GTR35 speed cut in Malaysia?

tony5050

hi guys,

Was wondering whether the 180km/h speed cut as stated in Japan will function if the car is driven in our region? Thanks

kaminari

Taiping
huh?Surela abang TONY~~hehe ....where u want to speeding so fast,seems so hurry!!

tony5050

hahaha...abang kaminari oi!!..wht's the point of having the God and being not being able to go over 180km/h la..hehehe...

anyway, brought up the question becos i met 2 of them in Sepang track day on Sunday. Tailed them in the circuit and i believe very much they went faster then 180km/h though..:idea:

kaminari

Taiping
Hooo abang TONY like to CUCUK ppl ya!!haha....tht means ur BALLS is big....ur car fast is it~hehee...old Z??

Is tht R35 GTR Malaysian car?

DarkChild

Nov 16, 2003
Many of the R35's are re-chipped to eliminate the speed cut. A couple have had Mine's ECU's thrown in them as well. :biggrin:

tony5050

abang kaminari,

old Z park in the pit pun boleh tahan lagi la, cucuk? hehehe... Ya, those are Malaysian GTRs. With wet circuit, their tail is real hard to tame:mad:

darkie,

reckon they did that somehow.

DarkChild

Nov 16, 2003
Yup, a couple of the R35 we brought in had the speed cut already eliminated. Then a couple more had ordered Mine's stuff after that. Right now one is being fitted with every Mine's part available for the car. :biggrin: Anyone interested in Mine's stuff can kindly contact me and I will do my best to facilitate you.

Turn1

Apr 27, 2008
At the moment all R35's are import's from Japan and will be Jap spec. Same in Australia.
If they go over 180kms then they have been chipped/ ECU replaced etc.
If I imported a R35 I would not want to be limited to 180kms.!!

Rgds,
Turn1

Driftmeister

Jun 17, 2005
Heard that it's better to do the speed cut together with a new transmission cooler for safety reason. The gearbox runs pretty hot on top end in our weather. Anyone can clarify whether that's true or not.

kaminari

Taiping
YES true.Especially 1st gen, i knw 1ppl at Malaysia alrdy broke the twin clutch transmission.The gear shifting wierdly and jump frm 2 to fourth gear.Having problem regarding the warranty and the used car can`t get a replacement for him.

DarkChild

Nov 16, 2003
Gearbox is an issue everywhere. Not just in Malaysia. It's the Achilles heel right now and one of the biggest reasons I decided not to keep one. Give it time. There are many people developing useful parts and upgrades for the car now that the R35 is available in other countries, especially the States.

raptorie54

Jul 18, 2004
tokyo autolink
the r35 is equipped with gps system. heard that when the car enters any international circuit, it will automatically speedcut eliminated by itself. is it true?

mj_23

Jun 30, 2005
Singapore
www.skylineclub.org
the r35 is equipped with gps system. heard that when the car enters any international circuit, it will automatically speedcut eliminated by itself. is it true?
So far only circuits in Japan is in the GPS. Not internationally yet. Also, once after the track day, you will need to pay thousands for the car to be check by the authorise workshop else warranty void.

mj_23

Jun 30, 2005
Singapore
www.skylineclub.org
YES true.Especially 1st gen, i knw 1ppl at Malaysia alrdy broke the twin clutch transmission.The gear shifting wierdly and jump frm 2 to fourth gear.Having problem regarding the warranty and the used car can`t get a replacement for him.
Sigh, usual problem when we self import or from grey market.

Lets wait for Tan Chong to officially bring the car in. But it will for sure cost us an additional arm and leg

tony5050

guys,

thanks so much for all the input here. I reckon is just the matter of time for the GTR to reach the certain maturity and its going to be "the" monster for many more years to come. So far, Carrera seems like a more practical choice for Malaysia..:idea:

Following are some ECU I have repaired. The write up is to assist DIY members with ECU troubles.
Will update everytime a ecu is repaired. Tq

Honda ECU with CEL22....