Solution : workaround DX9C problem

Seraph

Jun 20, 2004
If you've got just your newest game which needs DirectX 9.0c e.g. Sims 2 or NFSU2 then after doing your usual serial number keygen and 'copy and paste' .EXE then running the program you get an error as if the program crashed?

Then you check and see that game needs DirectX 9.0c and yours is maybe DirectX 8.1 (original from Windows XP SP2 install CD) or DirectX 9.0b if you use Windows Update lately. You can check your version by typing "DXDIAG" at RUN.

Okay you found the DirectX folder on your install cd and run it. Whoops it "installed" so fast, did it really installed? You check using DXDIAG its still an older version.

What to do? Try windows update or download the latest version of directX from microsoft also you get this super fast "install". :blink:

Solution:
Download DirextX 9.0b
Download DirextX 9.0c
Extract DirextX 9.0b to folder DX9B
Extract DirextX 9.0c to folder DX9C
Copy all .CAB files from folder DX9C to DX9B
There should be these files in your folder after you done this

BDA.cab, BDAXP.cab, BDANT.cab, directx.cab, dxnt.cab, manageddx.cab, dxsetup.exe, dsetup.dll, dsetup32.dll

Yes dsetup.dll and dsetup32.dll is older version 4.9.0.902 (DX9B) where else 4.9.0.904 (on DX9C) thats okay.

Run DXSETUP.exe it should install normall, after rebooting your application should work ;)

BUT i think i need to get a new graphic card coz I can't see the cars in NFSU2 i only see a white shadow :(

nova1

Oct 2, 2004
Wah, download needs long time for me not using streamyx. Can I make use of the old direct x on my older CD games and "extract" into a new folder?

So, assuming I manage to copy all the .CAB files from dx9c folder to dx9b folder, I think you mean run the DXSETUP.exe under the dx9b folder next?

Seraph

Jun 20, 2004
yes.

you use the old DX9B dxsetup.exe, dsetup.dll, dsetup32.dll files coz i think they got problem but you're installing DX9C because basically the contents in both DX9B and DX9C .cab files are the same except they're updated (notice filesize slightly different).

running dxsetup.exe (from DX9B in DX9B folder) to install DX9C after you copy the .cab files from DX9C folder.

just to trick the installer to install DX9C as the files are the same but size abit bigger the installer dunno. dunno why the dickheads are microsoft didn't solve this problem.

DX always got problems wan and they dun have an UNINSTALLER :angry:

I think you don't need to download DX from microsft website.
If you got a slightly older game like FIFA2005 it should come with DX9B.
DX9C comes with the Need for Speed Underground 2.

Oh...I fixed the graphic problem of my Geforce2 GTS by uninstalling the newest driver from nvidia and using the original from Win XP SP2 installation CD ;)

Running full efects its okay but frame rates not that smooth if got alot of cars :(

nova1

Oct 2, 2004
If the dxdiag shows my driver is Directx 9b, why need to download the 9b again?If I can find the old direct X 9b files on the PC, can I just download 9c and overwrite those 9b files and then install, assuming i can find where those damn 9b files are?

Seraph

Jun 20, 2004
I had the same problem.

My dxdiag says mine is DX9B but the DX9C wouldn't install as double clicking on dxsetup.exe for DX9C it would just 'instantly' install and says installation complete but it didn't install anything.

You can try yourself.

The only way I found to work is by copying the .cab files from DX9C to DX9B folder and replacing the older .cab files of DX9B to DX9C and let the installer install it. Or you can do the reverse by copying the dxsetup.exe and *.dll to DX9c folder from DX9b ;)

C:\dx9b\
C:\dx9c\
copy c:\dx9c\*.cab c:\dx9b
cd\dx9c
dxsetup.exe

Don't ask me why. DX9C installer just doesn't wanna install on my computer it might install perfectly for other people but for those who have the same problem as me this is how to do it :lol:

nova1

Oct 2, 2004
Yes, the method does work great and I have 9c now. I did it via Windows Explorer instead of by way of DOS commands.

One thing I like to make your instructions more clear is that ONLY, I emphasize "ONLY", the .CAB files are to be copied to the 9b folder. Otherwise, you will end up with the same thing if you copied every file from 9c to 9b, i.e. the 9c's dxsetup file, .dll files, etc. Anyway, Run the 9b's dxsetup file in the 9b's folder and it shud install normally.

Seraph

Jun 20, 2004
LOL.....I didn't know you got me or not thats why I kinda wrote it down like DOS commands :P

I'm not 100% sure if the two .dll files have any purpose during installs I just know that the contents of DX9B and DX9C .cab files are exactly the same but different filesize.

If you got any graphics or video problem with DX9C I suggest you rollback to a slightly older driver for your video card maybe the one supplied by MS from Windows installation cd or windows update. The newest drivers from ATI or Nvidia I tested don't really work great with DX9C :(

nova1

Oct 2, 2004
Originally posted by Seraph@Nov 20 2004, 09:30
LOL.....I didn't know you got me or not thats why I kinda wrote it down like DOS commands :P

I'm not 100% sure if the two .dll files have any purpose during installs I just know that the contents of DX9B and DX9C .cab files are exactly the same but different filesize.

If you got any graphics or video problem with DX9C I suggest you rollback to a slightly older driver for your video card maybe the one supplied by MS from Windows installation cd or windows update. The newest drivers from ATI or Nvidia I tested don't really work great with DX9C :(
Frankly I didn't manage to get your msg for the first few attempts because of your earlier statement that says:"There should be these files in your folder after you done this: BDA.cab, BDAXP.cab, BDANT.cab, directx.cab, dxnt.cab, manageddx.cab, dxsetup.exe, dsetup.dll, dsetup32.dll". It led me to think that I need to copy the "dxsetup.exe, dsetup.dll, dsetup32.dll" files as well to 9b folder but later found not so. :D

So far, ahem,since last nite, my video card (after recently d/l the update) works with the 9c. But before I got the 9c, I had 9b which ran okay with Doom 3 but only right after video card update lo.

nova1

Oct 2, 2004
Originally posted by Seraph@Nov 20 2004, 16:41
Depends on the cards I guess.
What card you're using?
2003/2004 machine sure ATI card wan ;)
Sigh, it's a Geforce4 MX 440. Is this one already too old nowadays?

Yesterday was the first time having the Monitor screen go black and PC shut down while playing Sims2. Reboot and evrything was normal without issue yet.What's down?

Seraph

Jun 20, 2004
Don't know.

Sometimes using cheats or cracks creates unknown problems in games.
I'm using GeForce2 GTS 64MB DDR still okay lah for full effects in NFSU2.
But frame rates not as good or smooth then when I turn it off, basically cars full effect everything like fog/light/reflection reduce reduce :P

Also when you're playing game then the idiot programs like norton auto open and do stuff might cause problems coz norton wants full control of the pc while doing checks and scans not enough power to go around :unsure:

SiGNAL

Nov 16, 2003
Ya Mum's House
Shit.... i have this stupid problems too. dumb ass microsoft. I had the "flash" install too... :lol:

Gotta check my PC when i get home. sigh still need to find back the old 9.0b installer...

menghua84

Feb 15, 2004
skudai/ perak
i duno wat happen but i too experienced the fast install... but in the end the dxdiag there stated directx9.0c.... so i assume it installed lor... NFSU2 played just fine for me...

Seraph

Jun 20, 2004
I am suspecting maybe DX9C got problems when it detects old video cards which aren't directly supported by it <_<