Tire Price list Zth

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Noted on that, thanks for the useful info will read them at home later. :driver:

I just checked again, its actually 275/35/18 my bad!
Hmm 275/35 still not so bad then but already pretty thin too (only 9.6cm sidewall height). Generally I would guess just a bit harsher than mine now on 245/40 (9.8cm sidewall) but maybe yours feels harder coz the Extreme Contact may have firmer construction than my F1.

s.marz

Aug 10, 2016
Hmm 275/35 still not so bad then but already pretty thin too (only 9.6cm sidewall height). Generally I would guess just a bit harsher than mine now on 245/40 (9.8cm sidewall) but maybe yours feels harder coz the Extreme Contact may have firmer construction than my F1.
I'm no tyre expert but my front are 245/45 and the other time when I went to tai soon for balancing, the guy told me that it's oversized. However it's still under BMW recommended sizes for 18s.

Continental actually use similar naming convention for their tires BUT the confusing part is that sometimes the names do not really reflect the relative performance of the tires. For example Max Contact 5, you'd think should be the Max performance category rivaling those like Michelin PSS but it's actually just a mid range tire below Sport Contact series, only comparable to Michelin Primacy! Then the Ultra Contact might misled as if it's UHP class but it's actually just comfort tire, only 1 level above their lowest Comfort Contact series. Then their max performance category is the Sport Contact series. Now this Extreme Contact should be Max category as well, maybe same with CSC6 but for sizes below 19'.
But to matters worse their new MC6 are now classed as UHP.....:smokin:

kurt_629

May 2, 2013
johor
any good recommendation for tyres that range around RM300++

prefer comfort and quiet.

currently on RE002, DOM in 2014, need to change if i not wrong?
size 225/45/17 x 02, or 225/50/17 but need to change 4 in total.. :sleep:

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
I'm no tyre expert but my front are 245/45 and the other time when I went to tai soon for balancing, the guy told me that it's oversized. However it's still under BMW recommended sizes for 18s.
Yes, if your rear is 275/35/18, then your front should be 245/40/18. 245/45 is too thick so overall diameter with 18' is too big. I use 245/45 before but on 17'. How wide are your rims? If still max 8.5/9.5jj then next change can use 225/45/18 and 255/40/18, cheaper and more comfortable coz thicker profiles. Alternatively if can still fit, 235/45/18 and 265/40/18 are even better.

You're using 9jj wide rims right? If so, should not use 225, need at least 245, so best to use 245/45/17. if your rims are only 8-8.5jj wide then use 235/45. I would suggest the Hankook V12 Evo2 or S1 Evo2 coz they're value for money.

s.marz

Aug 10, 2016
Yes, if your rear is 275/35/18, then your front should be 245/40/18. 245/45 is too thick so overall diameter with 18' is too big. I use 245/45 before but on 17'. How wide are your rims? If still max 8.5/9.5jj then next change can use 225/45/18 and 255/40/18, cheaper and more comfortable coz thicker profiles. Alternatively if can still fit, 235/45/18 and 265/40/18 are even better.
Ah, they're new tho. Still got a long way to go. I'll def chase for comfort for the next change hahaha and uniform brand throughout, fronts are Michelins and back are Continentals. From what the guy told me, I will have a slight different feel in handling. Is it true?

Oh and 18x9 front & 18x10 I think.

kurt_629

May 2, 2013
johor
You're using 9jj wide rims right? If so, should not use 225, need at least 245, so best to use 245/45/17. if your rims are only 8-8.5jj wide then use 235/45. I would suggest the Hankook V12 Evo2 or S1 Evo2 coz they're value for money.
nope, super advan racing for 17', should be 8 jj if i'm not wrong.

i saw many good reviews about yokohama advan fleva v701 but i can't find any in johor.

Yeah, Hankook V12 Evo 2 seems to be a good and cheap replacement.
prefer comfort and less noisy as compare to my RE002.
V12 should be made in korea only?

225/45 to 245/45 cannot go in loh, wheel arch sure kena already....lol

Good tyres 225/45R17 at around RM300 will be tall order......lol

2014 tyres should be still good, just check physically for fine crack lines on the pattern and sidewall. If none, still can use pass 4 years....:driver:

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Ah, they're new tho. Still got a long way to go. I'll def chase for comfort for the next change hahaha and uniform brand throughout, fronts are Michelins and back are Continentals. From what the guy told me, I will have a slight different feel in handling. Is it true?

Oh and 18x9 front & 18x10 I think.
Wah so wide! In that case must use minimum 245 width for the front, so then 245/40/18 + 275/35/18 should be the best staggered tire sizes for you.

nope, super advan racing for 17', should be 8 jj if i'm not wrong.

i saw many good reviews about yokohama advan fleva v701 but i can't find any in johor.

Yeah, Hankook V12 Evo 2 seems to be a good and cheap replacement.
prefer comfort and less noisy as compare to my RE002.
V12 should be made in korea only?
225/45 to 245/45 cannot go in loh, wheel arch sure kena already....lol
Hmm then use either 225/45/ or 235/45. IMHO 235/45 is better if can still fit but will be more expensive.

Btw I just changed rims and tires for my wife's Livina and the front tires are the V12 Evo2 size 225/45/17. I just tested it during heavy rain and got lots of big puddles just now and it performs very well! Steering was damn steady and I was overtaking cars left right and center as they're all too slow. :driver: So this is a good tire for aquaplaning resistance but haven't test much cornering yet in the wet. Later once dry I will also feedback some more how they are.

kurt_629

May 2, 2013
johor
Good tyres 225/45R17 at around RM300 will be tall order......lol

2014 tyres should be still good, just check physically for fine crack lines on the pattern and sidewall. If none, still can use pass 4 years....:driver:
waiting for you, as you are the tyre guru, it been a long time since i bought 17' tyre.. :rofl:

so far, no cracks for RE002, just old and noisy.
i guess i could still live with it then.

i got a question, tyre guru.
if i have a particular tyre that always losing it's pressure, while the other 3 are fine.
what is likelihood to happen over here?

alignment? tyre leaking air?

kurt_629

May 2, 2013
johor
Hmm then use either 225/45/ or 235/45. IMHO 235/45 is better if can still fit but will be more expensive.

Btw I just changed rims and tires for my wife's Livina and the front tires are the V12 Evo2 size 225/45/17. I just tested it during heavy rain and got lots of big puddles just now and it performs very well! Steering was damn steady and I was overtaking cars left right and center as they're all too slow. :driver: So this is a good tire for aquaplaning resistance but haven't test much cornering yet in the wet. Later once dry I will also feedback some more how they are.
yeah, 235/45 is costly..

i'm actually thinking of switching to 225/50 or 55 for more comfort but if i were to switch, i got to change all 4pcs..

mind me asking, how much you pay for V12 evo 2?
was quoted RM380 + GST in johor..
i find it quite expensive..

waiting for you, as you are the tyre guru, it been a long time since i bought 17' tyre.. :rofl:

so far, no cracks for RE002, just old and noisy.
i guess i could still live with it then.

i got a question, tyre guru.
if i have a particular tyre that always losing it's pressure, while the other 3 are fine.
what is likelihood to happen over here?

alignment? tyre leaking air?
RE-002 are good tyres, if still grip well might as well keep for a while longer.

Tyre leak nothing to do with alignment....lol
First check for puncture. A nail or screw embedded in the tyre will have slow leak. If there are no puncture, next you need to check the area where the tyre fits the rim. Lay it flat on the ground apply soapy water around the tyre where it fits to the rim. Do for both sides. If still no leak then check the valve area, also the dust cap, see if anything inside. If all fails to have any leak, last resort submerge whole wheel in water. If still no leak, then I also cannot help you.....hhahhahahha:rofl:

yeah, 235/45 is costly..

i'm actually thinking of switching to 225/50 or 55 for more comfort but if i were to switch, i got to change all 4pcs..

mind me asking, how much you pay for V12 evo 2?
was quoted RM380 + GST in johor..
i find it quite expensive..
Yup, 225 to 235 probably ok but tyre more expensive.

225/50 can but 55 will be too high.
If change 2pcs, put new to the rear to finish the old one up front, but best is all 4pcs.....lol

225/45R17 V12Evo2 for RM380 ok mah.....:driver:

has anyone used these guys before? prices seem to be pretty decent, for example S$2000 for Spoon BBK.