Brake Pad?

cannondale>

Apr 29, 2005
kepong
i think those ferodo selling here localy are not those same as ferodo imported.

so i think quality will be dfferents, my ap 6 pot comes with ferodo as standard pad , so far so good but lots of break dust.

InitialD

Aug 27, 2004
i think those ferodo selling here localy are not those same as ferodo imported.

so i think quality will be dfferents, my ap 6 pot comes with ferodo as standard pad , so far so good but lots of break dust.
cannondale, you are correct. I noticed the Ferodo sold in local spare parts shops are priced at a very cheap price which means is not the high end Ferodo.

katopunk

May 18, 2006
may i know which brand brake pads doesn't come out black carbon dust sticking on the rim after long usage?

GT_AUTO

Oct 25, 2005
K.Trg
a brake manufacturer expert once said "if the brake pad doesn't produce dust,
that mean the brake doesn't perform as it should be".if i remember correctly,
this guy is from hawk brake or something.come to think of it,it might be true.
but that just me.

mengz

Jan 15, 2005
hey guys....just like to share a brake pad that i'm using currently. the brand is Cermic and its rated at 500c. it performs really well, bites real good....for dust....i couldn't really care....i wash my car very frequently...and as long as the brake pad bites.....tats all that matters.

i was using metal king gold before this, but the brake pads got burnt :D

but i believe the most important thing when getting new brake pads is to ensure that you do a proper break-in. this is to eliminate green fade.

i read from stop-tech's website on how to perform break-in. basically, you need to find a clear road with minimal traffic. drive up to 100km/h and brake hard, but not until the wheels lockup till 20km/h. do it for 10 times. by the fifth time, u'll be able to smell the fumes and ur pads are starting to experience green fade. after ur tenth time, drive around for 10-15mins to allow the brakes to cool down and try not to use ur brakes. and then, do another set of 10 times and ur done.

Lord_darkslide

Oct 19, 2005
i use bestop red color rated 550'c...engine gsr..

review.... lots of dust... good bite when not too hot... but after few corners with hard braking... it start to squeek.... and feel grip losing...

next time i'll go for EBC Green....

GT_AUTO

Oct 25, 2005
K.Trg
caution:after bedding-in ur brake pad,make sure u clean ur wheel.the dust
from the bedding-in procedure tend to stick on ur wheel after a few days
if u leave it unwash.experience it before.for those with colour dish wheel,
it will ruin ur paint.

bedding in process is not that complicated.just look for a straight road n
pull till 80km/h.after that apply a slight force on the brake pedal so the
brake pad can glaze it's surface to ur disc.do it 8 times is enough.then
ur free to drive.this procedure is to remove the bedding-in layer of
the pad n to make sure ur pad n disc align with each other to make
the best out of the pad surface.

GT_AUTO

Oct 25, 2005
K.Trg
anybody looking for ferodo zero???i got a few left selling cheap2.don't want to
sell it anymore.i've left eg6/9(front/rear),kenari/kelisa/(f),mira turbo(f) and
wira 1.3/1.5(f).pm me if interested.

xbalance2002

Mar 15, 2006
hi sifus, my new brake pad used for a month oledi, but yesterday when trying to slow down on a slope from 110km/h it totally takda rasa, scare like hell man.. lucky its a straight n less traffic road, so is it ok since it still consider "new"? is it over heat? shud I change a better one? sorry tumpang thread :p
try to use some well know brand...
try not to use some brand that claim can that extreme heat...
if can take very hot ...is good but what happen in cold the brake sure not working well...try mintex, EBC, ferodo, sumitomo ....

they are good but cost abit more...as long as safe your life...

need help & advice :adore:
im planning to buy lancer (ck2a) convert evo6 (4WD)

1. Can i endorse the 4WD? (4WD not endorse yet)
2. Is it true to convert 2WD (ck2a) - 4WD need to "potong/tukar lantai"? is it legal or illegal?
3. Inspection puspakom "lepas" or not? (if i remove the 4WD)
4. If "kantoi" kena SITA or not??

TQ sifoos :adore: