The best HU for my setup

shankey

Aug 6, 2006
I have a very simple setup for my 4WD and I'm planning to replace my
current HU(CDX-R3300) with one which has 3-pre outs, MP3/WMA.
Front Speakers; Macrom M3S.60 2-Way component
Rear Speakers: Alpine SPS-1629s 2-way Coaxial
Power: Sony Xplod 4 chanel amp(4 ch, not sure of the model)
Woofer: Alpine SWD-1600 Active Subwoofer 150RMS

And btw, what is 24-bit DAC converter and how is it better?
What features are to look for currently? Or rather what is vital?
Some offer USB conncection, IPOD connectivity, Bluetooth and etc...
My budget is about rm600-rm850..

Help and advice is much appreciated.

bafukie

Apr 22, 2006
fren, for tat kind of budget, its hard for u to get HU with ipod or usb or bluetooth function. those usually cost more than 1k. the cheapest i come across for 3 pre-out should be the pioneer 6850 which cost about 1.1k

acidcoller

Mar 29, 2006
i think prob with ur budject lor..

but try search this model pioneer deh p7750mp. i bought RM1k

Tohsan

Nov 13, 2004
Char Kuoy Teow
shankey said:
I have a very simple setup for my 4WD and I'm planning to replace my
current HU(CDX-R3300) with one which has 3-pre outs, MP3/WMA.
Front Speakers; Macrom M3S.60 2-Way component
Rear Speakers: Alpine SPS-1629s 2-way Coaxial
Power: Sony Xplod 4 chanel amp(4 ch, not sure of the model)
Woofer: Alpine SWD-1600 Active Subwoofer 150RMS

And btw, what is 24-bit DAC converter and how is it better?
What features are to look for currently? Or rather what is vital?
Some offer USB conncection, IPOD connectivity, Bluetooth and etc...
My budget is about rm600-rm850..

Help and advice is much appreciated.
alamak try stretch ur budget a bit then u might get one. If u have really extra extra cash i can suggest u this:

Denon DCT-1 (black)
Clarion HX-D2
Mcintosh MX5000
Mcintosh MX406
Alpine 7990R
:regular_smile:

shankey

Aug 6, 2006
bafukie said:
fren, for tat kind of budget, its hard for u to get HU with ipod or usb or bluetooth function. those usually cost more than 1k. the cheapest i come across for 3 pre-out should be the pioneer 6850 which cost about 1.1k
Well, the IPOD and Bluetooth is not that important but the USB port is convinent.
Its, true, my budget is considered low.
But still, i'm only willing to spend say, a max of 1k.

How is the 24-bit DAC thingy work?
Cause the cheaper ones are 1-bit DAC..

consrito

Jul 29, 2005
Johore
Go for Eclipse sure no regret!
but.. die die also dont get the Pioneer 6850!!
I had night mare with it before!

shankey

Aug 6, 2006
Yeah, I heard the CD5000 and CD7000 are pretty good.

Care to explain why the 6850 was a nightmare? I'm really considering
Pioneer for the moment.

consrito

Jul 29, 2005
Johore
yes.. Eclipse CD7000 u can get here around RM2.4k. But the CD5000 I think still not available in Malaysia.

Haha... Pioneer 6850. I used to have it around 4-5 months ago.. Nice function, nice outlook but sound crap! It's totally sound the same with my old nenek moyang Pioneer 2550.
I sold it after 10 days and get Panasonic lower end 1.. It sound much more cleaner n details. The price are much more affordable too..

shankey

Aug 6, 2006
consrito said:
yes.. Eclipse CD7000 u can get here around RM2.4k. But the CD5000 I think still not available in Malaysia.

Haha... Pioneer 6850. I used to have it around 4-5 months ago.. Nice function, nice outlook but sound crap! It's totally sound the same with my old nenek moyang Pioneer 2550.
I sold it after 10 days and get Panasonic lower end 1.. It sound much more cleaner n details. The price are much more affordable too..

Yes, its about that much for the CD7000. And yeah, the CD5000 is only coming later this year..

Is the 6850 that bad? That seemed to have sufficent features and etc..
So, what would you think I should get that has
mp3, 3-rca pre-out, and 24-bit DAC?

bafukie

Apr 22, 2006
i believe when buying cd player or speaker,its good to hear ppl's comment BUT each individual ears are diff. wat sounded like melody to u might sound like trash to the other. but for u shankey, i believe that looking at ur setup, ur not a high end user which means u juz wanna get something tat can offer u value for money, sound maybe secondary to u compared to function. so do work out the balance between the 2

consrito

Jul 29, 2005
Johore
shankey said:
Yes, its about that much for the CD7000. And yeah, the CD5000 is only coming later this year..

Is the 6850 that bad? That seemed to have sufficent features and etc..
So, what would you think I should get that has
mp3, 3-rca pre-out, and 24-bit DAC?
If you're looking for nice function and outlook, Pioneer 6850 always the best choice. But if you're into SQ, die die also don't buy the 6850. The SQ is suks! Even a low-end Panasonic that I'm using now can beat it with details and cleaner sound.

Like what u mentioned, the CD5000 is coming later this year, then it's your perfect choice. No doubt! Btw, Panasonic also your choice if u can bear with the ugly design.. hahah..

DJThoRmented

Dec 1, 2003
Wow... now that's a 1st. Well lucky for me the 9650 didn't give me nitemares... geesh... wishing for a P90

:wink:

CivicClan

Sep 29, 2004
hi guys, sorry to interupt. but what is the good 2 din head unit with a decent price. my current ICE setup is below

HU: Pioneer (OLD JUNK....i think it's 2550 kua)
Amp: Alpine 4 channel V power
Sub: Mohawk 12"
Front: Mohawk component (tweeter, crossover and 6" speakers)
Rear: Stock speakers

Was planning to get a 2 din HU.l but what should i change 1st....another component set (my current Mohawk will put to the rear and new component for the front) OR the 2 din HU?

thanks for the advise.....thanks for borrowing the topic bro shankey.