NVH DiY and Tested

cvkit17

Mar 20, 2012
great post! so many pics
will be doing my own car soon with proper db meter.

i do sell insulflex, bitumen(grey type,2mm thick), fender bitumen spray and a meterial like 3m thinsulate (200gram grade)
Thanks. Look forward for your testing :biggrin:
I might need fender spray next time when I change rims to bigger ones haha

cvkit17

Mar 20, 2012
Bro, where can i get the sound prood material?
I bought them from my friend..he is a supplier of PE foam for AC industries. You can find many sellers in lyn forum or you can search for the distributors of insulflex, superlon, trocellen, etc.

johnsonlam

DIY King
Balik Pulau, KL
Great job!!
I did the same using bitumen strips before adding the Insulflex foam.

Please allow me to share your thread, since it's the same topic, no need to start a new one :D Just posting pictures since detailed (awesome) guides are shared by cvkit17.

Here's the Door

Door panels, along with original sound damping material

Boot wall with strip

Boot wall with Insulflex on the strip

Boot floor

A, B Pillars

Middle Seat belt pillars

cvkit17

Mar 20, 2012
Cool bro! Where did you get the bitumen strip? Hardware shop? Some bitumen or butyl will melt over time, while some will harden. Those expensive ones won't melt but will harden. I'm so afraid of bitumen that will melt coz it will make a hell mess in the panels.

johnsonlam

DIY King
Balik Pulau, KL
I was using Dunlop Bitumen strip.
The picture above was taken when I did it for my Lancer 5 years ago... It is still there inside, intact with all the foam and all perfectly in place.

Yes, many people complain using cheap ones that dropped after a mere few weeks.

I actually did some oven test and even open burning test :D .. Let me find the old pictures.

Lets have some good news in this forum instead, this guy got his BMW back but lost a 100K in cash and posessions. I guess this shows the effectiveness of tracking alarms like Captor and V.guard.

Source: http://newpaper.asia1.com.sg/news/story/0,4136,97792,00.html?

THE robbers got away with some RM70,000 ($31,675) in cash after robbing a 29-year-old bachelor at his Simpang Empat home in Alor Star yesterday.

But they didn't get far with his BMW 5-series, reported...