Advise please: coating first or paint protection film first?

s1tl

1,000 RPM
Jul 13, 2010
Ipoh/KL
Wow the difference in the paint tone differs a lot. The edge of the film makes the car looks weird. Sorry cannot accept this. I think it's a wiser choice to do whole panel instead of half panel to avoid seeing that obvious film boundary.

Surprise to know that Opti Coat 2.0 is that lousy. So far only hear good thing about it, maybe because those comments are from consumer level user, not professional detailer like you. But have you ever wonder it is because of the application phase that causes this yellowing? I was planning to do it on the wheel sometime in future by myself some more, as I have no way to buy Optimum Pro coating since I am not a professional detailer.

Talk about this Oracle, actually the name is Orafol is it? The product they created for car wrap is called Oraguard. I found this from internet, I believe is the brand you talking about:
Product details ORAGUARD 283 Stone Guard Film - Graphic Products
Can you tell me where you had your car installed the Orafol film? I am interest to visit the shop and ask them how much they quote for paint protection film installation.

Mention about you painted your car with Glasurit, did you go to the paint shop that uses exclusively Glasurit only or the shop usually use other brand of paint, only use Glasurit upon request by customer? If it was the later, is the paint shop technician use the same spray gun that he has been using to spray other brand paint to spray the Glasurit paint? They cant be so generous change a new spray gun whenever a customer requests for a brand that he never sprayed before in his shop, right?

I have been informed by many that 30 days of waiting period before waxing (or any kind of process) on newly spray paint is usually the minimum. Some 60 days, even 90 days. 2 weeks really sounds short to me. Is that what current paint technology has becomes?