too thin and pad running low, disc crack, disc easy wrap. I changed my disc to brand new last year after it skim once before i got the car.
wat brand u change?

weikee

Jul 16, 2006
don't know the brand, but is from japan. So far i am satisfied with the rotor, and the performance brake pad i am using got no problem and did not wrap my disc. Can brake now, stop yesterday.

hi

i thinking of changing my brakepad to better one...
(front disc rear drum)

so.. any reccomendation?
what is the price range?

i wan to change front together with rear
and padd them in.. so it become balance..

appreciate your opinions..