How I blew by RB26DETT....please share

How my RB26DETT blew............

• Heavy foot AND cornering Junkie (High RPM Drift King?)

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • I blame Nissan ...(oil pump/collar issue)

• I could not resist turning up the BOOST.....now my GTR is NA....

• Never Blown - I have done all the mods.. :-)

• Total voters

gobiz2

Nov 11, 2010
[PIMPIN];1064065571 said:
Don't drive like me. Confirm save your engine. :confused:
I feel the same about my driving. In hindsight, regular sessions of maintaining high boost high rpm driving on MEX isn't the best way of preserving our engines. :stupid:

Temujin

Nov 5, 2004
[PIMPIN];1064065571 said:
Don't drive like me. Confirm save your engine. :confused:
relating to blowing engines, ur a gone case bro. no fully built engines can withstand the might of [PIMPIN]. :biggrin:

I feel the same about my driving. In hindsight, regular sessions of maintaining high boost high rpm driving on MEX isn't the best way of preserving our engines. :stupid:
u pulak, it's the case of using stock oil pump. unless u drive like [PIMPIN], i don't think the way u drive would be able to blow an RB30 just like that. :biggrin:

nyantong

Jul 26, 2008
If you guys wan to look for Nissan specialist, best to look for Onward Motorsports in Puchong.

[PIMPIN]

May 21, 2004
u pulak, it's the case of using stock oil pump. unless u drive like [PIMPIN], i don't think the way u drive would be able to blow an RB30 just like that. :biggrin:
LOL I missed the regularpart!

Actually the weakness of the stock oil pump has been exaggerated because they aren't that weak. It took me a long time to blow an engine due to stock oil pump failing and even my recent efforts on Sepang no less did not kill the oil pump and over 8000rpm was something I do a lot on the street on a regular basis as it is.

It was sustained high revs over an extended period that killed my oil pump and we're talking outstation drives, constantly maintaining a high speed not a brief flirtation with the limiter once in awhile.

gobiz2

Nov 11, 2010
My Nissan standard oilpump is actually FINE! :proud:

I am pretty sure that my engine failure was caused by oil starvation, where when high rpms are maintained, A LOT of the engine oil goes to the cylinder head and does not return quickly back into the block.

It can also be caused by the oil pickup pipe being exposed due to high G-forces during hard acceleration or cornering.

Hence the engine bearings are starved of oil, leading to friction and displacement.

Same thing occurred to the RB30 engine in the green Z31.

Highly tuned RB engines probably will benefit from a rear oil return and sump baffle.

[PIMPIN];1064066128 said:

Actually the weakness of the stock oil pump has been exaggerated because they aren't that weak. It took me a long time to blow an engine due to stock oil pump failing and even my recent efforts on Sepang no less did not kill the oil pump and over 8000rpm was something I do a lot on the street on a regular basis as it is.

It was sustained high revs over an extended period that killed my oil pump and we're talking outstation drives, constantly maintaining a high speed not a brief flirtation with the limiter once in awhile.
Yes, agreed.

[PIMPIN]

May 21, 2004
Actually the Zed with the RB30 blew because the car went out on track with less than usual engine oil so it was a gamble and a mistake to begin with - would have killed any engine in those circumstances not just an RB.

But a sump baffle is cheap insurance to begin with if anyone wants to track the car regularly or is addicted to fast Sunday morning runs up mountain roads with high speed corners etc. Ideally one would have an extended sump fitted since the sump baffle plate on its own would be a waste of labour costs. Might as well kill two birds with one stone.

bangkai_jk

Sep 4, 2005
m
[PIMPIN];1064066128 said:

:star::star::star::star::star::star::star:

kanan

Nov 12, 2005
[PIMPIN];1064066341 said:
Actually the Zed with the RB30 blew because the car went out on track with less than usual engine oil so it was a gamble and a mistake to begin with - would have killed any engine in those circumstances not just an RB.

But a sump baffle is cheap insurance to begin with if anyone wants to track the car regularly or is addicted to fast Sunday morning runs up mountain roads with high speed corners etc. Ideally one would have an extended sump fitted since the sump baffle plate on its own would be a waste of labour costs. Might as well kill two birds with one stone.
Sifus, so changing the stock oil pan to extended oil sump is more vital than changing the oil pump + doing crank collar in this case? i'm in the middle of trying to figure out what the first thing i need to do on my stock 26 to reduce the risk of oiling problem.

[PIMPIN]

May 21, 2004
Sifus, so changing the stock oil pan to extended oil sump is more vital than changing the oil pump + doing crank collar in this case? i'm in the middle of trying to figure out what the first thing i need to do on my stock 26 to reduce the risk of oiling problem.
That's not quite what I was getting at. It's best to have both if budget allows for it because even with a better oil pump, the amount of oil the stock sump can support leaves much room for improvement.

Plus, sump baffles are cheap so to make the most of your labour costs would be a good idea to get an extended sump which although can cost a few thousand is not as expensive as a replacement engine.

In a perfect world, you'd have the oil pump and crank collar, extended sump and baffle done all at once.

So, it has been a pretty fantastic 2011 for me. As some of you might know, I first bought my DSLR end of Dec 2010, and started taking random pictures of cars along the streets of Kuala Lumpur. Over the course of an entire year, many things happened for me...

It is incredibly difficult to express how I feel in words, so instead, I have decided to come up...