Ron95 which brands works best for your car?

Ron95 brands that you like the most

• BHP

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Caltex

• Petron

• Petronas

• Shell

• Total voters

cvkit17

Mar 20, 2012
It comes in the form of rebates in my bills end of the month. Maximum rebate is 1000 but I hit about 300 at most every month.
I am pretty sure there is people in your company that buy and resell haha...or share with family and friends.

epol

Motoring Pornography
May 4, 2005
Definitely CALTEX 95 With Techron.
Why? Because it feels like others 97.
Try it. You will feel the difference.:biggrin:

LesleyAprotto

Banned
Jun 16, 2012
now petronas..sometimes shell..and tried BHP. i think BHP not bad. give more millage.
I think you are right!

BHP delivers more smoothness, more mileage!:love:

I can see it after driving for a few km on my meter!

Normally around 10.5litre/ 100km will drop to 8.9litre/ 100km.

But for convenience sake and points I mostly use Petron & Petronas:hmmmm:

BuroQ

Sep 13, 2004
Border Town
Been using Petronas most of the time on me old and trusty rolla but once in a while fill up at any petrol stations that I can find hahaha.

Using Petronas because:

1 - Nearer to house (As if every place that my family lives for sure Petronas near to house hahahahha. My previous house - Ampang, parents house - Hulu Langat, my house - Tg. Malim and in laws house - Baling)

2 - Loyalty card. Wifey also got Petronas loyalty card. Everytime wanna fill up our cars for sure both of us 'berebut' to gain more points :rofl:

cbsteh

Oct 26, 2010
Kazakhstan
www.christopherteh.com
Since I bought my car nearly 3 years ago, I have been measuring my car's FC (i.e., from day 1 until today). There is no appreciable difference between petrol brands for ron95. If there's really any differences between brands, I think these differences are lost in actual driving and road conditions (too small to be noticed and measured).

As to a petrol giving smoother rides, this is very subjective. One good way to determine "smoothness" would be to ask other people to fill in the petrol for your car, but they don't tell you what brand. Then you rate the "smoothness" of ride on a scale of 1 (worst) to 5 (best). Do this several times and then ask your friend to reveal the petrol brands used. You might be surprised to find no consistency between your ratings and petrol brands.

papagoines

Orang Tua
Feb 6, 2006
Rawang/Selangor
Since I bought my car nearly 3 years ago, I have been measuring my car's FC (i.e., from day 1 until today). There is no appreciable difference between petrol brands for ron95. If there's really any differences between brands, I think these differences are lost in actual driving and road conditions (too small to be noticed and measured).

As to a petrol giving smoother rides, this is very subjective. One good way to determine "smoothness" would be to ask other people to fill in the petrol for your car, but they don't tell you what brand. Then you rate the "smoothness" of ride on a scale of 1 (worst) to 5 (best). Do this several times and then ask your friend to reveal the petrol brands used. You might be surprised to find no consistency between your ratings and petrol brands.
same here :itsme:

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010

Agree!

LesleyAprotto

Banned
Jun 16, 2012

No intention to be rude or being offensive....

I dont agree!:listen:

No intention to be rude or being offensive....

I dont agree!:listen:
For once I actually agree with LesleyA.

I don't experience the same things as what cbsteh has mentioned. However I would be very keen to try this blind test. I have access to 4 different brands near my house, will try it with my moms myvi and see if she notices the differences.

papagoines

Orang Tua
Feb 6, 2006
Rawang/Selangor
hahaha... maybe our senses are not as acute :hmmmm:

but... did try using FuelLog apps via Android for Petronas/Shell/Petron aka ESSO MOBILE/Caltex with at least 5 full fillups each.... the discrepencies varied within 5% only... that's for fuel consumption sake

as per smoothness/performance wise, really didn't feel much... even with RON97...

maybe I'm too old kot :sleep:

For once I actually agree with LesleyA.

I don't experience the same things as what cbsteh has mentioned. However I would be very keen to try this blind test. I have access to 4 different brands near my house, will try it with my moms myvi and see if she notices the differences.
Bro. Izso, I have been on Esso for many many years. All the while on Ron97 for my VR. Then when Shell FS came out my friend who was on Ron95 say is much better then other brands for his car. So ask me to try, and to what I was thinking should not be that bad if I use back Shell FS Ron97, but immediately after pumping full tank, my car sort of choke like running on Ron 95. Went back siphon out and poured into my NA Hyundai then went and pump back Esso then no problem.
Funny thing though as after a short while later, Shell FS Ron 97 was replaced with Shell V Power 97.
But once bitten twice shy, dare not use their fuel anymore....

Jul 10, 2013
Wanted to try Petron too but my techician only said stick to 1 type of petrol per car for better fuel consumption..is it true?
oh ya, btw, My wife is using Petronas Xtra 95 for kancil and Shell 97 for my own GTI coz Citibank Platinum Rewards card allows me to earn 5 times points in all the station and think have the highest spending capped per month which is RM 1000.