B16A Engine Modification Advice Needed !

tsmlawz

Apr 8, 2008
Damansara/PJ
Dont waste time and money modding b16a auto,I used to drive a b16a auto mod with b16a manual cam+fgk sflow+fgk 421+2.3inch pipe and vafc...the performance still cant compare to a b16a manual. If u wanna keep auto then just find b18c or b20b block but dunno ur gearbox can tahan or not la.
1 questions seniors!
Why is it B16A auto cant compare with B16A manual?

DeaconFrost

Oct 2, 2009
1 questions seniors!
Well bro, one of the things that made the B16A competitive is the manual gearbox that comes with it.

Rev-wise, the auto do not even allow you to rev over 7700rpm, and you can see this on your meter.

High redline allows B16A to brake later going into a corner, and downshift harder, but a 7700rpm redline is going to be a b*tch. B16A is a short stroke engine and all high-revving Ferraris, Lexus LFAs have short stroke, so limiting it to 7700rpm is throwing away it's advantage.

Last time I own an EG6 and I can have fun, now I have an auto EG9 for my daily ride and when I want to downshift I can only see D3, D2 ahahahahaha...

Lose the auto gearbox and you'll be a happy man.

shah5755

Apr 20, 2007
Pj....kch
last time i did read sumwhere the auto cam and manual cam slightly different...manual cams more wilder the cam profile....correct me if i'm wrong sifu:smokin:

mADmAN

correct...the cams on a manual and auto B16A are different... if not mistaken even the compression ratio on the auto is slightly lower..

tsmlawz

Apr 8, 2008
Damansara/PJ
OOh i see, if like dat meaning stock B16A auto engine itself also less stim compare to B16A manual engine d.
What bout changing cams and piston will it par?
hehe.
planning to take it easy =)

mADmAN

OOh i see, if like dat meaning stock B16A auto engine itself also less stim compare to B16A manual engine d.
What bout changing cams and piston will it par?
hehe.
planning to take it easy =)
if ur gonna change pistons, better to get B16B (PCT) pistons...higher compression... and theyre not that expensive and easily available, especially if ur looking for brand new

cams...yeah manual cams will be better..but again...type r cams are even better hahahahha

if changing b16a auto to manual worth it? cost wise?
or straight away change whole halfcut to b16b/b18c
2-3-4k iirc...cant remember the cost...but also depends on the parts u get. yes worth it :D

ddv_nk12

May 18, 2011
PD
**wrong info**

mADmAN

2-3-4k is for the manual gearbox only? or for the full conversion of b16ab/b18cr?
converting ur manual to auto...basically the gearbox, clutch, clutch pumps, pedals, and watever needed for auto-manual conversion

engine no touch.

mADmAN

if not mistaken yes....but not too sure about that one

mysayasan

Jul 25, 2009
Rechipped the ECU, and you are good to go.

To convert to manual just remove R18 and RP17 and jump RP18 with a piece of wire (or the leg from a resistor works well)

More picture here

http://honda-tech.com/showthread.php?t=2504546

deathzone

Jul 9, 2005
Kota Kinabalu
1 questions seniors!
Manual have more better gear ratio some comes with LSD. Auto b16a have milder camshaft and lower rpm gear change. U can use manual cam or type r cam and piston with ur auto b16a for better acceleration but performance still cant compare to a stock b16a manual.

I suggest if u wanna keep auto just change to b20b/b20z block with some bolt on mod. If u want power and reliable then go for b16b or b18cr halfcut comfirm puas!:driver: