4G64 EVO 6 7 8 Stroker

sarutobi84

Aug 12, 2009
swift-turbo-malaysia.blogspot.sg
Hi sifus,im planning to taking plunge of swapping 4G64 Evo engine
Any sifus2 here running one?What is the issues and problems?

Im targeting 400+ hp only.The engine already in running condition in my friend horse.
He plans to sell his car hence dekitting the engine which im planning to swap with my stock evo to this engine+top up cash.
Really appreciate sifus help:driver:

This is the engine spec
4G64 oem block
4G64 oem crankshaft
Bc rod
Hks cam
Bc cam spring
Cp 87mm piston
Acl bearing
Arp headstud
850 fic
Evo 9 20g

sounds like a well built engine....

but looks like u need to go through engine change proccess at puspakom/jpj

A bit confused actually. Change as in Topic of stoker kit or swap engine? Evo not 4G63? 4G64 are those 2.4L engines...

sarutobi84

Aug 12, 2009
Thanks pomen gtr for commenting
4g64+Evo 678 head to stroke 2.4L are common on us and overseas forum.
But i yet too see in malaysia forum.If any 4g64 owner want to chime in really appreciate it.I dont want to drag race it,more to street driving.

AlucarD

Jan 15, 2004
Actually this is not a per se "stroker" as you are using the 4G64 block. It is a true 2.4L engine. A stroker is when you put the 4G64 crank on the 4G63 and use thinner pistons. This will give you approx 2.3L depending on the bore. The 4G64 has a 86.5mm bore and and it could be tough to get good head gasket for them if you are using the Evo cylinder head and want to run high boost. Maybe a set of good headstuds for security. The 4G64 also do not come with oil squirters but that should be fine also as you have forgies.

Other than that I don't see much issues with the 4G64 other than keep revs sanely. The 2.4L does have a lower RS ratio than the 4G63.

yep..its common when having a stroker engine to keep lower rev limit...

for safe piston speed and not self destructing the whole engine...

Thanks pomen gtr for commenting
4g64+Evo 678 head to stroke 2.4L are common on us and overseas forum.
But i yet too see in malaysia forum.If any 4g64 owner want to chime in really appreciate it.I dont want to drag race it,more to street driving.
More confuse to use head to stroke the engine.....:confused:

---------- Post added at 06:48 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 06:47 PM ----------

Actually this is not a per se "stroker" as you are using the 4G64 block. It is a true 2.4L engine. A stroker is when you put the 4G64 crank on the 4G63 and use thinner pistons. This will give you approx 2.3L depending on the bore. The 4G64 has a 87mm bore and and it could be tough to get good head gasket for them if you are using the Evo cylinder head and want to run high boost. Maybe a set of good headstuds for security. The 4G64 also do not come with oil squirters but that should be fine also as you have forgies.

Other than that I don't see much issues with the 4G64 other than keep revs sanely. The 2.4L does have a lower RS ratio than the 4G63.
That is more like it. Use 4G64 crank to stroke 4G63.....:driver:

sarutobi84

Aug 12, 2009
Thanks bro for the comment.yup its not a stroker since the block us for 2.4.
Since this is my daily drive,rev will be kept at max 7.5k only.does anyone here have real experiences with 4g64 2.4 with evo head.most of the info got it from evolutionm.other favourite 4G64 combination would be 2.1 long rod which can rev too the moon.

Slowboy

Jan 14, 2011
Since it will be used for daily driving, 4G64 will be sufficient as this setup known for good torque or low end power. As you've said still the best set-up is de-stroke the 2.4 to 2.1 or 2.2. Balance of torque and power, less stress to the engine as well compared to 4G63 stroke to 2.2 or 2.3.

In the end, it all depend on how deep is your pocket. There is alot of combo to get good setup. Only $$$$. As for me, I should balance these MONEY&MOTORSPORT, or else my account balance problem and maggi daily.

Cheers bro

greenmivec

Nov 10, 2005
2.4 engine..or what ever you call it is still a displacement increased than 2.0 4g63...

4g64 block with evo head is commonly used by evo owner here and overseas..the only problem that hold me to go for 2.4 earlier was because of the old 64 block...other than that its all okay...like others said, i have heard about head gasket problem, but not any more, since there are head gasket specially made for the 2.4 stroker kit...i am not sure locally...but overseas, especially the US, many shop selling it...be i still hear about the makan minyak hitam with this 2.4 stroker engine.

Go for it if you want, but if you have option, i suggest go for 2.3 stroker engine since most of the parts are forged unlike 2.4 oem parts and newer generation of the block.

AlucarD

Jan 15, 2004
I think you would need to build the 4G64 engine. Piston minimum with rods best. This motor started off as a NA and may not be robust enought to take high boost if you intend to beat it. Problem with the 4G63 2.3 stroker is the high side load cause by the stroke. This can cause a noisy engine as well as oil consumption. A 4G64 I would assume would not have such issues as it is a true 2.4L. A de-stroke 4G64 is by far the best as you can use longer rods and a 88mm or 93/94mm crank and that will give you some benefits of higher displacement and better RS ratio. That being said the de-stroke 4G64 is not cheap to build and depending on the compression you want off the shelves piston choices are limited.

The block of the 4G64 and 4G63 are very much alike. Just that the 4G64 do not have the oil squirters in which you can add. Benefits of the 4G64 is a taller deck and comes with a bigger bore of 86.5mm. So you can bore it to 87mm and when used with a 88mm crank the engine is square. A super high reving de-stroke 4G64 2.1L may sound sweet but question is.. can you shift properly at 10k rpm with the Evo clunky gearbox... :tongue:

sarutobi84

Aug 12, 2009
Thanks for the comment sifus.as mention im fully aware on this 4g64 requirement.The engine aldy in running state with fully forged internal(except crank)
Piston speed is the one that limit the rev,i dont intend to rev past 7.5k btw.Base on mechanic who build the kit,no oil squirter was machined to the block.however bearing all tolerance are well kept with acl race bearing.swapping engine will be done this weekend.see how it goes.if i blow this 4g64 up.still have stroker 2.3l to play with complete engine at price less than 8k from sg.lots of monster evo dekitting at the moment.1 thing im concern is the engine oil consumption and oil of choice coz i've read somewhere forged internal builtnat slight loose tolerance need different oil viscocity and some sound at coldnstart.eat engine oil too...?

AlucarD

Jan 15, 2004
That sound is the sound of piston slap. Depending on your piston material and piston to wall clearance and until the car warms up this is very normal. Unless you hear it all the time then your cylinder walls may be worn. My 2.3L stroker do makan some oil when driven hard. But again yours is a 4G64 so it should not burn oil if the tolerance is set properly.

Hi guys.......need ur help a bit on where to find a 5 Speed gear box to be converted from a 4 Speed gear box? How much is da cost?