Nissan Fairlady

Yong_5290

Nov 4, 2004
Klang
hotmail.com
Anyone can tell me where to recondition yellow and cracking looking Z33 headlamp
to look like new? Its has been sand to normal polishing and it looks better but i want
to get ride of those hairline cracks amd apply protection to it(if any) so that it remain clean and clear

Any idea who/where can be done and how much it cost?

Yong_5290

Nov 4, 2004
Klang
hotmail.com
I have read about opti coat and permanon coating...can this thing prevent the headlamp from yellowing?

KrisMas

Apr 1, 2008
If you're looking for (and don't mind spending the $$$) the best protection, in my book, is to get the headlight levelled by a pro (like fishbonezken...:p) then put on a good quality PPF (Paint Protection Film). I recommend 3M VentureShield. It can protect your headlamps and minimize both from yellowing AND damages by small grits (stones). But mind you, doing these two could cost you the price of a new set of our national cars' headlamps. You didn't mention what car you have so I just put forward my suggestions and warnings....hehehe....

Oh...sorry...just realised you mentioned you car in the thread title. Then I'd say it's worth going for the above....:rolleyes:

eohl79

Jun 12, 2011
I have read about opti coat and permanon coating...can this thing prevent the headlamp from yellowing?
OEM plastic headlamps comes with a clearcoat that has some amount of UV inhibitors (will deplete with time) and is relatively harder/thicker/stronger than any coatings out there (OC/OG, opti coat 2 aka OC2, permananon, etc). You have to actually sand the coating down to remove it and by doing so will make them more vulnerable to UV and reduce its mech resistance. Proper headlight restoration specialist would actually replace the sanded down coating with something similar or better than OEM coating specs. Opti coat, Permanon and similar is so thin in comparison and no match in terms of mechanical protection. And yes like KrisMas said a PFF will serve as a better sacrifical barrier but don't know who offers them :hmmmm:

Agree with the others, go find Fishbonez aka Kenneth.

Yong_5290

Nov 4, 2004
Klang
hotmail.com
Fishbonez is username in zth or..... ? It has been a long time i didnt log in zth. If the sifu who can be doing this
pls reply to my thread or pm me or sms me at 016-725-2991...thank you very very much

Yong_5290

Nov 4, 2004
Klang
hotmail.com
Guys...i have PM fishbonezken but i think he doesnt online often so there's no reply on him yet...any1 can help out?

DarkAccoon

LesleyAprotto

Banned
Jun 16, 2012
Another alternative is to ask the repainter to polish the headlamp with thinner & then spray a layer of 2K lacq oil on it!

I did it before on my car, it works !