Gearbox Problem!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

john_unai

Aug 9, 2011
mtkb
since this thread is transmission related, i will just tumpang my post here. is it okay if i don't replace my clutch set coz the spring inside is producing noisy sound? or will it cause any problem to my drive?

Springs making noise? From Release bearing or clutch plate?

humongousgravy

Dec 9, 2010
Seremban
humongousgravy : i'm not sure your problem similar with mine or not but i'm driving sei 97. mine one is gear slip at 3th & 4th gear. when 3 to 4 it slip and feel like free gear then only engaged. when driving at 4th gear suddenly it feel like free gear then drop to 3th gear. mine one happen very offend even at low speed. the mechanic diagnos is 4th gear problem, i dont know how he done it but i saw him press the od button at the gear knob few time when gear slip to engaged the gear then he tell me 4th gear got wear out. he only change some thin steel gear plate. according to the mechanic he not even take down the whole gear box then the job done as he said the 4th gear is near the outer site of gear box..i not at the workshop to c how he done and it only cos me around rm300. i hope this can help u
Thanks Jaynian. Could be useful. My car is already at my workshop in Seremban and the mechanic told me after opening up the GB the internals in very bad condition, but can't do anything now due to CNY so he just fixed the leak for me (yeah gearbox leaking also). Engine not sure what he did but i think he maybe changed the gasket or something. Will be back this weekend and see how.

humongousgravy

Dec 9, 2010
Seremban
Guys can you recommend some perdana gearbox specialist to diagnose and troubleshoot gearbox issues? Area is Puchong/PJ. Thanks in advance.

sanekit

Dec 9, 2015
Guys can you recommend some perdana gearbox specialist to diagnose and troubleshoot gearbox issues? Area is Puchong/PJ. Thanks in advance.
I got my 4g93 auto gearbox overhauled at WinTech Auto in Subang Hitech for RM1.5k. You can waze the place. Here's the contact number - 012 638 8316 Leow. So far my gearbox running smooth. They will do computer check to see the problem first and will recommend what to do. Good luck!

humongousgravy

Dec 9, 2010
Seremban

Just changed the engine mounting and the auto box 4th gear clutch plate and steel plate. Went on highway today to balik kampung and boom! problem resurfaced again. When the mechanic changed the 4th gear plates he showed me, already bengkok. Went to my local mechanic in Seremban, the guy said valve body need to changed. Checked with his computer diagnostic thingie. No pressure in the valve body or something.

One thing i noticed, the previous two guys who worked on my gearbox, they did not use a computer diagnostic tool. So now I'm left with few choices, change valve body (including installation close to 900+), change to recon auto gearbox, or finally the easy choice, change to manual. If i could i would definitely chose the manual, but would like to hear what you guys would do if it were you.

regards,

I am a manual kaki, so I will recommend manual, but it all depends on you too, whether you can do with manual.....lol

Bent???? Wahhh... I'd consider recon or manual. Manual probably will have less headache to convert

humongousgravy

Dec 9, 2010
Seremban
i will prefer manual myself too but problem is need to bring out large sum upfront. Anyway if anyone has done the conversion before please kindly recommend some workshops.

u were in usj right? the bandar saujana putra was nearby...

look in fb for amn maju auto (or ujang amn fb) try ask them for quotation

sifus out there,,pls help me on dis 2 things,,,
which one is better???wuts the pro n contra between them(emanage/afc)
fyi,i run 4g93p(gti)
n can i know the requirements to install dis piggyback??
tenks~