Anyone driven Mazda Astina?

P

prolog

What are your comments?
I'm going for 91 model, with mileage 100k on the clock..

tms97

Jul 11, 2005
well i have a 92 astina. Its great car, but nevertheless it does have its pros and cons.
pros:
good boot space
nice looker
tough engine
good top end pickup 80kmph - 160kmph
good on fuel RM50 = 400-450km (city)
firm suspension
cons:
wear and tear due to age
insufficient leg room for back seat
low rear roof (tend to hit your head if tall)
a little cramp
sluggish pickup 0 - 80kmph
suspension too short tend to bottom out

Spend $$ Maintain it well and it will take you far

Ignorex

Oct 2, 2006
tms97 said:
well i have a 92 astina. Its great car, but nevertheless it does have its pros and cons.
pros:
good boot space
nice looker
tough engine
good top end pickup 80kmph - 160kmph
good on fuel RM50 = 400-450km (city)
firm suspension
cons:
wear and tear due to age
insufficient leg room for back seat
low rear roof (tend to hit your head if tall)
a little cramp
sluggish pickup 0 - 80kmph
suspension too short tend to bottom out

Spend $$ Maintain it well and it will take you far
owhh.. so jimat lor.. use stock engine ar? carb or inject?

IronJ

Oct 6, 2004
i think the price for this car is quite low... 1 of my favorite car but due to the age of the car, i need to go other car...

91 car, how much?...

tms97

Jul 11, 2005
Ignorex said:
owhh.. so jimat lor.. use stock engine ar? carb or inject?

use stock b62e engine. just make sure service every 5k, flush engine every 10k, change gear oil, petrol filter and flush radiator every 30k. All money money money$$$. so poor already.

ps. yes she's my little old virgin

SPEEDSPiRiT

kenny-lee.com
my mum use to drive this car more than 13 years back
damn nice car la ehehhee
mileage 100k on the car is very very low....

carmancar

Jul 24, 2005
SG/JOHOR
Heard quite a few comments about this version of astina. Most on wear and tear and the headlight mechanise ...

tms97

Jul 11, 2005
carmancar said:
Heard quite a few comments about this version of astina. Most on wear and tear and the headlight mechanise ...
Well you are talking about a 13 to 14 year old car. Of course there is wear and tear but with most car this age maintainence plays a big role. Me having no big problems with the headlight just the plastic bracket is loose. fuel pump leak , radiator leak top block gasket leak, drive shaft bearing. All standard wear

MajPayne

Jan 24, 2006
Wonderful Little Car, Love it to Max.... Very Very Zippy.....

But like all nifty fav toys, it needs loads of TLC so far no regrets...

carmancar

Jul 24, 2005
SG/JOHOR
tms97 said:
Well you are talking about a 13 to 14 year old car. Of course there is wear and tear but with most car this age maintainence plays a big role. Me having no big problems with the headlight just the plastic bracket is loose. fuel pump leak , radiator leak top block gasket leak, drive shaft bearing. All standard wear
same issue here ... but thats common. Most important is to get parts easily else
:confused_smile:

MajPayne

Jan 24, 2006
guys you're missing another important point that the 323F has...

Its the POP UPs that make it all worth while, at least for me..hehe

You gotta have that warm feeling, when youre coming out at night and you purr
the baby up and pop up the lights and revv slowly out...hmmmm can't fight the feeling man...