5th gear problemo

Sergei_korolev

Sep 27, 2009
greetings automotivators,

i have a little problem with my 5th gear going into free everytime
I accelerate.I been told my gearbox is gone and also was told
that i can get the just 5th gear replaced.The other gears seem normal though
and I do not know what is the appropriate thing to do.
Thanks..

4G93NAPower

Nov 23, 2008
greetings automotivators,

i have a little problem with my 5th gear going into free everytime
I accelerate.I been told my gearbox is gone and also was told
that i can get the just 5th gear replaced.The other gears seem normal though
and I do not know what is the appropriate thing to do.
Thanks..
clutch slipped?
did the RPM climb fast when you accelerate

if gearbox gone, you might hear some (goreng kacang sound)

Sergei_korolev

Sep 27, 2009
hey man,
I have not heard any noise so far touchwood but
this has been going on a week now...rpm is usual
except it goes free suddenly and i end up ' ramming' the pedal.
are there any recommended shops arnd seri kembangan punchong
that i can check out

hachiroku clan

Oct 16, 2008
Your gear stick 'kick back' to neutral izit?
My car, if on 5th gear then suddenly release throttle, the gear stick tendang to neutral..
So easier for me to change to 4th gear.. Very clever lah my gearbox! Hehe.. But if slowly release the throttle, no prob..

Might be the 5th gear prob, some say its the bracket (donno what bracket the mechanic was saying)..
If ur gear stick stays in 5th but feels like the clutch is pressed, then its the clutch worn out..

Sergei_korolev

Sep 27, 2009
now thats something to think about....it kicks back to neutral when release throttle
but it could be a case with the clutch as its a little loose..will check on this and get back..
oh yea btw will there be a backfire if i replaced the current gearbox with evo3 halfcut onto putra..any other changes i should look at?
thx 4 the replies

usb

Jun 10, 2008
SBN / BANGI
i've experience the same problem when i swap my auto g/b to manual.

the owner of the manual g/b that i swap with did not change his g/b fluid and that's the cause of the 5th gear free, when engaged. (that's what my mechanic said lah)

solution = tukar gear 5 and no problems for me so far.

GoldenHawk

Aug 6, 2004
1. What car?
2. This is usually due to the 5th gear synchromesh failure. Can be replaced on most 4G1X gearboxes, but I'm not sure of the others. Had a similar experience myself :smile:

alonso

Apr 29, 2005
same with my wira 4g15 (m) problem before,
suddenly kick back to neutral when drive in 5th gear
solution just change damaged 5th gear after that no problem until i do engine convertion..
my mech say this common problem for manual trans

As i saw in my dad's waja there is a layer of sheet to sound proofe the firewall .... how do i do it on my wira as it starts to get noisy on 140 .... any idea ?