Saga FLX issue (help me)

driftkingII

Mar 2, 2005
Bandar Utama
Anyone Saga FLX owners here?

I want to clarify a few things before I go to service in Proton.

Car cannot start, I remembered when I learn from JPJ, if car cannot start it is either battery or air.

So the instructor did a demo he disable the air and the car cannot start.

I have changed my battery and so far ok.

Later this problem still come back, cannot start. So what I did was I removed the air filter and pat it to remove the dust and then my car can start. So i suspected it is the air filter issue. So if I cannot start I will do this 1st and it works everytime.
*sometimes this also happens during after service, already 3 times.

Today I called the Proton service, they said no air filter issue and it is luck that the car can start after doing that.

so guys i need to know? is this the air filter or not?

Please advise

*car still under warranty till this November, was thinking to kill the warranty after replacing the power window.

driftkingII

Mar 2, 2005
Bandar Utama
check your air flow sensor. does your car crank?
not a crank sound but the sound like car no battery, btw i already replaced the battery.

I read in some forums they said immobilizer.

When you turn ur key to ignition can you hear the fuel pump sound? the car can crank or the starter can't crank at all?

driftkingII

Mar 2, 2005
Bandar Utama
check your air flow sensor. does your car crank?
When you turn ur key to ignition can you hear the fuel pump sound? the car can crank or the starter can't crank at all?
Sorry for the info about crank but yes my car crank, this cannot start issue does not happen most of the time.

How to know air flow sensor and also Fuel pump sound?

Scary thing is it happens always after servicing at Proton service...

have u fit any electrical device such as ICE, aftermarket alarm system etc etc???

i suspect something was draining your battery....

or ask SC to check if the car original grounding was tied properly or not

Sorry for the info about crank but yes my car crank, this cannot start issue does not happen most of the time.

How to know air flow sensor and also Fuel pump sound?

Scary thing is it happens always after servicing at Proton service...
The fuel pump sound appear when you turn ur key to ignition. You stand beside ur driver door, turn the key to ignition but not start then listen if you can hear a Eeeee sound for a while as the fuel pump pressurized the fuel line. Then it will automatically stop. Try to find a quiet place to do it but the fuel pump sound on saga is quite loud. Also when you crank that time is the cranking sound consistent or during cranking sometimes fast sometimes slow.

driftkingII

Mar 2, 2005
Bandar Utama
have u fit any electrical device such as ICE, aftermarket alarm system etc etc???

i suspect something was draining your battery....

or ask SC to check if the car original grounding was tied properly or not
No bro, this car i do not want to put all those fancy stuff or modifications. This car i want to keep it stock.

as i said earlier this happens sometime n also after service at proton SC

driftkingII

Mar 2, 2005
Bandar Utama
Went to SC today.

Proton found the root cause, it is the ECU. They told me ECU upgrade will be ready soon n they will inform me when it is ready.

^pomen_GTR^ u nearly got it right and thanx !!!

bro Titan, Fuel Pump working fine, i tested it

papagoines

Orang Tua
Feb 6, 2006
Rawang/Selangor
Went to SC today.

Proton found the root cause, it is the ECU. They told me ECU upgrade will be ready soon n they will inform me when it is ready.

^pomen_GTR^ u nearly got it right and thanx !!!

bro Titan, Fuel Pump working fine, i tested it
really? then I must tell my collegues as well... seems lots of my FLX frends suffers the same issue as well

EvolutionZ

Aug 3, 2007
its good that the SC can troubleshoot this. ECU issue? something new. lets hope it work well after the re-programming.
normally your case, if got mileage...its either
- fuel pump faulty
- air flow sensor loose connection
- immobilizer..
but from what i read there...none of the above..then lets share once the SC can settle yr problem.

driftkingII

Mar 2, 2005
Bandar Utama
its good that the SC can troubleshoot this. ECU issue? something new. lets hope it work well after the re-programming.
normally your case, if got mileage...its either
- fuel pump faulty
- air flow sensor loose connection
- immobilizer..
but from what i read there...none of the above..then lets share once the SC can settle yr problem.
No news from PSC.

but it is a very common issue as well when i googled here.
Saga Flx(a) Engine Can't Start - Autoworld Forum

also i read here, somehow stupidcar issue is something like mine
http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/proton/440695-1-6-campro-persona-hard-to-start.html

Anyway guys, i just killed my warranty "car battery died on Merdeka night,"

papagoines

Orang Tua
Feb 6, 2006
Rawang/Selangor
bro... one of my friend suffers the same issue... and his solution is very simple...

yank out the immobilizer... the car can start with out any issue.... been 1 year plus plus

but then, your warranty is void la

papagoines

Orang Tua
Feb 6, 2006
Rawang/Selangor
Same as this right?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AVU-xV4bks8

been getting this almost on a daily basis now... but as per video, i just
  1. Close the door and lock it via remote
  2. wait 10 seconds
  3. unlock the car, start it and it cranks like nothing happened

hi everyone im a newbie here...i wana ask those pros out there,isit posible to convert my stock kancil 660 carb to kelisa 850 EFI?? im stil thinking about to converting the 850 twin cam n L2,which one will be beter??? thx