Suitable engine swap for RX7

wira4life

Feb 16, 2009
on behalf of my brother. wich engine is suitable for Mazda RX7. the current rotary engine is a real headache for my brother, high maintanence n the parts is damn rare to get around JB even mechanic have prob in servicing. 20B engine is damn expensive liao.

so he decide to swap 2JZ or 1JZ into his ride. what u all think? does it ruin the handling of the car. what engine is suitable in your aspect???? he want a good power engine that he used in highway journey with his frends.

now his car in bodywork doing fortune fiber bodykit with 19" inch rims. so what engine is suitable to push the car ???? his aim want to play with his frend cars ( lamborghini, ferari, porshe turbo n etc ). what sifu idea ????:listen:

egiewan

Jul 31, 2005
2JZ of course! Put HKS T51R turbo haha. Yeah some people say it will kacau the weight distribution abit. Something like Altezza put in 1JZ. Then again I got friends doing it...no problem with handling also. SR20DET also can rite?:smokin:

wira4life

Feb 16, 2009
endorse sure can meh. coz it's not proton. it's Japan made. last time i try endorse my wira with evo3 engine. really headache. then i swap Mivec campur GSR. then JPJ said cannot, it's wrong for proton. i just give some money n shut their mouth !!!!:banghead:

hornydrifter

Mar 27, 2005
KEY EL!
aiyo...rx-7 change engine...love those rotary sound..yes rx-7 is known notoriously for blown engine and parts..but..the car it self is a heritage..if well tuned..maintained..fuhh...syoik wooo!~

deacon

Senior master debater
May 5, 2005
Better off with an SR20. It's a shorter block than a 2JZ and it won't upset the 50/50 too much. Using a 2JZ will put more weight on the front end, making the handling worse. But you'll only know the difference if you drive on the track a lot.

JINEIL2EN

Sep 6, 2004
Island Of Pearl
team99ers.2.forumer.com
Better off with an SR20. It's a shorter block than a 2JZ and it won't upset the 50/50 too much. Using a 2JZ will put more weight on the front end, making the handling worse. But you'll only know the difference if you drive on the track a lot.
yup, i support for SR20 as well, the mod parts easy to get & the price is ok...

khoyos

Nov 23, 2003
its quite hard to build an sr20 that can beat ferraris, porsches n lambos regularly. u need at least 6 cylinders to do it...

deacon

Senior master debater
May 5, 2005
Uh actually its quite hard to kill ferraris and lambos with a 13B too man. The 13B ceiling limit is around 450hp safely, and even that comes with a disclaimer - that being the engine is a rotary and you'll never know when it will detonate.

SR20DET engines can produce close to 600hp. Lots of turbo lag but at least it makes that kinda power safely, more or less.

Besides i doubt you need to make more than 400hp to take down stock ferraris and lambos in a drag anyways.

Rx7 = lightweight.
Euro sports cars = heavy

JINEIL2EN

Sep 6, 2004
Island Of Pearl
team99ers.2.forumer.com
its quite hard to build an sr20 that can beat ferraris, porsches n lambos regularly. u need at least 6 cylinders to do it...
why cannot beat the Pony & the Bull..??
just make sure u got 600 over ponies on wheel, 1050kg below's wit Super GT type of aerodynamic, & the last 1 is the gb r setting for high speed that 320kph over... just like wangan style...

DonJuanDeMarco

May 10, 2007
sr20det fully tune with GT30/35 ball bearing is powerful already..
i don't think u can handle this pony..:driver:

JINEIL2EN

Sep 6, 2004
Island Of Pearl
team99ers.2.forumer.com
sr20det fully tune with GT30/35 ball bearing is powerful already..
i don't think u can handle this pony..:driver:
then ask him change to RB30DETT wit AWD... full swap from R34... hehehhe:proud:

deacon

Senior master debater
May 5, 2005
? RB30? Isn't it RB26DETT ;)

The owner was so impressed with the results on the Golf that he opted for the Mercedes to be done as well. This is a 4 year old w212 that had went through much abuse, road side wash, petrol station polishes and the maximum of Malaysian environmental damages...