4g15(Wira) covert 4g18 stroker kit

Hadi17

Known Member
Dec 13, 2010
Johor
I know a guy or two who'll be able to do this. Personally if I were you I'd play with carb with the stroker. Changing to EFI might make tuning "easier" and may improve your FC but don't expect miracles. If unlucky you might have initial problems with the wiring and that will be a headache to troubleshoot.

Get the 4G18 crankshaft, not the campro one. Then get the Saga 1.6 pistons. Bore out the cylinders (reline if you have the budget) and hey presto, stroke + oversize pistons. :biggrin:
Iszo bro, i see people use to say saga 1.6 piston if used not reliable true ah bro ?

Pardon my ignorance but how many additional cc of discplacement will this yield?
about 100cc

parakey

1,000 RPM
Apr 30, 2012
Kuala Lumpur
about 100cc
So you budgeted 5-6K for converting your 1.5 into a 1.6. Would it not be cheaper to buy and drop in a 1.6 engine instead?

Sorry for the questions. I am a complete newbie with such things.

Last edited:

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Mar 28, 2004
KL
Iszo bro, i see people use to say saga 1.6 piston if used not reliable true ah bro ?
Nah. All pistons are the same unless you go for forged pistons. The only reliability issue is if you don't do the oversizing properly. 1.6 piston is going for 1.7L mod already (1650cc++) so the cooling system has to be done right and the cylinder liners must be replaced with strong ones.

Pardon my ignorance but how many additional cc of discplacement will this yield?
Depends on how you stroke. Just the crankshaft alone is about 100cc but the stroke will increase as well, increased torque and more usable power band.

So you budgeted 5-6K for converting your 1.5 into a 1.6. Would it not be cheaper to buy and drop in a 1.6 engine instead?

You're probably right. But personally the hassle of registering, JPJ, puspakom and all that is a turnoff for me. Especially if your car is already tinted.

vr2turbo

((( God Level 30,000 RPM )))
Helmet Clan