DIY Honda ECU Repairs- P30 P08 P27

levin818

Nov 29, 2003
What ECUs can i take these components for IC17 (TA8903sn), QM1,2,3 and Caps from to fix my P28 ECU? Do all the Honda ECUs use the same components US or JDM? if not which ECUs should i be looking for to get those components from?
P27, P29, P30 or try similar year make Honda ECU.
As for Caps, please DO NOT re-use the old Cap. Always use NEW caps.

levin818

Nov 29, 2003
By the way, IC17 & QM1/2/3 are tough and hard to failed, unless its due to mishandling.
Through out my previous experience, i seldom replace those items (less than 1 out of 20 unit).

syai

Oct 8, 2008
kedah
Hi..sifus
my engine is B16A (auto) now running on P08 ecu.. ecu rechipped by previous owner. few months ago the CEL won't turn off for few times. but the car run ok

now.. the the engine is difficult to start. i have to push the pedal to make it start. when i push the pedal, the CEL will turn on and the engine will start as usual. and CEL wont turn off while running

have try changing the ecu with my fren and the problem settle

put back my p08... the problem happen again.

please.. help me. NO CODE DETECTED.

now the car just park at home. dont hv gut to drive.

E-Tech

Jun 28, 2005
Johor
Hi..sifus
my engine is B16A (auto) now running on P08 ecu.. ecu rechipped by previous owner. few months ago the CEL won't turn off for few times. but the car run ok

now.. the the engine is difficult to start. i have to push the pedal to make it start. when i push the pedal, the CEL will turn on and the engine will start as usual. and CEL wont turn off while running

have try changing the ecu with my fren and the problem settle

put back my p08... the problem happen again.

please.. help me. NO CODE DETECTED.

now the car just park at home. dont hv gut to drive.
Hi...
How's the inside of the ecu?
The caps ok or leaking like bury marks on the board?

So what help you want?
All informations has been posted, pls read thru'.

If you want someone to repair it, can also
be arranged at your choice (Penang, KL or
Johor).

Tq

E-Tech

Jun 28, 2005
Johor
Trace from connector B15 to the related cap and change it.
As I know Q31 no relations to code4.

levin818

Nov 29, 2003
I can see your 33/35 and 220/35 are leaking. Suggest you replace all the E-Cap before you run the test again.
2SD2178 has too low hFE and it cant replace 2SD1780. Try get a 60V 2A Darlington TR instead.

Coupe-r

May 6, 2014
Tauranga
I have a JDM P08 factory manual ecu.

Socketed by someone else and ran in customers car fine for a few months. Then random CEL's started when driving which bought up codes that didn't exist.

I then resoldered the socket and latch plus checked over everything. Main cap has been replaced.

ECU Passes on my moates engine Sim and primed the fuel pump, hits vtec, NO CEL.

Put ECU in the car and it primes the fuel pump but SOLID CEL. Car starts and runs in limp mode.

I removed J1 and put ecu back to stock. Primes fuel pump and SOLID CEL STILL!
When key turns on, fuel relay primes and CEL comes on. Relay clicks off and CEL remains on SOLID (like there is a chipping issue but J1 is removed now)

What inside the ecu can cause this? visually everything looks ok.

E-Tech

Jun 28, 2005
Johor
Remove the socket and and reconfirm all
the tracks to the main processor.
Suspect damaged somewhere...

Coupe-r

May 6, 2014
Tauranga
Hi there, while I still need to check my broken P08.
I now have a P30 that mostly doesn't prime the fuel pump or has a HUGE delay in priming the fuel pump.

Once I get it to prime once it will prime every time after that.
If I unplug the engine sim for a while and retest the ecu, it's very slow to prime again.

P30 JDM ECU with a replaced C14 and a couple of burnt traces that are repaired.
Also replaced one other cap.
a 10v 47uf cap looks like it could do with replacing though.

Honda ecu fuel prime issues - YouTube

Coupe-r

May 6, 2014
Tauranga
I fixed the issue above by replacing the IC 17 Toshiba power IC.
I actually took one from a OBD1 P72 auto ECU (same part number but different IC location)

I also replaced the 10v 47uf cap that goes directly to this IC as it had signs of leaking.

Not sure if the dodgy caps cause these parts to fail, or start to fail as in my video.

ECU is perfect now

****EDIT: CUSTOMER NOW SAYS IT'S NOT PRIMING THE FUEL PUMP.***

Either the customers car is causing an issue or the moates tester does not pick up the issue (more likely a I have found a few times ECU's pass on the tester and fail on the car)
The best test appears to be putting it in an actual car still.

****EDIT 2: CUSTOMER SAYS IT WAS HIS CAR AND THE ECU IS FINE

my car started shifting up and down while driving on a constant road.i have taken it to a transmission shop and they have found the following fault codes when test with ADS-1 Fault Diagnostic Scanner:1642 anomalous engine speed signal,100 gear monitoring
Need i remove the tranny and strip?