Anyone experience the FALKEN 912 before?

TRD.AE92

Apr 10, 2009
Hi there,
My younger bro accidental go to change the tire to Falken 912... Me hate this brand actually, but who know that tire was make me impressive when during raining surface... I can feel the grid on raining is just better than the RE001R or AD07.

In hot and dry day... I not yet test, anyone tested before? I not confident with Falken, but only this... make me happy in raining day... lolzzzz.... :rofl:

km_chew

Aug 10, 2004
Ziex 322 / 522 / 912, from Indonesia and using Indo rubber. Daily drive, no complains as the price are very cheap for Falken.

The old Falkens are much better than current one. Haven't test the FK452, heard it is good.

beatnik

Nov 28, 2004
good tire for the price you pay. performance is above average. good grip in dry and wet. pretty silent too, but when the tire worn down to 50% noise will start to increase. approx. lifespan is 40k km.. the only drawback is the sidewall is a bit soft, so cornering not so nice, otherwise the overall performance is good. not for track use.

linkeong

May 8, 2008
Wet grip not as good as toyo. I was slipping in the rain at 80kmh, toyo managed 140kmh. It is a comfort tire same class with Michelin XM1

TRD.AE92

Apr 10, 2009
Ziex 322 / 522 / 912, from Indonesia and using Indo rubber. Daily drive, no complains as the price are very cheap for Falken.

The old Falkens are much better than current one. Haven't test the FK452, heard it is good.
My younger brother brought the Ziex 912 is Made in Thailand wo... hahaha....

---------- Post added at 12:16 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:12 AM ----------

Wet grip not as good as toyo. I was slipping in the rain at 80kmh, toyo managed 140kmh. It is a comfort tire same class with Michelin XM1
I not sure which Toyo you talking about... but I tried Toyo R888 in raining... About 80kmj-1 I can get spined.. :P

TRD.AE92

Apr 10, 2009

lwc1983

May 17, 2009
I used ZE912 before, i used 185/65/R14, its stock steel rim size. Its soft, comfort, good grip. Becuz its soft, the grip gone faster.

Now i've changed to Hankook Ventus V8, grip is harder but more noisy. :)

mamatAE111

Oct 25, 2006
I'm pretty sure my previous AD07, when still new(full thread) can take corners in wet better than any economy street tires, such as ZE912. Now on Yoko S-Drive take corner in wet at 60km/h rear already slide out. I don't know how anyone can take corner 140km/h in rain, with economy tires.
If R1R or R888 or RE11 or AD07 or AD08 or Hankook RS2/3 with full thread I'll be confident to take corners in wet at 80-90km/h. These are performance tires.
Can't compare with T1R, ZE912,.. must be realistic lah

TRD.AE92

Apr 10, 2009
I'm pretty sure my previous AD07, when still new(full thread) can take corners in wet better than any economy street tires, such as ZE912. Now on Yoko S-Drive take corner in wet at 60km/h rear already slide out. I don't know how anyone can take corner 140km/h in rain, with economy tires.
If R1R or R888 or RE11 or AD07 or AD08 or Hankook RS2/3 with full thread I'll be confident to take corners in wet at 80-90km/h. These are performance tires.
Can't compare with T1R, ZE912,.. must be realistic lah

I try almost all tire Semi Slick tire, in very heavy rain I don't think semi slick can perform better than the wet tire...

That ZE912, I just realize it is still performance tire too... check the below website:
Tires - ZIEX ZE-912 - Falken Tire

I personally tested with ZE912:
1. Grid in Wet surface - 7/10 (can see the different when you across the takung water place, the steering not wild)
2. Grid in dry surface - 5/10 (can feel it perform so so only, but over than 180 kmj-1 I can't feel any grid already)
3. Silent performance not so good - 4/10
4. Special Feature: Steering abit feel slightly light.

R888 is a dry Performance tire! Tested result is:
1. Grid in wet surface - 3/10 (It not grid, can see you steering steering left and right all the way)
2. Grid in dry surface - 8/10 (Very well in road and track performance! Speed over 180 kmj-1, I still can feel the GRID)
3. Silent performance - 3/10 (very noise, can hear the sound came in all the way)
4. Special Feature: Good in drag race and track race...
5. Bad point: The thread gone very fast

AD07 & AD08 is a dry Performance tire! Tested result is:
1. Grid in wet surface - 5/10 (On wet surface, it only perform so so performance only)
2. Grid in dry surface - 8/10 (Very well in road and track performance! Speed over 180 kmj-1, I still can feel the GRID)
3. Silent performance - 4/10 (noisy, can hear the sound came in all the way)
4. Special Feature: Good in track race
5. Bad point: After thread left below 40% the grid will dramatically drop. The thread not standing long too.

RE01R is a dry Performance tire! Tested result is:
1. Grid in wet surface - 5/10 (On wet surface, it only perform so so performance only)
2. Grid in dry surface - 7.5/10 (Very well in road and track performance! Speed over 180 kmj-1, I still can feel the GRID)
3. Silent performance - 5/10 (The sound is ok)
4. Special Feature: Good in track race, the thread can standing longer than AD07 and R888
5. Bad point: The tire need a slightly hot to get the better grid.

RS2 is all season performance tire! Tested result is:
1. Grid in wet surface - 6/10 (On wet surface, it only perform so so performance only)
2. Grid in dry surface - 5/10 (Very well in road and track performance! Speed over 180 kmj-1, I can't feel the GRID)
3. Silent performance - 7/10 (Good in comfort and silent performance too)
4. Special Feature: The tire thread can stay longer and perform good in low speed
5. Bad point: Some said it perform very close to AD07, but after i test I'm not happy with it. I manage to use Stock 4AFE engine to spin this tire without stop... So you call it good? :stupid:... After you used for about 20 % thread, I can't feel it give any grid already. it's just an expensive but useless tire... Sorry for i condamm this tire... Because i not happy with the performance at all.

shamburke

Dec 9, 2003
Subang Jaya
TRD...

thanks for the info...care to sahre the price differences????

for 16" and 17"

glanza

Nov 2, 2005
kl/kelate
im currently using ze912 195/55/15 size..for me its good in wet condition. steering not wild even in big spot water..about silentness, i dunno coz my exhaust louder than that huhu..

TRD.AE92

Apr 10, 2009
TRD...

thanks for the info...care to sahre the price differences????

for 16" and 17"
Sorry wo... I not been in Malaysia for quite number of year... So can't answer that...
But my bro said if 195/50/15 = RM 180, and 195/55/15 = RM 200.

---------- Post added at 12:19 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:18 AM ----------

im currently using ze912 195/55/15 size..for me its good in wet condition. steering not wild even in big spot water..about silentness, i dunno coz my exhaust louder than that huhu..
Haha... another supporter...

FGT

May 19, 2007
I'm just an average daily driver and I bought this tyre after wanted to try something else other than Goodyear. Been using Ducaro GA since forever (hahaha) because from my out-of-date research, goodyear has the a good balance for wet and dry and it has served me well.. Got out of dangerous situation many times before.. Not a performance tyre but good enough lor..i'm dont go racing on the roads..hehehe..

Now I'm using 912 and I agree with glanza because it has been really rainy lately and I really got to test it at a decent speed of 100-130 in really wet condition with water all over... Hit a huge and longgggg pool of water at 110-120 a few days ago until I can't see what's in front of me, held the steering hard and steer my car out of the water..everything was under control, no dramas.. I should say it met my expectation for its price and I'm happy with my decision..heheh... But i'm not hardcore like u people aaaa....pls note that...heheheh.. whatever tyre u are using, just don't panic when ur in a sticky situation :D

Anybody knows of any shop around kl or Selangor selling universal high flow catalytic converters?

anywhere in Malaysia is carrying Magnaflow parts?