Alfa 156 2.0

mahin_kumar

Jun 13, 2008
Selamat Hari raya..... :)

Hello peepz,

I want honest feedback please. I savour nearly 5k from my comp monthly. have to take care of my family as well-household etc etc.

What do you think of an Alfa 156 2.0 twin spark for me?
Cos i heard that maintenance is 'High Society' for tat car.

Hoping for some good feedback...

Thanks ya...

bugs893

Aug 12, 2009
Melaka
hi kumar,

Alfa 156 is a good car in term of performance and handling, but sorry to say the after sale services and spare part are quite expensive compare with other Germany's car.

i suggest for further info an opinions from 156 owner, check in motortraders forums, choose wisely.

Vorsprung Durch Technik:wavey:

tth tyre

Jun 5, 2007
Puchong
is a good car to drive and own...car price are cheap now 99 2.0 selespeed Rm32-40k...new car was 15xk...

khoo198

Feb 11, 2009
N9
selespeed gearbox many kacau 1.......:smokin: manual is ok......

tth tyre

Jun 5, 2007
Puchong
selespeed buy 2001/2002 onward cause less problem...

zachdelarocha

Dec 9, 2003
How many engine variants does Alfa 156 and 147 have?
I'm planning to get a 147 very soon..
As far as i'm concerned, there are Twin Spark, Selespeed and ......
147 has 1.6, 1.9, 2.0,and a V6 3.something ....
Please shed some light sifus..

yazio

Sep 21, 2009
How many engine variants does Alfa 156 and 147 have?
I'm planning to get a 147 very soon..
As far as i'm concerned, there are Twin Spark, Selespeed and ......
147 has 1.6, 1.9, 2.0,and a V6 3.something ....
Please shed some light sifus..

3.2L V6 thats the 147 GTA very fast dunno if theres any here but depends on ur budget bro. the stock 1.6TS also can go 200 km/h..

jeffyeap

Dec 5, 2008
1st, what type of car u like to?
If u like only comfort car, AR not suitable... If u like only high performance (like turbo or supercharge), AR not suitable... If u like only VIP sytle, AR not suitable... If u like only becase of the BRAND, AR not suitable... AR is a car of Great power(NA car), Great torque & Great handling car. AR can give u the feel u needs...

For my opinion, buy AR 156 better than AR 147. AR 156 part are not expensive for me, cause all the parts are consider racing parts. If u really compare the racing part between Japanese car (I would not compare with Germany's, cost they are expensive for just only normal parts!!!) the part almost as same as japanese's.
For Selespeed, u may need to take care by weekly for checking the selespeed oil. I recommend u to get Toyota gear oil for Selespeed gear maintenance care. Anyway, u can visit http://www.alfaclover.com for more information.

I like to let u know, u will never buy other Germany cars such as BMW & Benz after u used AR. My AR 156 never give me regret before. U will understand what I said after u have it. U will hard to find a car which hv big power, torque, handling & perfect engine sound... and 1 things, previously my wife are poor driving skill, but after driving my AR... Hmmm...now even bully me at Highway and Genting uphill... (I using Kancil Turbo...)
Another Infomation for u, Fiat Group are include Ferrari, Alfa Romeo and Lancia. These are the great Car in Italian. By the way, Enzo Ferrari are came out from Alfa Romeo. visit : http://automobilecafe.blogspot.com/search/label/Alfa Romeo 156 for AR 156 info. AR can not participate F1, it is because Fiat group feel waste money if the group got 2 F1 manufacturing.

Below is the reference price for the spare parts.
Timing Belt (is high quality for big torque cars) - RM1200+/- (with label)
High Temp. Brake pad@Racing Brake pad (got no lower grade pad) - RM300+/- (with label)
Suspension (Only the great brand... too bad) - RM5000+/- (KW adjustable), RM2xxx+/- (Bilstein - same as EVO X), RM1500 - RM3000 +/- (XYZ - Taiwan brand)
17' x PCD 98 5 holes Sport Rim - RM2000+/- (New - Taiwan), RM2000+/- (Used - Branded)
Light Bulb - as same as Proton, Perodua or Japanese car.
Engine Oil - 10w/40, 15w/40 or Better
Normal Label charge - as same as Japanese car (because AR got no Special Tools)

Hope my info Help!!!

zachdelarocha

Dec 9, 2003
Thanks Jeff,
I'm all about performance.
Can you tell me which model has a boxer engine?
As far as i'm concerned, 147's heart is Twin Spark rite?
Wait, i go google first..

SachSeelan

Oct 18, 2008
Area25
just get it, if ur into AR's.... but stock handling is not that great compared to a bmw! needs a lot of work b4 u can get it right... very nose happy car, need to sort out the bottom out issue's.. not easy... other than that engine performance is superb especially the roar...

if you start talking about $$$ maintenance, just forget AR .... its a drivers:driver: car which demands a lot of attention... very manja, worst than bimmers or mercs...

most important will be, you finding a well kept romeo, here is a lead to an enthusiast owned car, going for a steal... i cant find any better 2.0 156 in the market.. good luck bro.. better be quick!!

Dear Forummers,

Last sale of this car was incomplete. Very reluctant sale again, hope to find a new owner..

Excellent condition low mileage AR156 Selespeed 2.0 needs new owner.

Details:

Year Make: 1999
Nice Number: W-- 881
Mileage: 170k+ KM (average <17,000km per year only)
Service Records: Full service history and maintained by HHK/Emech Auto.
Accident Free

New Parts installed/replaced last 70k Km approx:

Timing Belt
Fan Belts
Variator
Selespeed Pressure Accumulator
Valeo Clutchkit
Water Pump
Oil Seals and Gasket
Coolant reservoir
Fuel pump('08)
Power Steering Pump('08)
Windscreen ('07)
Bosch Starter Motor Solenoid('09)
Bosch MAF(Airflow Sensor)
Brembo Front Disc Brakes
Bendix Brake Pads
Koni Yellow Sport Shocks(Front and Back)
Upper and Lower Arms(Both sides)
New Valeo Wiper Blades(May)
New Speakers(Kone-USA and Sony)
New Falken ZIEX-912 (Aug '09 95% thread) all 4 tyres.

Roadtax renewed: July '09

Very well maintained during the period of ownership. Lots of pleasure driving it!

Price: 39,888

Pls PM or contact Mike 016-2212432 to arrange viewing.

pics here: http://www.italiaauto.net/viewtopic.php?t=16896

merry xmas.. :nurse:

jeffyeap

Dec 5, 2008
Dear zachdelarocha,
AR 147 got no boxer engine. Just only 145 & 146 got (the model which easy to find in M'sia). But my personal opinion, dun get boxer engine!!! Even thought boxer is a good engine, but there was no specialist in M'sia... I more recommanded u go into Twin spark engine. Twin Spark engine got 146-1.6, 147-1.6, 147-2.0, 156-2.0.

Dear SachSeelan,
I dun agree with ur , because a lot of ppl know that AR handling is better than BMW. dun compare AR 146 with BMW 318, cos they are not the same categories. U can try up AR 156 (accident free), u definitely will like it.... I think u are understand about, the specialist technician will be more costly than general technician, so I no need to explain again on the maintenance cost...:smokin:
Anyway, ur suggestion is good for ppl who choosing among European cars, but dun confuse ppl mindset...:listen:
If u telling that VW and Benz maintenance cost are best than AR, I agree. or If u teeling that BMW or Audi are good looking than AR, I much much agree (cos i feel that AR facelift are not pretty as BMW & Audi:proud:...)
But I do agree that bimmers are easy to choose Japanese performance hardware parts such as Apexi, HKS, Tein, etc. for their BMW, but AR no... and even easy to cosmetic their BMW by custom bodykits & sportrim, but AR no...
Final, if I was the owner of that AR 156 no. plate W-- 881, I would not selling it, cos is already done the general service for a 10 yrs car. And also value to buy, cos it got a lot of good parts...

SachSeelan

Oct 18, 2008
Area25
ok ok, i was comparing the 156 to an e36 and w202 ...
the 36 will eat the 156 alive at corners.. he he ;)

W** 881 - owner ald bought a 159 ...

btw, 146Ti was my ex-ride and now having all the 3 cars above in my stable.. ::) all upgraded handling set up.. let me know if you want to try any..

happy new year!

cheers....

zachdelarocha

Dec 9, 2003
You guys are so passionate about AR!!

Thanks for the information guys..Yea i agree maintenance is a bit on the high side. My uncles used to be very fond of ARs in their younger days. They usually send their cars to Ah Choy in Salak Selatan for carb tuning and regular services ahaks..I visit him for carb tunings once in a blue moon..

Apart from ARs, i am also looking for other cars. As i mentioned, i am all about performance and equally important, engine roar! I am slowly looking for either an AR or a scoob at the moment. Met 2 scoob owners up to date. ARs are not easy to find huh? Regular scoutings to used car dealers were met with dissapointment lol..
Again thank you for the feedback Jeff and Sach:driver:

SachSeelan

Oct 18, 2008
Area25
NA all the way ... no scooby dooby doo for me... haha

happy new year bro.. i suggest you get the 156 as ur second car, better if 2.5V6 since ur more into performance, you will get kinda bored wt the selespeed after a while, even my V6, i got bored wt the manual shifter, nothing like a clutch! also you can upgrade it to 3 litre wt ease... worth every penny, the roar!

Spec:TD05 & Tial Wastegate & HKS SSQV2
ECU:Emanage Ultimate
Brake:Twin Pot (Front) Single Pot(Rear)
Display:DEFI Boost Controller & Innovate Exhaust Temp
Intake:4 Throttle
GearBox modified
Port & Polish

All modification done on Myvi 1.3 SE

Will add in some more pictures later:proud:

added some pics of mod in progress...