Water leak from windscreen

corolla613

Jun 11, 2007
I've been having a problem wit water leaking from the sides of my windscreen for quite sometime redi. But happens very rarely. But a leak nonetheless. :( also got wind sounds when driving about 120km/h.
Well i'm about to send my car for painting. Was wondering...
1. Need to change the windscreen side rubber only?
2. Need to change windscreen as well if doing this?
3. How much is a ae101 seg windscreen?
4. Is it the best time to do this or can i still do it after painting? (Panting priority coz recently got minor acc in front :()
Pls help me out on this one guys. Thanks a lot in advance.

jaist150

Oct 8, 2008
bro. Mungkin ada karat pada bingkai yang memegang cermin tu. Kereta i pun pernah air masuk selepas i tukar cermin akibat pecah. So, kena buka semula cermin tu. 2 kali kerja.

anuar_fadzli

May 10, 2005
i'm oso facing the same problem with u bro. now at paint shop. im just change new windscreen rubber and silicon. about the price still dont know because im just leave everything to them. just pay when finish:smokin:

EDRA

Nov 15, 2006
:listen:beware from asid silicon which is can make ur car rusting. some windscreen shop use cheap silicon.

cruiser78

Jul 5, 2008
Installing windscreens are much easier than removing it. EDRA, which brand is the best silicon? SIKAFLEX is the most common available in spare part shops.... any other better ones? What do you think of the silicon that comes in roll form?

anuar_fadzli

May 10, 2005
Installing windscreens are much easier than removing it. EDRA, which brand is the best silicon? SIKAFLEX is the most common available in spare part shops.... any other better ones? What do you think of the silicon that comes in roll form?
can u tell u EDRA which brand i the bet. before they used it to my car

banzai

Nov 21, 2003
KL \ Ipoh
I've been having a problem wit water leaking from the sides of my windscreen for quite sometime redi. But happens very rarely. But a leak nonetheless. :( also got wind sounds when driving about 120km/h.
Well i'm about to send my car for painting. Was wondering...
1. Need to change the windscreen side rubber only?
2. Need to change windscreen as well if doing this?
3. How much is a ae101 seg windscreen?
4. Is it the best time to do this or can i still do it after painting? (Panting priority coz recently got minor acc in front :()
Pls help me out on this one guys. Thanks a lot in advance.
Happened to me before. Screen cracked, changed new screen, water comes in from side due to poor installation. how to solve??

Remove your screen first.
1. yes, recommended. buy new & ori. dun get hafcut. probably cost u around rm80-100 each side.
2. no need. u can maintain current screen.since your screen sits correctly, but with gaps, tis is becoz rubber hardened, or rust.
3. tis one u can get at chopshop...maybe around 600. (tampered). cheaper solution is half the price, but screen is single layer. one rock hit the right spot & you'll get spiderweb. Tampered glass will only got a cracked line.
4. Of coz do this BEFORE painting. removed the screen & probably you see some rust. rust removal will possibly cause scratching and current paint touch up.

corolla613

Jun 11, 2007
Happened to me before. Screen cracked, changed new screen, water comes in from side due to poor installation. how to solve??

Remove your screen first.
1. yes, recommended. buy new & ori. dun get hafcut. probably cost u around rm80-100 each side.
2. no need. u can maintain current screen.since your screen sits correctly, but with gaps, tis is becoz rubber hardened, or rust.
3. tis one u can get at chopshop...maybe around 600. (tampered). cheaper solution is half the price, but screen is single layer. one rock hit the right spot & you'll get spiderweb. Tampered glass will only got a cracked line.
4. Of coz do this BEFORE painting. removed the screen & probably you see some rust. rust removal will possibly cause scratching and current paint touch up.
Rm80 to 100 each side? Its not 1 piece?

---------- Post added at 03:33 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:29 PM ----------

Well i guess i have to remove the screen and check only then can really judge what to do la.
Must have faith in mech hopefully glass doesn't crack during removing. Is that possible?

---------- Post added at 03:37 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:33 PM ----------

i'm oso facing the same problem with u bro. now at paint shop. im just change new windscreen rubber and silicon. about the price still dont know because im just leave everything to them. just pay when finish:smokin:
I'll be sending my car in after merdeka only. Yup we'll be in the same situation la. :)

banzai

Nov 21, 2003
KL \ Ipoh
Rm80 to 100 each side? Its not 1 piece?
AE92 is separate. AE1x1 not sure.

Well i guess i have to remove the screen and check only then can really judge what to do la.
Must have faith in mech hopefully glass doesn't crack during removing. Is that possible?

Highly unlikely. Those specialist would have proper tools. If really crack while removing, that is a great blunder and you can ask for replacement -FOC-.

pcmoddingmy

Mar 23, 2006
www.pcmoddingmy.com
My windscreen also leaking right above the steering. Went back to the same shop and they just touch up some glue onto the leaky area. This shop is located near the Seri Kembangan Bomba roundabout.

So how do I go about changing the windscreen rubber for AE80? Its like some sort of metal plate, no rubber at the front.

EDRA

Nov 15, 2006
sorrylah bro i forgot the brand. but u can smell it. if masam that one ada asid.

Skyee

May 27, 2007
Brother double check the antena, water maybe leak from there due to gasget hardening.

corolla613

Jun 11, 2007
Brother double check the antena, water maybe leak from there due to gasget hardening.
Have seen water leak from opposite side and top also. So i doubt it.

---------- Post added at 01:06 AM ---------- Previous post was at 01:04 AM ----------

Have seen water leak from opposite side and top also. So i doubt it.
But will check anyway.

I have heard alot of comment on the usefulness (or "uselessness") of the device on a N/A car. But i personally felt some improvement on acceleration when fitted one on my car.

i do have something to share buy would like to make a collection of comments and review. Technical explaination and experience are mostly welcomed

What you guys think? ;)