Low Budget Car Mod - P.Wira (Real Noob here)

ae101rulez

Sep 2, 2005
erm...
haha...same here..told my parents i spend RM600 on 14 inch rims..almost pengsan on the spot..but when i change to new abs or what..dey dun mind cz improve safety..thats all..haha

samsoong

Feb 11, 2008
Just a personal honest opinion .. If you plan to go for bodykits, Dont do it!!! .. Yet. Since you said u're not allowed to change the rims, best you dont change your bodykit yet in case your wira look like those ahbeng wiras I sometimes see around that still has stock 13" rims, loud straight-flow exhaust and big front very-"ganas" looking bumper.. LAME.

What are you looking for, comfort or performance ? Better learn to love your Wira man.. Since you're gonna be seeing your Wira daily for now, not a Waja.
so in that case.. no bodykits for me hmm..? not even a fog light? :P
i'm kinda more to comfort.. & a little safety performance.. how ah..?

samsoong

Feb 11, 2008
hmmmmm......better dont mod if u dont have the $$ and the experience and the "permission".....headache.....

BUT.....U might just change to OPEN POD and replace with a aftermarket pipings....Prepare RM1000 for a decent set.....

When u got more money to spare, change ur sparkplugs to Splitfire or Autolite, then upgrade to Pro-Ralleye Spark Cables.... Prepare another RM300 for these.....

Then you have a very "responsive" 4G15 compared to stock.....

Still, u have handling issues and braking issues to handle, if u ever poisoned to drive like a mad man.....hehe
whoa whoa.. chill chill.. too much unacceptable info.. dont even know what are those & what are they for.. :P
ok lets lay it this way

OPEN POD - what use?
aftermarket pipings - what's this?
sparkplugs - huh?
4G15 - apa ini? T.T

basically they're all same question.. :P
mind explaining?

samsoong

Feb 11, 2008
oh ya...

handling issues - YES

braking issues - not really.. YET :P

nitrus

Nov 14, 2005
so in that case.. no bodykits for me hmm..? not even a fog light? :P
i'm kinda more to comfort.. & a little safety performance.. how ah..?
If you ask me, I'll be giving you a very biased opinion on fog lights.. Because I personally hate people with blinding lights, fog lights/bright stadium HID lights/super bright lights/whatever lights, makes me wanna stop, block their car and break their lights before driving off while they're still in shock..:rofl: But if you think you like it, or it serves the purpose.. Then, go for it. Nobody'll stop you, especially not somebody from an online forum such as this place.

Bout the bodykits thing.. It's just my opinion.. How would u feel when you see cars on the road with stock rims/caps, but big bodykits and a loud exhaust.. Kinda weird right? If you don't think so, you can ignore this paragraph..

Comfort and a little safety yeah?... I don't know, if I am in your position I would go for better Tires then. About which tires that will suit your "quiet, comfortable and safer", you gotta ask more experienced people.. Just stay away from Sime Tires.. Hehh.

But like proton63t said, "better dont mod if u dont have the $$ and the experience and the "permission".....headache.....".

Not that we're insulting you that you have no $$, experience or anything, dont take it the wrong way! But from most car modders' experience.. It's true.. If you have the patience, learn more first before making the mistakes that most car modders made at first, like wasting money on unecessary or "useless" modifications. Especially those that are hard to turn back from, LOL.

boosook

Jul 14, 2005
its true what nitrus said...i mean u just want to mod something maybe because u want something new for your car. it makes u happier. but when u learn more about modding,u'll realised how much u've wasted on unecessary stuff.

keep the money first, learn more. understand your car. then by the time u undersatnd everything, u'll be loaded with cash that you dont even know where to start.

the best thing to do now is keeping your car sparkling clean. car looks sexier when its clean. then u can stick the "you think this car is sexy? wait till u see the driver" tag.

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
OPEN POD - what use?
sparkplugs - huh?
4G15 - apa ini? T.T
open pod - its an airfilter setup.. means u use mushroom shape air filter... benefit is u have smoother revs at higher rpm range as air intake is not restricted by ur airbox size....

aftermarket pipings - refers to ur exhaust system...

sparkplug - u need sparkplugs for ur engine to run... by changing to better sparkplugs can improve ur car performance abit...

4g15 - this is ur engine model... it is written on a sticker on ur car firewall inside engine bay...

PocketRocket

'(00) Mod'er
Nov 28, 2004
Up Yours
OPEN POD - what use?
sparkplugs - huh?
4G15 - apa ini? T.T
open pod is ur air filter...when you open up the bonnet, on ur bottom left there is a big black box which holds ur air filter element and connects via 'S' tube to the engine. by changing the standard closed box filter, to a an 'open' filter element, ur engine is able to 'breath' easier and smoother hence, increases the response of ur engine.

aftermarket pipings...if u look under ur car, there is one long steel pipe connected to the underneath of ur engine all the way to the back. if u notice, this standard piping is bent in a thousand ways to reach the end. IF you change this piping to a straight out (without any bends), also means louder!, the exhaust flow is not restricted in any way of the bends. so this setup improves ur exhaust flow without restrictions and eases stress when u feel abit heavy-footed...

sparkplugs...these babies are inside ur engine and produces sparks to ignite the petrol in order to result a combustion,hence making ur engine work out its power. standard spark plugs can only do so much, but performance spark plugs like iridiums can help increase the lifespan and engine response.(feeling light in revs) u can find these spark plugs at the engine,there are 4 cables connected to ur engine, u wont miss it..standard is black and the plugs are under these cables inside the engine.

4G15 is ur engine code..this tells you that ur car is a 1.5cc(displacement) car. other codes like 4G93 is a putra or Gti(1.8), 4G13 is a 1.3cc proton, 4G91 is a 1.5cc like urs,but it has a twin camshaft..dont worry if u dont understand these codes yet...when u get used to it, more to come...all other brands of cars have their own code to identify the true cc of the car.

best advice i could give you is dont rush into it...take ur time, do some research, know the real reason why ur spending that money

Elmo_X

Aug 8, 2006
hmm not just only collect info from the net , u must go around sunway to see the stuff and learn from trusted mechanics thats where they would cut cost of ur modding and reduce the percentages of being cheated.

oso again no money yet dont play first , if not u will be in a deep deep hole of owing people money and cant even pay finish

btw ur car is working on carby or injection???
carby- u pop up the hood see there is a round black thing in the middle 1
injection-the side there got a big black box 1

got gf ar???hehehe
p/s: girls prefer to wan a quiet and as OEM as possible to have a safe feeling and u make it blink blink in stock condition they would say nice hehe

proton63t

Mar 21, 2007
Thanks fellow sifus, for elaborating my points :)

Samsoong, I think u better learn up a few things about ur car first, before u start to mod your car.

But a few wise word for u, no matter how u mod ur engine, or add on enhancement, it still the same engine. U may upgrade ur engine response but still it cant go too far.

I suggest, u start doing a decent looking bodykits, not too kua-jeong. If u still using steel rims, make sure u get a very very decent looking rim cover.

Dont ever change to big straight flow mufflers, they sucks a big time, bad FC and bad reputation.

Consult specialist and tell them u want a responsive and high flow after market piping (again they dont come cheap).

The best to mod is your interiors......ICE is the way to go....enjoying ur own sweet time driving with ur fave music.

Then if u got the money, go for Crystal Head Lamp for decent look. Go for projector lights for abit GANAS look (they comes with HID projector lights, however I felt they dont look good at all)

Just remember to mod your car clean and standard look.

If a chick would ride inside ur car, then u mod the right way.

Most important, dont add something different color to ur car, that is FUGLY!

DLegend

Official Contributor
Feb 16, 2004
jayjaynyc.blogspot.com
my parents initially rejected my desicion to mod their car... so I crashed it (their car mar, so not sakit hati) and bought my own car (hahaha... they pay half, cause they want to use also).... then I mod kaw kaw....

strangex2

Mar 22, 2007
Make it nicer? Repaint it or stick some stickers lah, racing stripes from the front bumper to the back bumper. Or flames on the engine hood. Or some flames on the doors also can.

Or like the fella above, try crashing the rims lah, masuk pothole besar giler then the rims bengkok, then have to change rims already. A bit drastic, but if you really want, then do it.

But then again, when you start to change things, you will want to change more. If your parents won't let you change your rims, I doubt they will let you touch the engine (or it's components).

Best option, get your own car first.

samsoong

Feb 11, 2008
ok my understanding after so many advice from all sifus..

Body - keep clean & sexy / repaint decent color

Foglight - depends on whether i like it or not

Bodykit - dont too kua jiong / dont touch it

Rims - since parents dont let..dont do nothing except change tyres for safety & quiet

Engine - proton63t says no matter what i do, wont make much of a difference(true true)
*lets say i dont want to do much, what is the most decent, appropriate thing to do / mod*would like to know more about engine..

should i attach a picture of my car for u all to recommend on what should do or what should not?
:)

samsoong

Feb 11, 2008
hmm not just only collect info from the net , u must go around sunway to see the stuff and learn from trusted mechanics thats where they would cut cost of ur modding and reduce the percentages of being cheated.

oso again no money yet dont play first , if not u will be in a deep deep hole of owing people money and cant even pay finish

btw ur car is working on carby or injection???
carby- u pop up the hood see there is a round black thing in the middle 1
injection-the side there got a big black box 1

got gf ar???hehehe
p/s: girls prefer to wan a quiet and as OEM as possible to have a safe feeling and u make it blink blink in stock condition they would say nice hehe
Dear elmo,
do u have any intro at sunway? for trusted mechanics & advice?

strangex2

Mar 22, 2007
You do exterior, when you drive, you can't see it at all.

Install a decent ICE system lah. Everytime you drive you can feel and enjoi it. At least I think your dad will allow that.

Oh, nobody mentioned tinting? Tint your car windows to a nice shade lah, looks cooler and more 'garang' (depending on color though). And again, there's the problem of choosing the brand, ranging for RM400 to RM1000+. Just do whatever that suits ur budget.

I have been changing setup here and there due to some mod on engine.

Currently 1.5CC engine with 0.6 bar and abt 140 BHP.

I had tried remove Cat, then my low end speed is really like snail. Even stock 1.0CC car also can faster then me.

I put back the Cat and is fine, but from 120Km/h to 180 now is just abit faster then NA car.
Before put back the cat, is very very very fast climb up to 180 km/h

Now what should i do?

Change to Hi -flow Cat?
Change muffler with stock Cat...