How to improve my car...B20b vtec.

akuma

Jul 16, 2005
Kuantan
SHIT!haf been reading up on dat RMF Narrow(replica) header...looks like it's kicking ass everywhr!any1 know whr 2 get them in M'sia?heard a few drag Hondas attended d recent MUSC drag event w dis headers........

n speaking abt cams,specificaly TODA..is it true dat Toda B is d BEST?coz der is Toda A2 n C2,but not a B2.....sum say dis is coz d B is flawless while d A & B needed improvement,while another party sez der's A2 & C2 coz der is room 4 improvement while d B is hopeless,hahahha..whc is whc?

deacon

Senior master debater
May 5, 2005
If you are going for all out performance Jun Type 4 or Toda C cams.

Cams for street are like Toda A or B cams, Jun Type 1 or 2. And if you are wondering about which is better, you should consult the cam chart

B Series Cam Guide

Honestly it comes down to how well the cams are tuned. Some have higher lift than others blah, blah, blah, takes a lot of know how.

Definitely if you have an aggressively ported head and kick butt headers you may need the cams to keep up with the extra breathing space. Otherwise a mild port job and the right header should do the trick i figure. But as far as netting another 18hp... maybe not.

hornydrifter

Mar 27, 2005
KEY EL!
r u running on cable type V-Tec? since u mention bout small V... suppose to be on EF9/EF8 Models

Head small v..GBox also ef9 cable spec loor...

---------- Post added at 10:42 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:37 PM ----------

brother horny,

nice build you got there...

Why not go for b16b cams? at least something also right? +with PNP + with hondata like bro camshaft mentioned .... if you + with tat header i think its safe to say your are hitting your target figure.

Good luck bro.[/QUOTE

Hmmm..still oem cams rite? will think bout it~

How bout this spec...full b16b valvetrain and cams....and better management?..hondata..err....no money edy loo...+ this afternoon some mat rempit hit my side miror..patah edy...fuck him....need to replace that...that parts i mentions for 1.3~5k..ok arr? if anyone got..pls pm me...nanti my money finish on my gf....DAMN..its not worth it~

---------- Post added at 10:50 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:42 PM ----------

You guys / SIFU's havent answered my other questions...yes...seems that header can net around 10++hp...how bout ignition/ fire power...I mean..MSD shit and etc2..will it help in that "getting power division"?..

Sory for the hardship to you guys/ sifu's helping me on this..is not im short on money to buy cams or wat..but..to me....the harder to find that hp..the better~ u can enjoy urself in doing so~ cams and stuff..NO OFFENCE...for those got $$...efficiency is the way for me..

Err..and that header..where to buy? im going this weekend to get that hytech (good) shit~

deacon

Senior master debater
May 5, 2005
I'm not sure whether spark efficiency will help improve horsepower. Definitely going with an external coil will help increase reliability as regular B series distributors aren't so great. Perhaps it comes down to tuning. But largely i feel that producing more efficient spark may only salvage some lost horsepower, maybe one or two at best.

Anyone else with a view?

akuma

Jul 16, 2005
Kuantan
AFAIK,a fren is running sum sort of digital ignition on his monstrous B18C n i heard he gained like 3-4whp ONLY.......but i haven't got a feedback frm d owner wether d car feels/behave differently or not after instally d ignition system.....

deacon

Senior master debater
May 5, 2005
Yeah that's what i thought. Looks like more efficient spark burns excess fuel which does help your engine gain more horsepower but 3-4 hp... a little for a lot of moolah.

Good luck to the OP in getting the Hytech header. Post pics please.

akuma

Jul 16, 2005
Kuantan
n do share on d price u got it for........even better if u post ur dyno graph here la8 on...kekekek

YRvi

Oct 5, 2006
Guys, i just wanna know you people with the B20's are using what size of exhaust piping? I think my 2.5inch is just too big for my H22A. Minor mods, just for soft-porn kinda driving style. I was thinking about 2.3inch.. so need to get your opinions around here.. Thanking all in advance. :wavey:

deacon

Senior master debater
May 5, 2005
The only way to find out is to strap your H22A with 2.3 inch piping and exhaust on the dyno and get some numbers. Right after that swap out the 2.3 inch for 2.5 inch piping and exhaust and dyno again.

Some believe you get better torque with 2.3 inch. Others think 2.5 inch give you higher gains top end. I'm currently running on 2.3 inch piping with a 4-1 extractor and i feel less torque than i did with my 4-2-1. So i guess that your extractor should factor in as well, in terms of what sizes to go with.

What's the stock H22A pipe size? 2.1 inch like a DC2R?

akuma

Jul 16, 2005
Kuantan
UNLESS ur running an auto H22A,i dun c y d 2.5" piping won suit ur engine?FYI,i used 2 run 2.5" piping on my auto EG9....gain throughout entire rpm range(up to 8500rpm),even my FC improved.n yes,it was still a B16A.placement of mid-box & type of muffler used will determine d power characteristic too....dat's y ppl say a WHOLE system works better...i was running a full set RS*R exos system back thn.
even on my B16B now,i m running custom 2.5" mandrel-bent piping + replica MUGEN mid-box(1 of d BEST mid-box in d market!REALLY!) + 5Zigen Fireball muffler....i hit 171whp n ard 16.9kg/m of torque

YRvi

Oct 5, 2006
Mine is just a dumb stock H22A. The reason why i'd opt to change is, i'd want to try to fit DC2's piping(may need some mods) that came with BC spec2. Since BC Spec2 only came out for EG and DC2 fittings, I find it hard to match it to my car. Any suggestion?

akuma

Jul 16, 2005
Kuantan
never label any DOHC VTEC as dumb.even 4 a stock H22A,it's very well balanced frm d factory n it's power level shud b well respected.anyway,u still din mention wether ur car is an auto/manual.i'll assume it's an auto,n i wud suggest u swap back 2 d 4-2-1 extractor.
as 4 d piping,can i assume dat u've already purchased d BC Spec2?hehehe.so watta heck?pasang lar n c wat happens?good luck...

consonar

Dec 28, 2004
D'sara - S.alam
wow... really much input in this thread....
it is really great to read from the beginning thread as all otai/sifu *such as akuma
replying and sharing some knowledge...

later on hornydrifter will prangggggggggggg... sudah byk mod ni!!
u always minum2 at aman suria lagi ka? ingat mau lepak2 sembang2...

keep it up guys!!:driver:

YRvi

Oct 5, 2006
Akuma : hahaha.. my english so-so only, bahasa pasar they said stended pekak --> dumb stock. Yes, even as stock as it's this engine always give B-Series(average joe B-Series k) hard time on the road. Mine is manual trans with Mugen Header(4-2-1) custom 2.5 piping follow original bend till the end. I'm still sourcing for the Spec2, haven't bought it yet. At this moment I'm generating around 185whp with this setup(not only piping mods, i got very few others under my sleeve), the thing i'm worrying about is the compatibility of the 2.3 inch piping, would it mess up everything(drop the HP/Torque etc..)?

As for the BCS2, i really wanna pasang.. a friend of mine use it in his civic and most of the neighbours(including few blocks away) hate him liao.. I just wanna see how it performs on H-Series.

akuma

Jul 16, 2005
Kuantan
d nex person 2 label as sifu,i'll start charging 4 my inputs in here!hahahahha

YRvi,
MANUAL H22A n ur worried abt piping size?aw come on..like i sed,i was running 2.5" piping on my auto EG9 w EK9 4-2-1 extractor coz i wanted d 2.5" collector.n it's no slouch.even my current CRX is running almost d same set up..2.5" collector+2.5" piping,n i got more whp thn u.hehehehe....torque dun story lar..1.6 mah?so,stop worrying n JUST DO IT!hahaha.....

Hey fellow enthusiast,
I'm currently driving a putra with an auto tranny.I'm thinking of transplanting a 4G93T(GSR).Although i have driven a turbo before but i'm still a novice in the turbo world.I was driving a bolt on turbo which i just bought second hand.Sold it away about 4 years back.
Now what i intend to find out is how much is a half cut of the GSR?What r the rates for the workmanship of the transplant?How much do i have to pay to get the car and the new engine no. to be...