mr2 engine swap

MK84

Nov 16, 2003
www.mk84.com
Actually fuel consumption with the V6 engine is lower. Depends on your driving style of course. Reason being, better torque means you don't have to rev as high before upshifts and can cruise under 3k rpm comfortably. Upsize the rear wheels and you can reduce the revs even more.

Weight wise if you get MZ series engine the weight is about same as a fully kitted 3S-GTE (ie engine + turbo + ancilarries). But they're expensive and with later models you have to deal with the drive-by-wire throttle.

The VZ series is cheaper but they're heavier (iron block vs alu block on MZ). On the plus side you get a standard cable-driven throttle, and thicker conrods.

The ultimate V6 to swap would be the new GR series engine. 280hp NA stock.... *sluurps*

koolspyda

May 6, 2004
KayEl
koolspyda.blogspot.com
yes yes 2GR FE (nice) & 1MZ FE

2GR-FE is raced on SuperGT (MR-S GT300) & on the new Lotus Evora.

3VZ-FE, 1MZ-FE, 3MZ-FE & 2GR-FE are some of the motors for midship.

MK is spot on on better torque with the 'bigger' CC engines. (envy)
too bad we arent as ballsy as some guys.:biggrin:

rex79gt

Jan 9, 2008
Ngiao City
ohaiyo minasan,
i;ve been doing my little research on mr2 engine
bcoz of the love to mr2 as it is one of my dream car

for engine, y not try using caldina;s 3s gte?
easier upgrading turbo for higher power as it is turbo charged engine

correct me if i'm wrong :P

KOYUKI

Jun 12, 2008
Caldina 3sgte cannot fit with SW20,the mounting is totally diff ler
if want u can try spend alot to modify it^^

tom's

subang
why wanna do all the headache job and costly:hmmmm::hmmmm: unless u dun mind paying more and leave ur car in workshop let them R&D for you:rofl::rofl:........ easiest way get a mr2 halfcut or engine n dump it in.....

chlai28

Feb 9, 2004
Completely agree with TOM's !!! :adore:

why wanna do all the headache job and costly:hmmmm::hmmmm: unless u dun mind paying more and leave ur car in workshop let them R&D for you:rofl::rofl:........ easiest way get a mr2 halfcut or engine n dump it in.....

rex79gt

Jan 9, 2008
Ngiao City
Caldina 3sgte cannot fit with SW20,the mounting is totally diff ler
if want u can try spend alot to modify it^^
aiks
i tot same 3s engine so din take much into account -.-
oh well, maybe hav to change mounting, coz that engine pretty powerful rite?
turbo + vvti (dono got beams o not)

KOYUKI

Jun 12, 2008
Beams engine is a Dual VVTI system...1 control intake n 1 control output
is possible to have a turbo beam engine...like altezza 3sge beams oso alot turbo system on the road n quite powerfull

rex79gt

Jan 9, 2008
Ngiao City
but izzit true there;s only 1000units of beams engine been produced? -.-
i think this would b a very nice engine for my future MR2

tom's

subang
MR2 Beams engine is single vvti.......altezza is twin

Hi Guys & Gals,

Was ask by some to inform when there is any sales.
Well, the UMW warehouse sales is back from 29/11/2012 to 02/12/2012

Pennzoil and Repsol oil on sale.....