6 speed!!

scottwrx

Nov 18, 2007
bro.. i think even c160 has a higher final drive, but the ratio is generally lower than c56, u can check the top speed at 8100rpm for c160 n c56, u can see than top speed for c160 is higher wor...

Bump: bro.. i think even c160 has a higher final drive, but the ratio is generally lower than c56, u can check the top speed at 8100rpm for c160 n c56, u can see than top speed for c160 is higher wor...

cruiser78

Jul 5, 2008
Higher ratio = lower top speed, better pickup
Lower ratio = high top speed, lower pickup

If..... the C160 have the 0.725 sixth gear and a 4.5 final drive, yes, it will have better top speed than C56.

(3000/0.725)/4.5 = 919 RPM - drive shaft rotation speed

919x0.105 = 96 kmph at 3000 RPM (0.105 is a calculated constant value for 205/45 R16 wheel)

but isn't 0.725 and 4.5 final drive came from Celica's C60? I really don't know la.... Never dismantled C60 or C160 before)

Likewise, C52 and C56 also have lower ratio type which have 3.7 final drive. The C52 came from the turbocharged EP91 (4E-FTE) which have better torque than 4A-GE due to its force inducted system but it have slightly higher top speed (if achieveable) than the 4.3 final drive C56 due to travel resistance....

EK9 B16B Type R which have 4.4 final drive also have better top speed than our AExxx 4A-GE but during highway travel, their engine screams even when traveling at legal highway speed.

Just my theory.... don't have the money to buy and test C160. Way too expensive

Bump: Higher ratio = lower top speed, better pickup
Lower ratio = high top speed, lower pickup

If..... the C160 have the 0.725 sixth gear and a 4.5 final drive, yes, it will have better top speed than C56.

(3000/0.725)/4.5 = 919 RPM - drive shaft rotation speed

919x0.105 = 96 kmph at 3000 RPM (0.105 is a calculated constant value for 205/45 R16 wheel)

but isn't 0.725 and 4.5 final drive came from Celica's C60? I really don't know la.... Never dismantled C60 or C160 before)

Likewise, C52 and C56 also have lower ratio type which have 3.7 final drive. The C52 came from the turbocharged EP91 (4E-FTE) which have better torque than 4A-GE due to its force inducted system but it have slightly higher top speed (if achieveable) than the 4.3 final drive C56 due to travel resistance....

EK9 B16B Type R which have 4.4 final drive also have better top speed than our AExxx 4A-GE but during highway travel, their engine screams even when traveling at legal highway speed.

Just my theory.... don't have the money to buy and test C160. Way too expensive

scottwrx

Nov 18, 2007
hmm... got a mystery now... muahahaha... coz wikipedia says 6th gear is 0.815 which is the same as c56, but i dun think so, if that is the case then on highway, say 120kmh, using c56 will have a lower rev than c160... got few website saying different things.. coz the ratio i got also is from another website that says 6th gear is 0.725...

any sifus can help pointing out?? calling nothing... GB sifu... plz help us here...

Bump: hmm... got a mystery now... muahahaha... coz wikipedia says 6th gear is 0.815 which is the same as c56, but i dun think so, if that is the case then on highway, say 120kmh, using c56 will have a lower rev than c160... got few website saying different things.. coz the ratio i got also is from another website that says 6th gear is 0.725...

any sifus can help pointing out?? calling nothing... GB sifu... plz help us here...

cruiser78

Jul 5, 2008
Yeah that's why I keep wondering why all the craze with 6 speed.....
If anybody can give us an exact figure on rev and speed

Why don't we make a rule... anybody who drive a C56 and C160 can you please post your RPM when driving at 90 km/h*? Is the performance really worth the price (RM2000++ for C160 vs RM500+/- for normal C56)

We need to know the truth and what is perceived as truth.... We can handle the truth....

* 90 km/h is the best speed for any testing, calibration according to Perodua and Proton service person. They test their car for fuel consumption at 90 km/h

scottwrx

Nov 18, 2007
tested 90kmh at slightly below 2750rpm..

Bump: tested 90kmh at slightly below 2750rpm..

cruiser78

Jul 5, 2008
any body else? need more results otherwise confirm that C160 have 0.725 top drive with 4.5 final......

ep91

Jul 20, 2007
i tested ==>100km/j bout 3000>3100 rpm
after research the advantages is
close rotio==>
normal 5 spd change gear will drop till 5600>5700rpm
6 spd will at around 6000(engine power didnt drop tat much so power din lost so much)
also the gear more ringan==>easier to rev till end
greater torque

driving experience/fuel consumption
result of lighter gear easier to drive actually compare 5 spd
5 speed normal drive condition drive until 3500rmp switch drrop till 2900rmp(tak da power la@ 2900rmp)lol
6 spd u can easily rev up 4000 more <after shift still got power>

long distance drive when up hill
(from the lighter ratio also)lol
u shift on 6 psd gearbox to 5 th gear the engine sound not so noisy(compare to 5spd gear box u need switch to 4th speed)

result save fuel

can up to 200km/j wit no problem(blh pergi lagi)
faster to reach top speed

its WORTH to buy coz the feeling and the smoother engine result easier to drive(reduce driving stress) best for racing also
LOL
gear ""crack""==>motul oil la(no moree crack) ^^

cybtech

Feb 20, 2008
90kmh hard to see how many RPM,
But mine, 3k RPM touching 100kmh mark (on my 6speed).

cruiser78

Jul 5, 2008
So, can we claim that Wikipedia had published wrong numbers? Now that many people have claim the benefit of using 6 speed, maybe 6 speed transmission price will go higher in a short period.

Bump: So, can we claim that Wikipedia had published wrong numbers? Now that many people have claim the benefit of using 6 speed, maybe 6 speed transmission price will go higher in a short period.

pcmoddingmy

Mar 23, 2006
www.pcmoddingmy.com
BT 5spd: 5th gear @ 90km/h @ 2800+rpm

SDO

Jun 4, 2005
K.L Cheras
my 6 sp 3k rpm go 110km/h wo .....why le ? :hmmmm:

Bump: my 6 sp 3k rpm go 110km/h wo .....why le ? :hmmmm:

n0th1n

Feb 7, 2005
japan
junk-dealer.blogspot.com
6 speed gear transmission, from what i read and calculate it myself

FD will be 4.529

5th gear @ 4000, with 15 tyres; 104.1km/h
6th gear @ 3000, with 15 tyres; 98.7km/h

if c56,
2800rpm with 15 tyres; 86.0km/h

**full_throttle**

Jul 4, 2009
Hahhah!!! I am using REDLINE... and it just now barely saving my C56 from getting those crank'd sound when i engage gear...

so hahaha!! ^-^ C160... hahahah!!! i think you better use expensive LSD oil for it... because if it get damaged... i don't think you would love the process of going to Wing Hing to buy back those damaged gear... and went through 2x of dismantling the gearbox, and dismantling down from your engine.. :banghead::banghead: that time confirm bantai and hang yourself.. :D

So advice.. ^_^ treat this rare species with special care... that is the one and most important thing... hahha!!!! and btw, 6speed cut my car like hotdogs... and ^_^ it is really fast.. hahaha!!!

but u shift gear also like fuiyo!!! 1.....2...3...4..5...6.... hahahha!!!! fai lan dou r... !!!! confirm will missgear if main chasing time or go belukar main jalan berular. :D hahaha!!!
sifu, couple questions here :

1. Can I use LSD oil for 6spd g/b without lsd ? Is there any long / short effect on the gearbox ?:confused:
2. Do you have any info / recommendation where can i overhaul and repair 6spd gearbox ? Same problem with other 6spd user (my 3rd gear syncro broken already- can't engage with 3rd gear:banghead:). And of course, how much the rough cost for repair it ?

Appreciate for you help.

TQ.

I'm seeking advice for my VW Jetta MK6 1.4TSI.
It's the suspension/coilover that's concern.
There's not much of option for Jetta, just assume it's a Golf MK6 to compare.

I'm not going to spend too much for it.
From another forum they highly recommended CLAW, a local brand.
From what I came to know there are 2 others to consider that's sold in our marketplace.
It's GAB & HWL... Comparing the 3 which one is better? Those mention are around/below RM3k.

Just need the height to be...