V-tec Vs Mivec

deacon

Senior master debater
May 5, 2005
N1 Pulsar VZR is a full tuned 300 units limited edition version.
However, with the same set up on B16B, winner still is Type R. This is because of B series engine have a lot of good aftermarket performance parts to support. Of coz, good tunning with performance will be the key to take the lead.

Conclusion : Good engine system + performace parts + tunning = Fastest car. = $$$$$:burnout:
The comparison is stock for stock, not modified vs modified. READ: Factory built. Spoon, is not a factory that builds cars.

JackWaiKit

Aug 9, 2008
www.friendster.com
now got this thread?hahahaha...they vs on what meh?
yup vtec engine is much lighter..
mivec might wins in heavier engine..easier to BOT..hard to get heat (due to radiator much wider)..

Bump: now got this thread?hahahaha...they vs on what meh?
yup vtec engine is much lighter..
mivec might wins in heavier engine..easier to BOT..hard to get heat (due to radiator much wider)..
Both 1.6 block also an alloy block...ligthen...!!!
But Vtec is more on head hi cam function which have direct(single layer) response from cam to valve

But Mivec there is slower response of cam due to 2 layer of top, 1 layer is cam & another 1 layer is valve, spring...
It's more on piston/block compression power!

Good reference material for everyone to see the stock for stock comparison.

Ek9 vs the N1 Pulsar VZR
http://asia.vtec.net/side/ek9vzr/index.html

In case you need video proof:-
Part 1
http://youtube.com/watch?v=qnEV8_qangQ

Part 2
http://youtube.com/watch?v=YmLcfNYbYQE

Mivec vs Vtec vs 4AG 20v (sorta, comparison)
http://asia.vtec.net/side/cyborg/index.html

Haven't found video proof for the Mivec one though yet, guess it must be a real old BM video.
The video shows that that is B16B type R (185ps) vs Mivec 97' above cyborg & 4AGE...
Mivec 2nd edition is slower response than 1st version according my fren...correct me is I'm wrong:hmmmm:
But is compare with B16A, Mivec still not bad...
The price for Mivec is almost equal with B16A but not Type R...
Type more expensive leh!!!

deacon

Senior master debater
May 5, 2005
The video that i posted is a race between the 200bhp N1 Pulsar 1.6 and the 185bhp Civic Type R 1.6.

The other articles i posted only compare the Cyborg ZR, Civic EG6 (B16A not B16B) and the Levin BZ-R. There was no video that i have posted or own where an EK9 goes up against the Levin or Cyborg ZR.

The last article is a competitive review between the Pulsar N1 and the Civic Type R.

Lastly, i always thought the CK Mivec engines were more potent than the CA Mivec engines. Just by virtue of the fact that the CK engines are younger in age.

By the way i never thought about the Mivec engine being two layer not one layer - good info!

The main differences between a 4G92 Mivec and B16A SIR (my opinion) was always the stock gearbox ratios. Most of the B16A ratios above 2nd gear are tighter than the 4G92 Mivec ratios, i think. I could be wrong...:confused:

Bump: Ah ha! I have found the gear ratios.

Mivec CJ4A
1 - 3.071
2 - 1.947
3 - 1.379
4 - 1.030
5 - 0.820
R - 3.363
Final drive - 4.625

Mivec CA4A
1 - 3.083
2 - 1.947
3 - 1.285
4 - 0.939
5 - 0.756
R - 3.083
Final drive - 4.592

B16A (all versions)
1 - 3.230
2 – 2.105
3 - 1.458
4 – 1.107
5 - 0.848
R - 3.000
Final drive - 4.400

If you notice the big differences here are that all the B16A ratios 1st to 5th are higher. Despite having a slightly (marginal at best) lower final drive.

Although it would seem that a CJ Mivec would really give the B16A a real good run for its money given that the final drive is 4.6 +++

boyzone

Mar 13, 2005
Mivec CA4A
1 - 3.083
2 - 1.947
3 - 1.285
4 - 0.939
5 - 0.756
R - 3.083
Final drive - 4.592

If the 3rd gear ratio is 1.450, I think will have different result in 400m drag.

The comparison is stock for stock, not modified vs modified. READ: Factory built. Spoon, is not a factory that builds cars.

Bro,
I had replay and not very clear that:
1st round is stock vs stock right? But N1 VRZ already been tuned from Nissian since stock.. right? And they also claimed that this version only have 300 units.
Result : VRZ win.

2nd round is Civic spand with almost same amount $$ set up with VRZ, which is tuned by Spoon.
Result : Type R win.

Correct??:confused:
Pls advise.

deacon

Senior master debater
May 5, 2005
Yes the Spoon did win. But the Spoon modified Civic Type R is for sale but only as a performance kit upgrade after you buy the Civic Type R from Honda. As in, not from factory mods lah.

On the other hand the Mugen Integra DC2 Type R for example, is a factory built machine. What was modified, very little, i think just badges and some other shit lah.

Not sure whether that made any sense lol.

I think if the Mivec gear ratios were shorter from 3rd to 5th it would totally kill the EG6. The engine would totally be able to use the higher final drive to its advantage at that point.

boyzone

Mar 13, 2005
I think Mivec will kill B16A if put in 4.9 FD gear box ( I know Mitsubishi have this gear box ).
But, FC will kill us as well :biggrin:

deacon

Senior master debater
May 5, 2005
I guess that's the case with most NA cars. It's how well you tune your gear ratios. Whereas turbos don't really need to worry so much about ratios but rather how much boost to add. :)

Shinjite

Feb 27, 2006
Klang
if stock vs stock for turbo cars as well, the gear ratios play an important role too~~
EVO vs Subaru 2L turbo vs 2L turbo stock :)

Bump: if stock vs stock for turbo cars as well, the gear ratios play an important role too~~
EVO vs Subaru 2L turbo vs 2L turbo stock :)

karl5511

May 31, 2007
Another thread that will make taiko JinKL angry...:rofl:

No comments on which is more powerful either vtec and mivec, but this one nice...
lets make it dis way la...NA cars n turbo cars race to johor from kl...c who reach 1st la....:proud::driver:

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
lets make it dis way la...NA cars n turbo cars race to johor from kl...c who reach 1st la....:proud::driver:
again wit the immaturity, adoi...:banghead:

cant u find sum other places dat r nearer to each other?:hmmmm: lol

ferio94eg9

Jul 12, 2007
I have found the gear ratios.

Mivec CJ4A
1 - 3.071
2 - 1.947
3 - 1.379
4 - 1.030
5 - 0.820
R - 3.363
Final drive - 4.625

Mivec CA4A
1 - 3.083
2 - 1.947
3 - 1.285
4 - 0.939
5 - 0.756
R - 3.083
Final drive - 4.592

B16A (all versions)
1 - 3.230
2 – 2.105
3 - 1.458
4 – 1.107
5 - 0.848
R - 3.000
Final drive - 4.400

If you notice the big differences here are that all the B16A ratios 1st to 5th are higher. Despite having a slightly (marginal at best) lower final drive.

Although it would seem that a CJ Mivec would really give the B16A a real good run for its money given that the final drive is 4.6 +++
Multiply each gear ratio from 1-5 with FD n u'll get the actual gear ratio:

Mivec / B16a
1 14.21 / 14.22
2 9.01 / 9.27
3 6.38 / 6.42
4 4.77 / 4.87
5 3.80 / 3.74

Then u get almost the same Actual Gear Ratio for both Mivec/B16a stock ratio. Eg. at 5th gear, for every 3.80 / 3.74 engine revolutions, your wheel makes one full rotation.

deacon

Senior master debater
May 5, 2005
Well either way it seems that the YS1 gearbox seems to out perform the Mivec one...

Hi..

I'm using 4G93 engine N/A into my Proton Wira.. (Using around 2 years)
the problem is when i drive sometimes suddenly the RPM down to zero & engine die..

all (TB, ECU & etc) / everything i change included the Full Wiring but it's still happen..also my RSM & SAFC i temporary terminated but also same..
1 more thing, if engine die i must open the hood . let it cold 1st if not i can't start the engine..

seriously i need help from u all to give me the Tips or what ever to settle my...