in need of auto detailing tutoring

g88

Jan 28, 2004
that would be great! set time and place where everyone's available

---------- Post added at 10:12 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:08 PM ----------

been learning from this guy in youtube, founder of Ammo NYC, Larry Kosilla. his explanations arevery thorough.

---------- Post added at 10:19 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:12 PM ----------

can you share your current hands on experience that you have tried yourself ? Perhaps from theory you understand and product/equipment you bought and PRACTICES that you have did/done so far ??

Or you prefer to pay or come for TT to try on OTHERS ppl car or test panel so you have more confident before you try on your own ride ?

okay, like i said, I'm a newbie in the world of automotive. and everything i learned and picked up through the years are either through youtube, or even forums like ZTH.
Basically i dont own, or even have the guts to play around with any buffing machines be it rotary or even dual action because i'm scared of messing it up (that's the art of diy right? haha) what i always do is wash, clay and wax it to seal it. and everything is done manually by hand so it's labour and time intensive. i learned the most out of Larry Kosilla of Ammo NYC. using most of his techniques. look it up on youtube for Drive Clean.

Time to apply what you learn. Mistake will make you improve.

KrisMas

Apr 1, 2008
dear ZTH forumers, I am very keen in learning on how to wash and detailing of cars. But, it seems quite hard for me to find any company offering workshops or classes as i need more hands on approach. I've been learning by myself through forums, mostly through videos in youtube. Been following and is a huge fan of Larry Kosilla of Ammo NYC. If any sifus out there provide such tutoring, please let me know a.s.a.p. Thank you in advance, and thank you admin, Mr. Tom for this great site. cheers everyone!
Hi there naqi, looks like you're quite passionate about this. Larry@AMMO makes lots and lots of GREAT guides and his 'tutorials' are quite well accepted in the detailing communities to be good and unbiased guides. But nothing beats hands-on trials & experience. I've also learned quite a lot from his videos too.

It also seemed like you've done yourself quite an extensive research and readings...that's a very promising start.

Now, from hereon, the question would be where/how to go about?

The same question hit me when I started to develop this passion more than a decade ago. I was lucky to be able to meet our own world renowned Grandmaster @ Autodetailer and even luckier that he trusted me enough to 'teach' me a thing or two and showed/set me on a right path. From then on, I met more and more 'kakis' (as we call it) and, true to what had been said in previous posts, I've learned a lot after sitting down, chatting, debating, theorising, etc. during TTs then going back and trying/experimenting. We even have DITs (a Do-It-Together sessions), small gatherings and experimenting sessions, etc. - call it an 'experience-sharing' session. This helps to keep the knowledge coming in and kept the passion going strong.

What I'm trying to say is: first and foremost, join and get-together with other enthusiasts around here and, believe you me, there are quite a few. Secondly, getting a professional to tutor you or doing part-time in an established detailing centre would be the best, but you'd need to really search around for that. Just a note though: professional centres tend to be a *little* biased towards the 'business' side of detailing (if you know what I mean). But, if you do have that plan in the future, I guess that would be a good thing.

Looks like I'm just talking crap again and not really helping out am I.....:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Fuiyo.. suddenly so many scary sifus come in liao. :biggrin: *poisonpoisonpoison*

You suggest is great but i think ( i think ah ) your list on input possible apply to someone whose already got deep poison into their nerve and wanted to venture into next/machinery level of detailing :nurse:

I still remember i was 'maintaining' with HAND detailing got god many year...till started with very entry level random orbital detailing (that time there wasn't DA or Flex brand all :P) then into rotary before RETIRED :hmmmm: and now back to HAND again.....hehehe...
That's true. Hand method is a great place to start. But tiring maaaaah.. not everyone can bling a chrome exhaust pipe to mirror finish using hand like you leh!!

Wah! another sifu appear....bro. kris......:biggrin:
He said he is not sifu, only friends are the one doing it leh haha! Or he is the on teaching that's why friends are the one doing haha!

Part of his post...
The same question hit me when I started to develop this passion more than a decade ago. I was lucky to be able to meet our own world renowned Grandmaster @ Autodetailer and even luckier that he trusted me enough to 'teach' me a thing or two and showed/set me on a right path. From then on, I met more and more 'kakis' (as we call it) and, true to what had been said in previous posts, I've learned a lot after sitting down, chatting, debating, theorising, etc. during TTs then going back and trying/experimenting. We even have DITs (a Do-It-Together sessions), small gatherings and experimenting sessions, etc. - call it an 'experience-sharing' session. This helps to keep the knowledge coming in and kept the passion going strong.

Started means past, decade ago means 10 years already, learn under my sifu also, Autodetailer Grandmaster, so buy now he sifu or not?.....:rofl:

Part of his post...

Started means past, decade ago means 10 years already, learn under my sifu also, Autodetailer Grandmaster, so buy now he sifu or not?.....:rofl:
Oh both of u also same sifu, no wonder la. But my sifu is u already :rofl:
Maybe he is now part of Autodetailer leh.

KrisMas

Apr 1, 2008
Aiyo...you guys ah....hahahah

I mean people like me, vr2, and others can never be a sifu la....how can we be one when we only do our own rides. We can't also teach cuz we only know what works for us and our cars using our own products only. We also can't show anything cuz....well....it'll be the same pictures of the same car over and over again.

But, there is a lack of transparency and information sharing from/by many of the pros (for their own good reasons actually) so, I try my best to help out enthusiasts/hobbyist any way I can/able, including organising (not conducting :rolleyes:) workshops/demos, sharing resources/suppliers, and even sharing my own tools and supplies so that 'newbies'/seasons hobbyists could enjoy detailing and also tools/products/accessories/etc. which aren't accessible to them. And, like I said, I learned a lot myself during those gatherings too. Anyway, detailing is fun....and fun stuffs needs to be shared.:beer:

---------- Post added at 04:33 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:27 PM ----------

Maybe he is now part of Autodetailer leh.
I don't see myself being able to go into commercialising this hobby of mine. Anyway, affiliation would create restrictions and further complications....that would take all the fun out of it....:smokin:

DarkAccoon

Besides the tools and theory, practical is also important.

After trying on many different product brands on different cars, i can safely conclude (some may oppose this) that there is no ONE solution for all.

Different brand and even different color used may differ in the methods required to detail them. Soft clear coat, godlike hard clear coat, single stage paint, rubbishly re-painted surface just to name a few.

Also different brand of products, pads, machines play an important role as well. The key is to finding what works best for your style.

My experience along my journey, I have learned thru observing, evaluating, asking and also experienced being pushed awayby some (yeah, some 'sifu' can be a bit secretive on their trade for a good reason). There will also be people whom have their own proven method and may not agree with other methods as well.

Bottomline, detailing is a vast world and there is endless possibilities. Its up to you to explore it and do not give up too early if your machine polishing does not produce your expected result. Or if the holograms just refuse to go away.

Detail and have fun along the way.

Heck, I should not even say i tried many products since I am so poor and not able to afford most imported brands.

I mean people like me, vr2, and others can never be a sifu la....how can we be one when we only do our own rides. We can't also teach cuz we only know what works for us and our cars using our own products only. We also can't show anything cuz....well....it'll be the same pictures of the same car over and over again.

But, there is a lack of transparency and information sharing from/by many of the pros (for their own good reasons actually) so, I try my best to help out enthusiasts/hobbyist any way I can/able, including organising (not conducting :rolleyes:) workshops/demos, sharing resources/suppliers, and even sharing my own tools and supplies so that 'newbies'/seasons hobbyists could enjoy detailing and also tools/products/accessories/etc. which aren't accessible to them. And, like I said, I learned a lot myself during those gatherings too. Anyway, detailing is fun....and fun stuffs needs to be shared.:beer:

---------- Post added at 04:33 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:27 PM ----------

I don't see myself being able to go into commercialising this hobby of mine. Anyway, affiliation would create restrictions and further complications....that would take all the fun out of it....:smokin:
Next DIT u should join us la haha! At least we have to students from Autodetailer Grandmaster teaching us together haha! True, some things that we like, sometimes cannot turn it into job and it will take away the fun of it.

Yup, we don't actually teach but share some knowledge, hold DIT and do it together....:driver:

---------- Post added at 11:37 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:36 PM ----------

Next DIT u should join us la haha! At least we have to students from Autodetailer Grandmaster teaching us together haha! True, some things that we like, sometimes cannot turn it into job and it will take away the fun of it.
Bro. Kris is ROB kaki woh!...Our tt no fun for him, but if he hold DIT, we join him will be fun...:biggrin:

ROB meh? I thought he was the mad fella who actually owns a Rupes bigfoot? The rolls Royce of all detailing motorized tools?

KrisMas

Apr 1, 2008
Bro. Kris is ROB kaki woh!...Our tt no fun for him, but if he hold DIT, we join him will be fun...:biggrin:
Yeah...we did have some 'serious' fun back then didn't we....:smokin:

ROB meh? I thought he was the mad fella who actually owns a Rupes bigfoot? The rolls Royce of all detailing motorized tools?
Who you callin' mad bro...??!! :thefinger:...MUAHAHAHAHA.....

Yeah...we did have some 'serious' fun back then didn't we....:smokin:

Who you callin' mad bro...??!! :thefinger:...MUAHAHAHAHA.....

Yup, many rounds DIT, TT and at many places. Now all age catching up, and family especially....:biggrin:

Now you know whether he sifu or not.....hahhahhahahahah:rofl:

Hi zthians..

Just wondering, would it be better to thermal wrap the extractor or thermal paint it..
Know where and what price would the range be for both?

tanks in advance... :)