Compound Haze?

titanlok

Apr 2, 2010
Kuala Lumpur
Hi SIFUs at ZerotoHundred, I am new to machine polishing and recently I had try out the Meguairs D300 compound with their microfiber finishing disk and got the result below. The result is good but I think it could been better as I feel like there is light haze from the compound.

Before:

After:

From the picture I hope all the experience Sifus can help me to confirm whether this is compound haze or not?

If yes, then I am thinking to follow up with a step of Polish, will this step remove the haze as in the picture?

For Polish I have Optimum Hyper Polish and Meguairs Ultimate Polish in mind and I have some doubts and hope Sifus can share their thoughts with me.

Can I apply Opti-Seal right after the polish with OHP or polish with MUP? Or I shall remove the polishing oil from both polish with OPC then only apply OS?

TQVM! :biggrin:

KrisMas

Known Member
Apr 1, 2008
Yup...looks like compound haze to me. Should look better after another step with a lighter polish. Btw, what machine did you use the D300 with?

Anyway, do you already have those products that you mentioned (OHP, Megs UP & Opti Seal)? If you plan to use Opti Seal, better go for the same brand as they should already had tested them for compatibility. Regardless, a wipedown with IPA or panel wipe or a wash with an all purpose cleaner (remember to rinse!) would help to remove any leftover polishing oil from the surface and does help with the bonding of a sealant (better performance).

titanlok

Apr 2, 2010
Kuala Lumpur
Yup...looks like compound haze to me. Should look better after another step with a lighter polish. Btw, what machine did you use the D300 with?