DIY Interior Lights Tapping Dome Light

ColdPlay

Jun 16, 2010
Haha, yeah. For me, fuses are more complicated than splicing wires. So i go for wires instead.
Anyone done modding? post picas!
Well, it appear to be. As a measure of precaution, always use a fuse or relay / proper masking when tinkering with live wire and make sure they're put in safe place. Underneath the floor carpet is a big no.

Btw, I have done it on my daily ride, albeit in the engine bay. Having a bright engine bay is useful.
I tap the line from battery (+) terminal with one 5v fuse. Another line tapped from the engine hood sensor so that the led stripe only turn on when the engine hood is lifted. I make sure the wires are adequately protected too by masking the connection and inserting 'em into a small hose...which serves as an aesthetic purpose as well. Lousy wiring job but it works :biggrin:
Next DIY plan is led stripe on the door side which trigger when the door is open, with additional on/off switch just in case you drop something over there in the dark night...lol.

stupidcar

Mar 18, 2013
Talk so much! Come come, picture!
Picture more stimulating. Haha. The led strip can tahan the heat of engine?
Oh, no worries. Mine was thru roof then the side door rubber.
Not vulnerable or fragile at all. And i didn't splice any wires. :)

Cheers to DIYs!

ColdPlay

Jun 16, 2010
Talk so much! Come come, picture!
Picture more stimulating. Haha. The led strip can tahan the heat of engine?
Oh, no worries. Mine was thru roof then the side door rubber.
Not vulnerable or fragile at all. And i didn't splice any wires. :)

Cheers to DIYs!
Here you go! A picture of my lousy daily ride with the engine hood up.
The LED is about 15cm in length. Had been around for 2.5 years.
Pic was taken in the evening. The covered hose hooked to the firewall is actually the 2 wires.
Ignore the Pepsi Ginger ale :biggrin:

stupidcar

Mar 18, 2013
Just done my back seats too. :D i put in under the back seats,
so it doesn't get kicked or anything if i put under the front seats.
Excuse my autobox. I regret for not buying Manual tranny.

My next DIY would be, I'm planning to pull all the way from the bottom left up to the bottom right.
But the bottom line i would leave it.
So when i brake, the whole window shine. Pretty dope i'd say. :D

Just had my second dyno session yesterday, drilled a hole in the exhaust extractor manifold after the turbine with wideband O2 screwed it up right to get better AF reading. My spec:

4G93T, standard 0.7 boost, standard mini side mount intercooler...

modded: Walbro 255 LPH pump, FSE fuel regulator, 2.5 inch piping, KNN closed pod, megasquirt standalone, removed restrictive air flow sensor.

the first dyno i had few weeks back was 195 HP, that's without tuning, and yesterday upon...