how much to do engine swap?

Jin_Jat

May 2, 2009
Hometown:Penang
If you want it to be cheap then put in nissan engine
ive been asking people about that too...another method is to swap in a SR20...but i cant get it out of my mind if having a toyota make car but with another make engine...but its still an alternative though...

Jordy

Oct 28, 2006
Kuching,Sarawak
SR20 is a nice engine.... but not sure about the Puspakom n JPJ ... after the transplant ..duno if there will any hard problem registering ur new engine kah...

banzai

Nov 21, 2003
KL \ Ipoh
my KE is with SR20. if you want daily driven without prob with authorities, juz plonk in 4AGE. yes, price is quite high now for an ae86 hafcut. you'll need minimum 8K for hafcut + installing. then u have to think bout offset rims, exhaust, body restoration, tat itself will balloon your bill to 10k plus. But, endorsement will not be problem at all.

if you want purely for drift, or drag, then sr20 is a good choice. the power is crazy. i've dumped in everything in, the axle, gbox, re-route water hoses. i can even adjust rear camber coz s13 axle is a live axle. but the car definitely will not pass endorsement. initial investment will not differ much from ae86 base, but as for maintenance, there is no need to fork out ridiculous thousands of ringgit for hafcut items tat bears ae86 chop, such as lsd axle, suspension, longshaft...

Jin_Jat

May 2, 2009
my KE is with SR20. if you want daily driven without prob with authorities, juz plonk in 4AGE. yes, price is quite high now for an ae86 hafcut. you'll need minimum 8K for hafcut + installing. then u have to think bout offset rims, exhaust, body restoration, tat itself will balloon your bill to 10k plus. But, endorsement will not be problem at all.

if you want purely for drift, or drag, then sr20 is a good choice. the power is crazy. i've dumped in everything in, the axle, gbox, re-route water hoses. i can even adjust rear camber coz s13 axle is a live axle. but the car definitely will not pass endorsement. initial investment will not differ much from ae86 base, but as for maintenance, there is no need to fork out ridiculous thousands of ringgit for hafcut items tat bears ae86 chop, such as lsd axle, suspension, longshaft...
yea i noted that sr20 users on corollas hassle when theres JPJ roadblocks too...anyway im not so into drifting and im using my car just for daily drive...just that i need a lil speed and reliability from my KE70 maybe on the highway coz travelling from Penang and Negeri Sembilan on an old 4k gives me the creep..hahaha...maybe ill try and get the ae86 halfcut first (thats within my budget)...ive already undergo the body restoration and within this month itll be complete...

pcmoddingmy

Mar 23, 2006
www.pcmoddingmy.com
IMO, i think it would be best if you could get engine lantai 4AGE 16V and do a top overhaul on it before plonking it in. Would be even better if you could get the engine + wiring + gearbox. Reason is because 4AGE 16V (even 20V) is a darn old engine and I bet be it halfcut or engine lantai, you'll still need to overhaul it...unless you don't mind using it for only 1 years plus until it starts burning engine oil like mad.

IIRC, engine lantai for 4AGE 16V and 20V is quite cheap. So you can use the extra cash to do the overhaul and rest assured the engine will last you for the coming years. Besides, not everything from the AE86 halfcut can be used on KE70. The AE86 h/cuts also expensive due to the bodyparts as well.

Previously in Ipoh, I saw a 4AGE 20V BT engine lantai already mounted to AE86 RWD gearbox, complete with water routing for radiator hose going for sale. It would be a steal if you could get such deal. For suspension you can source for cheaper S13 adjustables with a little modification but rear discs prolly will cost you a bit. Just my thought...

cuscostrutbrace

Jul 10, 2004
I would say almost all things in AE86 halfcut can but used on KE70,except the bodyparts of course..Engine ,gbox,suspension is direct fit...others need slight mod..

Jin_Jat

May 2, 2009
thx bros...i think i should get an ae86 h/c after all...theres some deals for 4age w/o bodyparts out there and i think id try to view them first...anyway after installing the engine, do i need extra cash to tune? or is it within the process of installing?

AE75

Feb 10, 2010
thx bros...i think i should get an ae86 h/c after all...theres some deals for 4age w/o bodyparts out there and i think id try to view them first...anyway after installing the engine, do i need extra cash to tune? or is it within the process of installing?
Beside the AE86 H/C, I got 1 more H/C and seem more worth, even have same pricing or even cheaper too.
It is Carina H/C, it still have 4AGE but people said it much more power than AE86.
I not sure it true or not, because both having the same engine only.
Maybe the gear ratio is different.

Jin_Jat

May 2, 2009
Beside the AE86 H/C, I got 1 more H/C and seem more worth, even have same pricing or even cheaper too.
It is Carina H/C, it still have 4AGE but people said it much more power than AE86.
I not sure it true or not, because both having the same engine only.
Maybe the gear ratio is different.
from wat i know...there's almost 4 or 5 generations of 4age engine...the one ae86 was using is the 1st and 2nd generation 4age which both the power output was about 130HP and the 2nd gen 4age was found usually in a ae92...then theres the RT(Redtop), ST(Silvertop) and BT(Blacktop) which takes place as the 3rd,4th and 5th gen 4age engines...The RT punches 145HP and The ST gives out about 158HP while the BT approximately 163HP...these 3rd,4th and 5th 4age engines can be founded in ae101, ae111 etc2....from the 2nd gen 4age to the 5th, Toyota seems to make them into a FF/FWD...so comes Carina(AT210) which is the FF based car...which means i still have to look out for an ae86 gearbox to fix it in...

Sorry for the long explanation...anyway about the carina 4age h/c...is the price around 4k?

---------- Post added at 01:46 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:43 AM ----------

IMO, i think it would be best if you could get engine lantai 4AGE 16V and do a top overhaul on it before plonking it in. Would be even better if you could get the engine + wiring + gearbox. Reason is because 4AGE 16V (even 20V) is a darn old engine and I bet be it halfcut or engine lantai, you'll still need to overhaul it...unless you don't mind using it for only 1 years plus until it starts burning engine oil like mad.

IIRC, engine lantai for 4AGE 16V and 20V is quite cheap. So you can use the extra cash to do the overhaul and rest assured the engine will last you for the coming years. Besides, not everything from the AE86 halfcut can be used on KE70. The AE86 h/cuts also expensive due to the bodyparts as well.

Previously in Ipoh, I saw a 4AGE 20V BT engine lantai already mounted to AE86 RWD gearbox, complete with water routing for radiator hose going for sale. It would be a steal if you could get such deal. For suspension you can source for cheaper S13 adjustables with a little modification but rear discs prolly will cost you a bit. Just my thought...
quite a good info there bro...but its just me..afraid of lantai..ahhahaha

Jordy

Oct 28, 2006
Kuching,Sarawak
from wat i know...there's almost 4 or 5 generations of 4age engine...the one ae86 was using is the 1st and 2nd generation 4age which both the power output was about 130HP and the 2nd gen 4age was found usually in a ae92...then theres the RT(Redtop), ST(Silvertop) and BT(Blacktop) which takes place as the 3rd,4th and 5th gen 4age engines...The RT punches 145HP and The ST gives out about 158HP while the BT approximately 163HP...these 3rd,4th and 5th 4age engines can be founded in ae101, ae111 etc2....from the 2nd gen 4age to the 5th, Toyota seems to make them into a FF/FWD...so comes Carina(AT210) which is the FF based car...which means i still have to look out for an ae86 gearbox to fix it in...

Sorry for the long explanation...anyway about the carina 4age h/c...is the price around 4k?

---------- Post added at 01:46 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:43 AM ----------

For 4AGE 16valve there is 3 Generation ... The 1st Generation is Used on the AE86 What we called it as the Big-Port (TVIS) MAP and the 2nd Generation 4A-GE 16Valve is also a Big Port (TVIS) but is using AFM and the last generation of 16Valve which is the 3rd Generation is used on the late model of AE92 Levin/Trueno Small Port(Non-TVIS) MAP.
As for the Forth Generation is the 4A-GE 20Valve Silvertop mostly found in AE101 Levin and the Fifth Generation which is the last of 4A-GE generation is the 4A-GE 20Valve Blacktop AE111 Levin.

So 4A-GE has the totall of 5 Generation. Cheersss.... :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

cuscostrutbrace

Jul 10, 2004
Just buy AE86 H/C and Install,save you money and no headache,refresh the wear and tear parts and ready to go,no need tuning...

Jin_Jat

May 2, 2009

For 4AGE 16valve there is 3 Generation ... The 1st Generation is Used on the AE86 What we called it as the Big-Port (TVIS) MAP and the 2nd Generation 4A-GE 16Valve is also a Big Port (TVIS) but is using AFM and the last generation of 16Valve which is the 3rd Generation is used on the late model of AE92 Levin/Trueno Small Port(Non-TVIS) MAP.
As for the Forth Generation is the 4A-GE 20Valve Silvertop mostly found in AE101 Levin and the Fifth Generation which is the last of 4A-GE generation is the 4A-GE 20Valve Blacktop AE111 Levin.

So 4A-GE has the totall of 5 Generation. Cheersss.... :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:
thx for the useful info bro...

---------- Post added at 12:19 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:03 PM ----------

Just buy AE86 H/C and Install,save you money and no headache,refresh the wear and tear parts and ready to go,no need tuning...
maybe thats wat im gonna do...thx

nnik

Sep 20, 2005
Lembah Klang
saw 2 units ae86 h/c at bukit kemuning shah alam there..if got time..i'll ask the price for u....

---------- Post added at 06:18 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:01 PM ----------

just found this...real cheap....
Drift.com.my ~ View topic - bt 20v RWD engine for sale

ae111 btop+ae86gbox...complete for rm 4k...dono still have or not..
just try call.......good luck

Jin_Jat

May 2, 2009
saw 2 units ae86 h/c at bukit kemuning shah alam there..if got time..i'll ask the price for u....

---------- Post added at 06:18 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:01 PM ----------

just found this...real cheap....
Drift.com.my ~ View topic - bt 20v RWD engine for sale

ae111 btop+ae86gbox...complete for rm 4k...dono still have or not..
just try call.......good luck
thx bro...ill try and call him tomorrow whether it is taken or not...quite a bargain...but looking at the specs he mentioned he said that it is a pnp to kp61...means that i have to look for ae86 long shaft? and some other parts?

AE75

Feb 10, 2010

I was talking about Carina RWD and not FWD. I not sure the price tag, but last time I found alot also having same price tag as AE86 or cheaper than that too

PRESS RELEASE

Swiss Express - The Rinspeed "Le Mans 600" based on the Porsche 997 Turbo

The Swiss Porsche specialist Rinspeed launches its new and exclusive accessories program "Le Mans" for the latest Porsche 997 Turbo models

The body

The "Le Mans" front skirt with integrated Carbon splitters appears eye-catching and produces a higher aerodynamic...