engine oil for b16a

SA6YEuro

Feb 24, 2004
Sin City
hmmmm, good report..... i oso wanna contribute.....

Castrol Magnatec 10/40w Semi
- inexpensive, light enuff, fair lifespan, tendency of being burnt/missing at hi temps esp during vtec engagement , vtec engages easily...

Mobil Drive-S 10/40w Semi
- inexpensive, super thick, long lifespan, super sluggish, vtec engages late and gradually, not recommended for vtecs

Idemitsu Vtec Lev 15/40w Semi
- cheapest of the lot here, fair lifespan, decent viscousity but requires a longer run in time than the rest here, engine is a bit noisier at start ups, vtec engages easily after run in period...

Motul 4100 Turbolight 10/40w Semi
- a bit pricey, thin, fair lifespan, loses volume when driven hard, vtec engages easily

Motul 6100 Synergie 10/40w Semi
- the most expensive of the semis here, good lifespan, free revving, after 2000+km start ups is a bit noisier, vtec engages easily, slightly better than the Turbolight

Motul 8100 X-cess 5/40w Full
- expensive and comes in 2 litre packs only, good lifespan n does not deplete easily, super free revvin, vtec engages fast and loudest here, engine sounds rougher n start ups can be noisy after 3500+km.... my fav oil so far.....

* Oil was used in a B16A1.....

Hope this info helps....

SA6YEuro

Feb 24, 2004
Sin City
hattech, maybe i might giv it a go.... how much is the price u reckon it will be? the x-cess cost slightly under rm200 for 2 bottles = 4 lt.....

soulfly

Jan 25, 2004
Miri
fakhrain.blogdrive.com
good review SA6.... that's something what i really want to know

personally i think i'll refrain from using Shell Helix Plus due to the late vtec engagement... although in overall the engine is smoother and less noise.

how much is the normal market price for Castrol Magnatec 10w40?

i've tried Motul Chrono racing 300V on B16A.
Dem light. down side: a bit on the expensive side.

idemitsu 15-40
ok overall performance. cheap too.

idemitsu 15 - 40 on B18C SiR
ok overall performance.

Q8 10 - 40
lemau; loss power feeling after 3000km interval. i guess 10 - 40 from Q8 can't really stand high heat condition for v -tec.

Honda (idemitsu) 15 - 40
ok overall performance.

eneos 10 - 40 (gold color semi - synthetic)
feels a bit light. waiting for the next oil change interval to comment further.

which idemitsu was that? the mineral one or semi one? both have the same rating.

SA6YEuro

Feb 24, 2004
Sin City
soul, shuld cost around +/- rm80.... regular spare part shop price la.... stay away fr hypermarts..... those r killer prices but occasionally they do dump prices.... bulk purchase n sale mah....hehehe

do an experiment if u r up 2 it..... use castrol 1st the n next following oil change 2 the motul 6100 synergie 10/40w..... u will feel a huge diff n not bcoz itsa fresher oil.....

wat i did was the same n after the motul 6100, i tried motul 8100 x-cess 5/40w..... a huge leap!! the vtec opens wif a big bang..... really syiok.... u can actually feel the oil thinner.....

Salam/Greetings

Do apologize if this has been discussed before.
The Biggest Modified Car Bullshitters We

Once I've met a guy who put a massive GT Wing on his stock auto putra... reason being he could not get enough downforce when enjoying Karak Hiway