Opti Coat Professional vs Opti Coat 2.0

g88

Jan 28, 2004
Anyone know whats the MAIN different between them ?

What size does both product come with as well their price ?

g88

Jan 28, 2004
No expert willing to share the information ?

smileward

May 30, 2011
Hi G88,

Differences between Opti-Coat 2.0 and Opti-Guard
Opti Guard is a more concentrated professional version of Opti Coat 2.0. It takes more care to apply and cures faster. If applied correctly, it should provide a thicker coat. But will vary with application methods and amount used. If the same installer used both in the same manner, Opti Guard would be thicker. Professionals will prefer Opti-Guard because they can give the car back to the customer sooner without concerns about exposure to the elements and it will reach full hardness faster so its ready for real world exposure sooner.

Consumers will prefer Opti Coat 2.0 because it applies like Opti Seal which is very easy. You can easily cover an entire panel before it flashes, you have more time to spread it over the panel before you'd have a problem, and if you do have a high spot that dries you can fix it by hand with Optimum Finish instead of needing a machine and compound. Less experience an effort are needed.

As for the resin, the attributes and performance are the same with both: improved scratch, chemical, and environmental resistance/faster cleaning with less effort/dramatically less chance of etching from leaving contaminants on the surface. It may still stain, but won't permeate like normal clear coat will even with waxes/sealants applied.

The main difference is cure time and thickness per application. Opti Coat 2.0 can't be applied on glass surfaces and plastic surfaces as well.

Hope it help. :biggrin:

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
Smileward precisely explained it!

g88

Jan 28, 2004
What will happen if apply Opti Coat 2.0 to glass surfaces and plastic surfaces. Also what will happen if the surface is not oil free (contain wax or polish) while you apply the coating to it.

s1tl

Jul 13, 2010
Ipoh/KL
u need to use IPA (a kind of alcohol) to remove wax and polish before you do the coating, its a part of the surface preparation. if opti coat 2.0 is applied onto glass it will only take effect for probably a 1 week period then it wares off as for plastic it is the same

g88

Jan 28, 2004
u need to use IPA (a kind of alcohol) to remove wax and polish before you do the coating, its a part of the surface preparation. if opti coat 2.0 is applied onto glass it will only take effect for probably a 1 week period then it wares off as for plastic it is the same
my question is what will happen if the surface is not oil free and opti coat being apply ?

s1tl

Jul 13, 2010
Ipoh/KL
you can still apply on a surface that still has polish oil, silika etc, but the durability will be greatly decreased

KrisMas

Apr 1, 2008
my question is what will happen if the surface is not oil free and opti coat being apply ?
Hahaha....g88, you should know better than these guys what would happen if you apply an LSP onto a not-so-clean surfaces. Unless, of course, the LSP is full of solvent......

g88, long time MIA from detailing scene....sifu in da haus...:help:

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
Sifu in disguise and asking this eh... :biggrin:

g88

Jan 28, 2004
Hahaha....g88, you should know better than these guys what would happen if you apply an LSP onto a not-so-clean surfaces. Unless, of course, the LSP is full of solvent......

g88, long time MIA from detailing scene....sifu in da haus...:help:
I am not aggressive as you all :p

KrisMas

Apr 1, 2008
You will be again after you get a brand new car....hahahah....

TENON 168P FM 2KM 2-Way Vibration Remote Control Car Alarm System (Auto Start & Turbo TImer)
Price as low as RM 399 !!

For enquries, or any information (Spec Details),
just email me,, [email protected]

I'll mail the spec for you!!

or for any questions feel free to ask/contact me at 016-6496966

Want to know anything regarding...