My Snail Rebuild Integra DB8

ehdrian

I Don't Care!
Dec 14, 2006
get a set of matte black 17" CE28..Rear 1.5 fingers gap while front 1finger gap..

siauann

Apr 17, 2005
i personally think the gold one looks better than white. maybe other colours also not bad. at least a bit contrast from the body colour. :)

ddv_nk12

May 18, 2011
PD
Exactly, that was what I was looking for. Some contrast in colour. My car is all white and looks plain. Need some colour to it.

That's the reason I went for the Type R decal. And when I bought this car, it came with white indicator bulbs. Now I got that amber bulb and it really helps. Not much though. Trying to figure out other cheap things I can do because I'm really on a tight budget now.

And thanks siauann for the suggestion.

ddv_nk12

May 18, 2011
PD
Since I got this car, there was one issue that seemed to be unsolvable. My front windscreen.

First when I got it, it had this line. I believe it was due to some chemical used to clean the windscreen and because it was not cleaned immediately, the stain remained.

To get rid of that, I tried so many things... tooth paste, rubbing compound and so many others after listening to everyone. But it didn't change anything.

Then, I decided to go to a so called high end car wash. It made it worse. What was previously only scratches and that chemical stain has now become hazy!!! This is really bad. It was dangerous to drive during the day and at night. Lights from any source... sun, headlights and even street lamps would spread across about 40% of my windscreen which is on the driver's side. When this happens, I have to find an angle where the windscreen is clear. I think it is safe to say that everything was blur when there's light shone.

I can't seem to find any picture of the haze on the windscreen better than these.

If you can notice it, the hazy part is only on the driver's side. The pictures don't show how bad is it when driving though.

I had to settle a few things in my hometown, so I decided to get my windscreen checked.

These pics were taken to show how the street lights spread across the windscreen. Again in the pictures, it's not that bad.

Early Saturday morning, I went to the Glass Mechanic in SS2. The boss wasn't there that early, so I waited. The lady there said that my glass was terrible and even if it is done, they can't guarantee 100% but still told me to wait for the boss to see.

The boss came and examined my windscreen and said that it can be done but not 100%. I wasn't convinced. He said it will be only about 90%. Considering that I could barely see anything, 90% improvement is very good to me. I told him to do it but what if I don't see any improvements? He said I don't have to pay if I'm not happy. Now, I am convinced, not because I don't have to pay but because of his confidence. He told me it will take at least 4 -5 hours minimum. There was also a crack (there's a name for it... star crack or something like that, can't remember) that had to be repaired. He offered me a good bargain and I accepted it.

Just before I left, I took a few more pics to see if the difference in case I forgot how it was like.

90% better than this is really something to me.

My brother fetched me and went to see his car in Batu Caves. Came back at about 4.30 and the car was still not ready. He was working on it.

Just from this angle, I could really see the difference. I was happy.

Magic? No, just a professional's work.

Just to quote, I went to so many Dr. Cermin and all those so called windscreen specialists before and all of them told me that NOTHING can be done but to change the windscreen.

Who is this magician/pro??

He really looked very professional

It was this man who did it for me. What seemed to be impossible was made possible by him

Thanks to him and Glass Mechanic. Not advertising for them but just my appreciation for what they have done for me.

The verdict??

You tell me.

Previously, I could not see my steering wheel clearly from this angle

And even from this angle, it's so clear

Sitting inside my car and snapped this pic. Seems like there was no glass between my camera lens and the wall there.

I know I could have gone the easier way of changing the windscreen by claiming insurance which may be cheaper and I would have gotten myself a brand new windscreen.

Honestly, even now I feel that that would be a wiser thing to do. But I have no regrets at all. I just like how the windscreen was treated.

ddv_nk12

May 18, 2011
PD
Oh i forgot. RM350. This is because I told him to polish the whole windscreen and repair the crack.

ehdrian

I Don't Care!
Dec 14, 2006
add lil bit more n u can get a new one..hehe

ddv_nk12

May 18, 2011
PD
Yes, I am aware of that. hehe

ehdrian

I Don't Care!
Dec 14, 2006
black rims, black tinted, black tinted backlight, black side mirror, black hood, and black roof.

Y dun u just blacken everything on the car?..:stupid:

ddv_nk12

May 18, 2011
PD
Decided to go to the track since it's Honda night. Outcome? Like shit!!! Seriously disappointing. Don't know why my launching was like shit!!

ehdrian

I Don't Care!
Dec 14, 2006
Decided to go to the track since it's Honda night. Outcome? Like shit!!! Seriously disappointing. Don't know why my launching was like shit!!

Keep on practising then..

mADmAN

ur hondata never set launch control ah?

ddv_nk12

May 18, 2011
PD
Keep on practising then..
yes bro. need to practice a lot.

ur hondata never set launch control ah?
set at 5k rpm. but the road was wet after rain, so no use. it was way to high. so even at 3k was still too high. one of the guys told me dont accelerate too much. it was better but still other guys were able to launch better than me. by the time i shift to second, they're too far to beat them. only can close up the gap. like shit la!!

when i see that i can close up the gap, it's either they slow down before the finish line or my car is faster. if they're slowing down, i also do that because there's a corner not too far away from the finish line.

Any advice on the launching techniques on wet roads? haha