Tire Size Talk....

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
If Inspira, can follow Lancer GT size 215/45R18, diameter is almost same as original 16" size but wider than original by 10mm only...
If Inspira, I'd suggest just use max 17' so that can still use thicker tires and much more comfortable. 215/45 is already very border line of being too thin and the ride is starting to feel harsh IMHO. Can use like 225/45 which is even wider/better grip, and better comfort at the same time cause sidewall is still >10cm.

xuang26

Sep 28, 2010
yes. it's Inspira. with japanese rim work emotion, rim 18" x 8.5jj offset 32. tyre 225/45/18, i sarch the rim so long.After > than 1 year, manage to get. So happy,but after fix the rim..nightmare happen. When back sit 2 adult..wil hit fender coz the rim about 1 inch out of the fender. Then i change the eibach spring to adjustable to avoid hit fender. After install adjustable hilo soft hard, have to adjust to hardest, otherwise wil hit also....i put front 1 1/2 finger, rear 2 finger. But very hard drive...drive long journey will feel vommit. then i adjust to half hard. when half hard, behind sit 2 adult..hit fender again...!@#$%^&*. I totally get mad. So i go to few tyre shop, they gv 2 options. 1st : skim the rim, change offset. 2nd option : do widebody, cut off the ori fender, then do wide body. Guys...any advice and suggestions?

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
yes. it's Inspira. with japanese rim work emotion, rim 18" x 8.5jj offset 32. tyre 225/45/18, i sarch the rim so long.After > than 1 year, manage to get. So happy,but after fix the rim..nightmare happen. When back sit 2 adult..wil hit fender coz the rim about 1 inch out of the fender. Then i change the eibach spring to adjustable to avoid hit fender. After install adjustable hilo soft hard, have to adjust to hardest, otherwise wil hit also....i put front 1 1/2 finger, rear 2 finger. But very hard drive...drive long journey will feel vommit. then i adjust to half hard. when half hard, behind sit 2 adult..hit fender again...!@#$%^&*. I totally get mad. So i go to few tyre shop, they gv 2 options. 1st : skim the rim, change offset. 2nd option : do widebody, cut off the ori fender, then do wide body. Guys...any advice and suggestions?
Obviously wrong rims already la. That's why must always try on the rims & tires first BEFORE buying!
The only proper solution is change the rims with proper size one, IMHO max better use 17x7.5 with 225/45 or 215/50 tires. If you still don't want to change your rims, then the only other option is to increase your adjustable ride height until it wont scrape the fenders but it will look damn ugly! :biggrin:
Other options like skim the offset, wide body, or more negative cambers will have more downsides (skim offset might affect the balance and strength, wide body will affect resell value and will have more risk of rust, excessive negative cambers will eat your tires fast and worsen your handling).

egb18c

Feb 8, 2006
kuantan
Roll fender can still do if the rims are still about even flush with the fenders, not yet sticking out 1 inch like his. :biggrin:
with malaysian ingenuity,i guess it can be done.

eyh one question,what do you mean by side wall is thinner is 215 compared to 225?
i thought that the sidewall is the same just that 45 or 50 is the height of the sidewall

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
with malaysian ingenuity,i guess it can be done.

eyh one question,what do you mean by side wall is thinner is 215 compared to 225?
i thought that the sidewall is the same just that 45 or 50 is the height of the sidewall
No it cannot be done if already sticks out of the fenders that far, unless you combine with excessive negative camber like I mentioned above which will eat up the tires fast.

That profile number is actually aspect ratio or percentage of the width! So a 215/45 will have sidewall thickness/height of 21.5cm x 0.45 = 9.675cm. While a 225/45 tire will have sidewall of 22.5cm x 0.45 = 10.125cm which is about 0.5cm thicker than the 215/45.

Offset 32 is too far out already. Normally should be around 42.
How much is the tyre scrapping the fender? If very slight, then 215/45R18 might be better. Tyres are narrower and sidewall lower. In fact, as mentioned earlier 215/45R18 overall diameter is almost same size as your original 215/60R16. 225/45R18 is 1.1% bigger.
But if tyre scrapping a lot then cannot also....

lexuskoh

Jun 2, 2007
Yup, as bro. 6UE5t mentioned 225/45R17 almost same overall diameter as your current tyre size.
If you want rears to be wider then 245/40R17.
Offset 25 seems a bit further out, maybe that is what you want...:driver:
then how about i use rim 17" x 7.5jj offset 38....with tire 215/50/R17...
is it ok for my mark II ?
will hits the fender ? after behind sit 2 adults ?

then how about i use rim 17" x 7.5jj offset 38....with tire 215/50/R17...
is it ok for my mark II ?
will hits the fender ? after behind sit 2 adults ?
Since you have not bought the rims yet, you could ask the tyre shop to try them out.
For tyres 225/45R17 overall diameter is closer to your original 205/55R16.
215/50R17 is still 2.3% bigger

lexuskoh

Jun 2, 2007
Since you have not bought the rims yet, you could ask the tyre shop to try them out.
For tyres 225/45R17 overall diameter is closer to your original 205/55R16.
215/50R17 is still 2.3% bigger

May i know how u get 2.3% ?
Formula please....show us...
thank you...

Hey guys I serviced my cvt gearbox at my trusted workshop outside and funny thing happen. First is the cvt oil that come out estimate less than 1litre. After that they replaced around 3 litre of cvt oil . After that funny sound come out when I started slow down after I drive in high speed. The sound I believe come from gearbox and I add the remaining cvt oil back to my cvt. the sound still persist . Any sifu can tell me what to do ?