engine oil for b16a

Enthusiast

Oct 10, 2005
i think all oils will become thin once heated up....juz that 10w30 will be thinner compared to 10w40 or 50 when heated up.......but 10w50 usually only mineral oil or fully syn available.......
im currently using q8 10w40 semi syn....so far so good.....been hearing good comments about motul semi syn....might try it soon......5w30 is too thin for b series i feel.......engine oil gone in one month - _ -

IVAN TAN

Nov 13, 2006
hey bro's anyone can tell me abt good engine oil for b16a, i read this article on the net. but can't seem to find the HONDA ENGINE OIL around here...can only get the LEV types..Engine Oil for VTEC Engines
bro.......... try to use motul 8100 ....... i used until now ......... 4000km++........ the power still nice............ for my b16a........ :shades_smile:

akuma

Jul 16, 2005
Kuantan
tried using MOTUL turbolight.....can last me up to 4000km but after dat bye bye ler...oil still looks ok but no power dy
now back 2 using TL LUbricants by McInter Worldwide(very unfamiliar,right?)..15W/50....VERY VERY light feel but never lasted me past 3000km...price?hehehe..RM165/4L pack!

harpoon

Jan 9, 2005
shah alam n amp
i thought u already become super trader here.... with logo's up there n all. surely you can put the signature up like before

soulfly

Jan 25, 2004
Miri
fakhrain.blogdrive.com
i've been using idemitsu mineral 15w40 all these while. only the recent oil change i try to use shell helix plus 15w50

the differences between these two that i can tell are:
- the shell helix plus gave smoother operation, slightly less jerky during gear change (dunno how it relates to gear changing)
- more stable idling rpm after 'merembat'. usually the idemitsu i had will have shaky idling, but the shell does not although the rpm will drop to 400~500rpm.
- the shell helix plus has LESS OOMMPHH for vtec sound compare to the idemitsu mineral, but the rpm climb is smooth enough i think.

one thing i have noticed with the idemitsu...after new oil change, the engine tend to consume fuel slightly a bit more...but the consumption gets better if after 5000km (measured using odometer trip). kinda weird, coz usually this is the time for new oil change.

jaapdes

Nov 13, 2006

hey guys..thanks for ur feedback..i think i'm gonna go wit the HONDA VTEC LEV engine oil n give it a try..altough it's for Low Emmision Vehicles, the rating seems to be the same as the Honda Semi Synth Engine Oil which i was looking for. I'll give it a try and c how it goes..THanks again guys.

A

achor

so motul, shell helix plus are better for dohc vtec la...LEV only for sohc vtec...hmmm...any review on eneos....
i've tried Motul Chrono racing 300V on B16A.
Dem light. down side: a bit on the expensive side.

idemitsu 15-40
ok overall performance. cheap too.

idemitsu 15 - 40 on B18C SiR
ok overall performance.

Q8 10 - 40
lemau; loss power feeling after 3000km interval. i guess 10 - 40 from Q8 can't really stand high heat condition for v -tec.

Honda (idemitsu) 15 - 40
ok overall performance.

eneos 10 - 40 (gold color semi - synthetic)
feels a bit light. waiting for the next oil change interval to comment further.

melvtec

Sep 12, 2005
KL - KT
what the tprice for eneos semi synthetic...?

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
i've tried Motul Chrono racing 300V on B16A.
Dem light. down side: a bit on the expensive side.

idemitsu 15-40
ok overall performance. cheap too.

idemitsu 15 - 40 on B18C SiR
ok overall performance.

Q8 10 - 40
lemau; loss power feeling after 3000km interval. i guess 10 - 40 from Q8 can't really stand high heat condition for v -tec.

Honda (idemitsu) 15 - 40
ok overall performance.

eneos 10 - 40 (gold color semi - synthetic)
feels a bit light. waiting for the next oil change interval to comment further.

Wow.. comprehensive report! Good one achor.

Me very bad at power gauging.. never feel difference when changing oil.. LOL..

Currently on Fuch Titan 10w-40. Engine wise.. never jam................ yet.

hey all de sifu out there , i'm seeking place to mod 4x4.. anybody gt jln ? pls intro some workshop 4 me thx a lot :)