Basic Maintenance For DC2

khencana

Jul 31, 2008
Hi all friends and sifus here... im from penang, in process of owning a dc2 b18cr 98 :love:. here got some questions :

1. i want to change the timing belt and clutch set. izzit worth to change to power enterprise or gates timing belt (rm4xx above) or juz stick to original std timing belt? (running with skunk2 pro3 cams)

2. any recomendation for the clutch set? plz give an estimated price + labour cost

3. besides belting for timing, aircond, alternator and power steering, any other items that i need to change (one shot process)? how about the tensioner bearing, seal etc? plz give an estimated price + labour cost...

4. izzit logic to custom made an our own tyre clamping for safety purpose? i really concern about car safety (tak berapa nak harap dgn steering lock, gear lock, brake lock, secondary switch, anti-smash tinted)

5. how can we check about originality of bride/recaro seat, power enterprise timing belt, sard FPR, clutch?

6. any comment about Ari workshop near to tapak pesta penang?

7. what are the preparation before we go to dyno?

8. any recommendation for spray workshop in penang?

9. where can i find a carbon front lips?

very-very newbies here. sorry for my english.... im still learning :biggrin:

thanks in advance.......... :driver:

mADmAN

2/ standard type r clutch set is actually pretty decent... if ur clutch is still ok... just keep using it la...but if u want something better and bang for buck then its definitely the exedy 3 or 4 puck clutch (RM950)...keras sikit for daily drive...but for me still acceptable.

4/ if u can make ur own tire clamp...by all means go ahead.. security is always a good idea... especially these days where hondas are dissapearing

7/ isi minyak

khencana

Jul 31, 2008
2/ standard type r clutch set is actually pretty decent... if ur clutch is still ok... just keep using it la...but if u want something better and bang for buck then its definitely the exedy 3 or 4 puck clutch (RM950)...keras sikit for daily drive...but for me still acceptable.

4/ if u can make ur own tire clamp...by all means go ahead.. security is always a good idea... especially these days where hondas are dissapearing

7/ isi minyak
2. current clutch condition is slipped. may i know the price for standard clutch?
4. tq bro...
7. other than that? technically aspect?

mADmAN

standard clutch about RM500 iirc....

technically? not really...just make sure no pinging... wats the reason u wanna dyno? tuning or just power check?

if just power check just make sure car is in good condition... get that clutch done first too

khencana

Jul 31, 2008
standard clutch about RM500 iirc....

technically? not really...just make sure no pinging... wats the reason u wanna dyno? tuning or just power check?

if just power check just make sure car is in good condition... get that clutch done first too
both, tuning + power check.... yup, i will change the all belting set, water coolant flush etc (major service) before dyno... any other advice? since dah lama, tahun 2009 tinggal alam perhondaan......... hehehehe

HIDC5R

Oct 8, 2011
why not try Northern Garage at Sg Ara, my friend did his servicing/upgrade/repair there for his B18CR DB8 ... for painting, there's one highly recommended, Nanyang Auto off Lebuh Kimberly

khencana

Jul 31, 2008
why not try Northern Garage at Sg Ara, my friend did his servicing/upgrade/repair there for his B18CR DB8 ... for painting, there's one highly recommended, Nanyang Auto off Lebuh Kimberly
izzit nothern garage = zaim?
ok tq so much bro....

pwhyze

Mar 1, 2011
Hi all friends and sifus here... im from penang, in process of owning a dc2 b18cr 98 :love:. here got some questions :

1. i want to change the timing belt and clutch set. izzit worth to change to power enterprise or gates timing belt (rm4xx above) or juz stick to original std timing belt? (running with skunk2 pro3 cams)
OEM is pretty good, but Power Enterprise should be more durable for Pro3s

2. any recomendation for the clutch set? plz give an estimated price + labour cost
Exedy OEM. RM8XX plus RM4XX labour (yeah yeah, I know). Can't see why people are pining for Oguras when they have moderately tuned B18CR engines

3. besides belting for timing, aircond, alternator and power steering, any other items that i need to change (one shot process)? how about the tensioner bearing, seal etc? plz give an estimated price + labour cost...
No idea

4. izzit logic to custom made an our own tyre clamping for safety purpose? i really concern about car safety (tak berapa nak harap dgn steering lock, gear lock, brake lock, secondary switch, anti-smash tinted)
Supplement the tyre clamp with the other things you've mentioned (lock, alarm, kill switch). Don't just rely on one thing.

5. how can we check about originality of bride/recaro seat, power enterprise timing belt, sard FPR, clutch?
No idea but never heard of fake clutch before.

6. any comment about Ari workshop near to tapak pesta penang?
No idea

7. what are the preparation before we go to dyno?
Technically, get the car in running shape I guess. Get a standalone maybe?.

8. any recommendation for spray workshop in penang?
:confused:

9. where can i find a carbon front lips?
Facebook. Add all the half cut sifus and pay attention to what they update. That's how I got mine. If it's on mudah, chances are it's too late.Lot's of people looking for one

very-very newbies here. sorry for my english.... im still learning :biggrin:

thanks in advance.......... :driver:
Hope this helps!

khencana

Jul 31, 2008
pwhyze... it really helps... tq so much...

1. maybe i go to power enterprise for timing belt. other belts, use oem honda
2. 1.2k total for the clutch? how much for oem one?
3. ok
4. ok tq
5. ok
6. ok
7. now running with emanage+feel's ecu... sorry, my knowledge about engine management is very limited (newbies)
8. nanyang auto, jln kimberly
9. ok tq

ada apa2 benda lain can share?

mADmAN

if ur e-manage comes with ignition harness, id say its ok to keep it...

but of course... hondata s300j will be best but u have to make sure u have an OBD1 ECU....i have a feeling ur on OBD2.

best bang for buck imho is Crome...same level as the old hondata S100. basically a custom chip for ur car.... again requires OBD1

i used to have OBD1 ECU with spoon chip + VAFC...tuned my ex-high comp B20 and only got 185whp with a VERY rough dyno graph.... this was coz no ignition timing tuning.

swapped out to crome... which had ignition timing tuning as well as fuel mapping....and retuned and got 200whp with a MUCH smoother graph :D

unfortunately, some wiring issues caused me to blow that B20 about 3 weeks ago.. now back to the very reliable B16A :D

mADmAN

Alamak, your B20 blown already?
sadly yeah.... all them forged internals gone... somehow the wiring issue i had screwed up something and kapow... initially thought it was distributor.. changed new one.. while testing (aka redlining) the new distributor... kapow

picture i posted awhile ago

now on stock B16A... which actually feels pretty damn good... but i do miss the torque though

khencana

Jul 31, 2008
madman, i will take picture the emanage and ecu and post here..honestly, nt very clear about what u hv discussed. donno about harness, obd, crome etc (1st time i heard about crome is crome dyno at avantech) ... btw, to check the ecu, i need to open the computer box casing rite?the tune/system will lari/kacau or not?

jerrysiow

Jan 3, 2012
Seremban
sadly yeah.... all them forged internals gone... somehow the wiring issue i had screwed up something and kapow... initially thought it was distributor.. changed new one.. while testing (aka redlining) the new distributor... kapow

picture i posted awhile ago

now on stock B16A... which actually feels pretty damn good... but i do miss the torque though
Ermmm.... madman, can i know what is the purpose of the holes on your bumper? I saw alot civic, satria, and wiralution doing this.

Any foreman here can advice me?

My spark plug lead has gone brittle and those rubber pieces are in my spark plug chambers.
Tried to take some out but I can't.

I am gonna change my valve cover gasket soon but i still can't access it.
Letting the rubber dropping inside the combustion chamber would be my last resort. :bawling...