4age check light

lansaid58

Mar 20, 2010
hi all sifu-sifu toyota. my babe converted fm 3e to 4age 20v ST on ee90. now check light remain 'on' and when start have to press pedal with black smoke. sluggish rpm with hi fuel consumption rm30 get 75 km only. shorted TE1 to E1 light goes 'off' no blinking. can start with TE1 and E1 shorted. help me what to do.:confused:

ngjenwei

Sep 26, 2006
sometimes o2 sensor not functioning will not show in the diagnosis check light. I think most probably is o2 sensor and there is rich in A/F ratio.

levin818

Nov 29, 2003
Hi lansaid58,

"check light remain ON..."
"shorted TE1 to E1 light goes 'off' no blinking"

You have a faulty ECU! This happened very often to SVT.
Also happened to '95 and '96 BT!

Hope this help.

E-Tech

Jun 28, 2005
Johor
bro....
look for my post wit regards to ecu...
open up and check yours..
tq

r60262

Mar 23, 2006
i also have this eperience. suspect ecu faulty. try find sifu levin 818. i use rebuilt ecu from him. he give 1 year warranty..

levin818

Nov 29, 2003
Hi r60262, thank you for your support :biggrin:

---------- Post added at 03:53 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:34 PM ----------

Personally i won't suggest the owner to check the ECU by themselves. Some may pull off the socket's wire (for those who has mod on their wiring) which, will lead to more problems...

lansaid58

Mar 20, 2010
dear all, thanks to levin818 for helping me to overcome the "check light" remain on by replacing a repaired one. we had a good check out on the engine which satified me alot. yet he will help me with exhaust sensor wiring. thanks levin818..

wilm3

Aug 4, 2005
sifu really sifu lar...):adore:

lkeong88

Nov 1, 2009
Cheras
Hi remember me ? That day I went to change my ecu with levin818 at that mechanic (eurika or something).

BTW that place is bad, the mechs like to talk nonsense and when he replace my ECU he pulled out some of the wires for my headunit, luckily I went to howie and he redo the wiring for free.

About the recon ecu, I think its worth to do it for most cars as our cars are more than 10 years already, and I am monitoring if there are any changes after changing to a new ecu.

levin818

Nov 29, 2003
Hi Said, thank you for your trust to me :)
I will trace my O2's wiring and post it later.

Hi lkeong88, thank you for your trust to me as well. And really sorry for the things that happened that day. I will feedback to the shop's owner.
Btw, your head unit's wiring was connected by "twist and tape" method. This is the worst (and yet most easy) method which is not recomended in automotive at all as it will have intermittance connection problem if subject to vibration. For me, i prefer solder and sleeve :biggrin:

lkeong88

Nov 1, 2009
Cheras
Im still in KL, will go to terengganu in july. So far feels normal, monitoring the FC as well

et_box

Aug 27, 2006
Sifu levin818 really ECU professor... Also bought one from him... Very good... Still going strong!!!

sifu,

currently im searching for 4G94 block to mate with my 4G93T... currently using GT2835R...

wat conrod is suitable for 4G94..wat brand of piston is best to upgrade ???

can i use evo 2.3L crankshaft ???

advice needed....