Turbo Vs Vtec

egb18c

Feb 8, 2006
kuantan
try touge, then u'll know which one is btr.
owh after that people will say driver itu inilah
vtec FF,while d other car FR.
NA VS turbo,kenot go maaa.

maintenance....overhauled 2 times in 2 sems
my friends said m otai of overhauling car.wakakakaka:adore:

but no more vtec,jes campro.searchin for turbo car plak.

SAO 6418

Jun 11, 2005
D cause of all arguement is from thread starter... 'wat kereta cacat lah, these n tat'. Juz ignore wat ppl said lah. If canot tahan then test wif those idiot to prove them wrong...juz simple as tat.

Btw, try compare like tis, wira vr4 220 vs dc5 k20aR in street & track. both also 2.0cc mah rite...

PS: use to own sohc vtec n rwd sr20det (all stock)

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
ive never seen as NA machines as cacat, especially the VTEC engines. dis is an engine dat clarkson said can be trashed for years and still be as smooth as when it came outta the factory, dis cam from a guy dat is biased towards british cars, so it shows how good the engine / technology is.

sao : y not compare an evo 8 going against dat DC5, iam sure dats a fairer comparison, technologies from similar time line. VR4 is just a bacis type 4G63, i dont think it can compete wit the DC5 if its std. ive modified a frens wira evo3 and few DC5 wit mods rnt a problem every time. a std evo8 against it shud give sum interesting result. what is ur conclusion, owning both NA an charged machines? surely u think they have their own advantages?

Bump: ive never seen as NA machines as cacat, especially the VTEC engines. dis is an engine dat clarkson said can be trashed for years and still be as smooth as when it came outta the factory, dis cam from a guy dat is biased towards british cars, so it shows how good the engine / technology is.

sao : y not compare an evo 8 going against dat DC5, iam sure dats a fairer comparison, technologies from similar time line. VR4 is just a bacis type 4G63, i dont think it can compete wit the DC5 if its std. ive modified a frens wira evo3 and few DC5 wit mods rnt a problem every time. a std evo8 against it shud give sum interesting result. what is ur conclusion, owning both NA an charged machines? surely u think they have their own advantages?

SAO 6418

Jun 11, 2005
ive never seen as NA machines as cacat, especially the VTEC engines. dis is an engine dat clarkson said can be trashed for years and still be as smooth as when it came outta the factory, dis cam from a guy dat is biased towards british cars, so it shows how good the engine / technology is.

u muz be misunderstand wat i mean lah bro... Have u read the 1st page of d thread starter?
Ppl here are comparing TURBO 2.0 vr4 vs NA 1.6 VTEC woh.. So u called tis fair arr taikor?
If vr4 vs vtec turbo then is more reasonable lah...
Sumore now u ask to compare evo 8 vs dc5 :hmmmm:

Compare same class....
NA : B16 vs 4age vs 4G62 Mivec vs 4G93 etc.....
FI : 3S-GTE vs SR20DET vs RB20DET vs 4G63 etc....
Turbo vs Supercharge (both also Force Induction)

Tis kind of argument juz keep-on argue without ending. My point is n/a & FI have their own pros n cons. For me i like both, tat's y i said i own n/a & turbo as well.

dc_vtec

Jun 15, 2006
that rite.. dont compared 2.0 vr4 wif 1.6 vtec.. giler keper..
but the truth is, wif 300++ hp turbo engine, not surely can win 200hp vtec.
who wanna say this is not fact?:nurse:

Mitevo7

Jan 14, 2008
In a race not always big HP car OWNS ...

Sometimes extra-ordinary circumstances could occur if the driver doesn't know what he is doing during the race ... I love driving NA for their reliability and smoothness, as well as i love driving turbo car for their strong acceleration and that "kick in the ass" feel ... I hate to see people trashing each other interest because it is just an act of making a big crack in the family of car enthusiast. Love your car, love your interest that was it ... Why care the differences ? Cheers all to the car lovers.

Driven Volvo V70 Turbo (Stock) and currently driving Nissan Sentra N16 with light modifications ... My opinions in both ? V70 has strong acceleration that sometimes makes it hard to corner, well not a pro driver here by the way. My N16 has fairer driving capability, fair acceleration and fair cornering, still can drive uphill to genting without any hard effort from foot hill to gothong jaya in between 12 minutes ... Very enjoy the hill driving ... When with the Volvo, man the acceleration is just so sweet , still achieve the same time. Why ? May be because i cannot handle that car well so the time is still the same. Haha anyway still new to driving so apology for dropping some comments here. Cheers :biggrin:

mivec_mivec

Oct 21, 2007
has anyone watched the drag in kg gajah perak?the vtec tapau evo la...they said laa..

Mitevo7

Jan 14, 2008
has anyone watched the drag in kg gajah perak?the vtec tapau evo la...they said laa..
Who tapau who it doesn't matters now ... VTEC is a amazing system ... We all like it ... EVO is a cool car , i personally love it to die ... hahaha

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
u seen i compared between a B16 and a vr4? what did i wrote then? i dont think a vr4 cud keep up wit the DC5 ability, hence suggesting the evo8 because they came from similar time, which may show similar technologies. comprende? i didnt fire u anywhere here, dont go all terasa all of a sudden.

i know well dat any VTEC engine isnt ordinary, wether for their fuel saving capability, or the higher end power, but note dis : wit similar mods, any charged engine will outperform an na machine, if driven by a competent driver

sumbody in here said dat every machine has their advantages, ive been agreeing wit dis statement since the day i shove my first turbine in the bay. i did it just to prove dat my stopid 4e can outrun a B series honda, and i did most of the time. it doesnt mean dat i can outrun every VTEC out there, its just my machine is tuned so dat even a B18 wudnt be any problem below den 180km/h. my point is this : any machine is good sumway or the other (sum on top speed, sum on fc), depending on what / where u set it to perform, so any comparison isnt necessary pun

dc vtec : comparison shudnt be all about dragging, but IF u must, wit a proper driver dat 300 charged machine will outrun a 200hp vtec anyday

Who tapau who it doesn't matters now ... VTEC is a amazing system ... We all like it ... EVO is a cool car , i personally love it to die ... hahaha

"evo is a cool car", dis is an understatement ler, lol

VTEC is indeed an amazing system:adore:

khen

May 20, 2005
I like turbo car - bmw 335

twin turbo + Double Vanos (VTEC BMW - :adore:)

so much torque!!!!!

but the best i ever drive is a viper :biggrin: no replacement for displacement :rofl:

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
khen : lol, dat is a good machine. the turbine isnt twins because they rnt the same size. sequential is more like it, they r good nontheless!! charge dat viper and u will have a different view on things, lol

khen

May 20, 2005
anyway local bred rojak is still the most fun.

i got a 4g93 block + mazda conrods + toyota pistons + 4g91 Cyl head + rojak turbo

and the amazing thing is ! it runs :hmmmm:

BOT is an expensive hobby! :rofl:

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
THANK YOU 5115, maintenance like dis is what forumers want:adore:

khen : although expensive, but its worth all the money spent, if done correctly. shudve used d 4g93 head, higher flow rate

khen

May 20, 2005
THANK YOU 5115, maintenance like dis is what forumers want:adore:

khen : although expensive, but its worth all the money spent, if done correctly. shudve used d 4g93 head, higher flow rate

head is cheap and after port, polishing and equalizing job - no difference from doing it with 4g93 head

boyzone

Mar 13, 2005
Actually, turbo vs NA is a never ending story ( even thought at other forum as well ).
Be fair to compare the technology, we need a standard:
-Power to weight ratio
-Capacity
-Gear ratio
-Multiple test runs like: Touge, drag 400m or 1km and street test for handling.

Therefore,
the best way for Turbo vs NA test will be on Mitsubishi engine.

4g92 Mivec ( 145whp ) vs 4G92Turbo ( 145whp) with same gear ratio on Satria chasis,
surely will give a good answer. :biggrin:

Reporting for my friend, the car was stolen last night unfortunately.

Satria GTi, WJF 7373.

If seen, pls call 012 933 4873.

Just helping a friend. I dont have much info about it.