SO4 radiator leaking

acel

May 31, 2004
Recently I can see traces of water mark coming out from the top side of the
radiator.

So I guess its time for me to change the radiator.

Anyone know how much is the new radiator cost?

hattech-v

Oct 10, 2004
Seri Kembangan
www.avantech.com.my
original double layer - RM1380
made in malaysia double layer - RM280-350 (if not mistaken)

if the leaking coming out fr the top cover u can replace the top cover only by sending ur radiatior to any radiator specialist shop. will cost u less than buying new.

where u staying?

Oderf

Jul 27, 2005
yup...replace the top cover only...or if u lucky n a hands on DIY person..maybe can try to open the top cover n re-seal it with appropriate sealant....but too much hassle lo...better take to the radiator specialist...he..he..

acel

May 31, 2004
hattech & oderf,

thanx for ur reply. You guys are very helpful.

The thing is the leaking is coming from underneath of the top plastic cover. I just notice that this morning.

So I think it not so straight forward solution by just changing the top cover.

What is the advantage of the double layer radiator and can it fit into SO4 engine
bay?

Oh btw, Im in PJ area and preferably going to workshop around PJ.

One question I hv is I was previously driving a Putra and notice that the size of Putra radiator is almost double of our So4.

And I hv seen in car magazine that SO4 can hv those big radiator like good ol' Putra. Can u guys shed some light?

Cheers

Ketip Kuku

Sep 12, 2005
Bangi
last 2 weeks i've change mine to double layer ori SO4....cost me about RM 330 + RM 40 for installation....

acel

May 31, 2004
Ketip

Is that a brand new or recond/2nd hand unit?

If u dun mind , pls let me know where do u change it?

Ketip Kuku

Sep 12, 2005
Bangi
its a new one....change it at my frens workshop at kajang....eventhough u change at normal radiator specialist...the price won't differ so much.....

CA Gan

Jan 23, 2006
You may go to Half cut shop as well, the ori single layer of radiator cost around RM120 only.

prodigy

Mine too had a leakage. I was coming back from KL when i stopped by Hilton to take a piss. When i came back on, realised the temperature needle touched H. Immediately stop the car at petrol kiosk, cool it down and pour water into the radiator, which was almost empty. Later on realised there was a crack at the top cover of the radiator. Like everyone here said, i just sent to the shop and he replaced a new top cover thats all. Cost me about RM300 to replace the top cover, with welding and workmanship and of coz plus a bottle of coolant.

Ketip Kuku

Sep 12, 2005
Bangi
ya la...only top cover? hmmm...maybe purity n ori a.k.a asli....same case with mine also....the temp. indicator had gone beyond the H level....no more water inside the radiator and also the extra water tank...

acel

May 31, 2004
Thanks for all bro who reply.

I already fix the radiator and the damage done to my walllet is 240. 180 for changing the top cover (ori Honda), servicing, clean and repaint the radiator. 2 botl of NASA coolant (RM 36) and balance is labour charge.

prodigy

hattech-v said:
replacing the top cover cost u RM300? like that can get brand new one.
or maybe the top cover is original one?
Is it really expensive?

I doubt its an original Honda top cover, it looks fake to me anyways. Apparently he told me need to replace the top cover and some brazing works here and there. Also, there was a small leak at the bottom of the radiator too, so he fixed that too. Plus coolant and workmanship, about RM330 if not mistaken.

The thing is, i drove up to Cameron Highlands 2 days before the crack happened. Was revving pretty hard due to the uphill climb. Do you think this cause the radiator to crack?

Alternatively, i think it could be the cold weather. When i went up to Cameron, it was very very cold and raining. Maybe the engine is hot, and the weather is cold, this might have caused cracking too.

<_< when my kancil get pick-up sure got sound jijiji.... come out from the dashboard, time to stop the car also... where can i fix it? i dunno where the screw located, not the 1 in the surface of dashboard, any others inside??? :(