Latest News on Petrol Price - No more price control in Aug

JINEIL2EN

Sep 6, 2004
Island Of Pearl
team99ers.2.forumer.com
No price control on fuel in August, says Shahrir
BERNAMA

There will be no price control on petrol and diesel with the implementation of the subsidy mechanism in August this year, Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Minister Datuk Shahrir Abdul Samad said today.

He said the government was considering two fuel subsidy mechanisms comprising “cash income†and setting quotas.

The fuel prices in Malaysia would then reflect the global market prices, Shahrir said.

"It will depend on global market prices,†he told reporters after opening the First Malaysian Construction Summit 2008 here.

"We are moving towards inflation where the whole subsidy system needs to be revamped, to be done by August. But what is going to happen tomorrow will be a step towards that. We will do it incrementally because a full subsidy system cannot be done immediately now,†Shahrir said.
"Tomorrow has to be seen and looked as part of the total revamp,†he said.
"You can’t have a price increase without some form of subsidy being given to Malaysians. We are thinking to raise the pump price in the market. At the same time, we have to stop the smuggling and abuse that have been happening,†he added.

Shahrir said the government expects to increase its subsidy of the commodity up to between RM55 billion and RM56 billion this year, depending on the global oil price.

"The oil price keeps going up, so the subsidy payroll also keeps going up,†he said. — BERNAMA

cloud

Oh...what a breaking news...
That's one bloody huge increase...
So much for considering for us, citizens...
Satu lagi jasa "PBN"...
Tomorrow, can taking BMX to work already...

desmond937

Apr 28, 2005
increase by 78cents per liter is just too much, i cant imagine the price of food increase again, not to forget other goods which need transport. Goodluck to everyone.

thesyko

Oct 19, 2007
fcuk man, liddat must go very low boost already.

Say a full tank for 55L for on old price (1.92 per liter) is 105.60

If new price for 55L is (2.70 per liter) is 148.50

Thats a 42.9 difference. Can top up touch n go card wor.

Tiu this stupid gov.

tofu_manic

Jan 11, 2007
yep...TT'ed at the petrol station...thought the queue wont take so long...then turned out stuck for 1 hour woohoo! quite fun burning petrol during idling

next time no more hehe

normality78

actually the worst hit should be diesel users. with the price almost close to petrol now. but then their roadtax was so much higher

normality78

i didnt que althought my fuel tank light up liao. to me, its purely wasting time and effort to que. soon or later we still need to face it. RM10-20 save to sacrify 1 hour time? im not buying it

BMW released its first "unveiling" video of the upcoming 1-series M Coupe. It was earlier reported that the new M will be unveiled in December prior to its unveiling at the Detroit Auto Show in January, but considering the frequency of all the teaser video's, an unveiling in Paris at the end of September seems likely.

BMW first released a clip of the 1-Series M Coupe driving around the Ascari race...