subaru engine oil type

drag_escort

Sep 29, 2005
hai subaru owner,can u all tell me how many type/brand engine oil good for subaru turbo engine?

pls reply brand and gred

Ivan54

Dec 5, 2008
i am using OWS turbo racing oil.its pretty good.maintains oil temp well .on 5 hot laps on sepang maintaints not more than 110degrees with hks oil cooler kit together.

previously on HKS racing oil .heat soaks pretty badly.and oil turns kopi very fast.seems to eat up oil faster on stroked up engines.

drag_escort

Sep 29, 2005
thanks bro for d information. . .

can u guys tell me what is ej20-v7 standart stock turbo spec?ball bearing@bushing?

and how much boost can set max for standart engine?

Ivan54

Dec 5, 2008
thanks bro for d information. . .

can u guys tell me what is ej20-v7 standart stock turbo spec?ball bearing@bushing?

and how much boost can set max for standart engine?

stock wrx i think its on a TD04 and for the sti should be on a VF37.not sure but might be wrong though.
safe boost should be in the range of 1.2bar and 1.35bar accordingly.too much also no use as its not already passes the effective boost range.

drag_escort

Sep 29, 2005
thanks for tha info...mmm...what a bout top speed? 260kmh easy?

Ivan54

Dec 5, 2008
bro i dun use YM. do u have msn instead?

anyway top speed of stock wrx hard to hit 260.
i have a friend on a 2.5L euro spec wrx hit like 230 and hard to go beyond that.

skubv8

Sep 17, 2006
Oil grade quite varies. Some even use Torco 5w40 and it turns out good.

v7 STi turbo is VF34 single scroll. Not ball bearing.

max boost 1.3 should be OK depending on mods, stock around 1.1bar.

max speed around 260km/h and yes with good mods and tune, 200++kmh is hardly noticeable.

drag_escort

Sep 29, 2005
my car using ihi turbo...so is it ball bearing?

blue.taxi

Nov 27, 2006
only the S202(VF34), S203 & 204 (VF42) & Spec-C (VF36)STI hv ball bering turbo. if ur is a Ver 7 JDM sti mean u hv a IHI VF30, if wrx then is a TD04.

skubv8

Sep 17, 2006
^^^^^^
good correction there. v7STi comes with VF30. VF34 for v7STi Spec C.
v7 Prodrive version uses VF34 also right?

gibod_78

Jan 15, 2004
bro westhug, r u using prodrive spec ? i've read somewhere that prodrive have this PPP (Prodrive Performance Package for 02STi). does the prodrive factory spec comes with this package ? is there any significant difference ? sori if the questions is a bit technical. scooby newbie here.

Hi Guyz,

Just wanted to share. My car was stolen last Saturday. Plate no WFR6190. Matte black color. Appreciate if anyone see this car on the road please help to inform me. Or if you guys got any chance how to help me to trace back my car, I would really appreciate that. Although it's just an old car but the sentimental value really meant a lots to me…