2.5inch or 3 inch for 4g63T??need help!!

virus-v6

May 30, 2006
Dear zthians...need help behalf of my cousin....he had just converted his perdana to a evo3 engine...just seeking some advise on the exaust piping..wats the best size piping can be installed for his car?is it 2.5'' or 3''?currently he is using stock perdana piping with a 2.5'' inlet muffler (tailpipe) connected to his stock piping.his engine mod's are:

1. Banana kit with 38mm external wastegate.
2. Stainless steel intercooler piping.
3. ngk power cable
4. emanage
5. porting done
6. boost 1 bar
7. adj campuley
8. open podfilter
i'm not sure how many mm is his metal gasket but he had changed it.plzz advise.....regards:confused:

l2s_turbo

Oct 23, 2004
3" should be good enuf unless he is at 400~500hp..stock turbo 3" should be vy sufficient already.. if auto trans 2.5" will be best..

NeuroOne

WFH
Sep 11, 2006
Putrajaya
wow. already has banana and boost 1 bar but still standard perdana exhaust, bahaya woo..
go 3" all the way is good enuf..

virus-v6

May 30, 2006
thank u so much for the info bro's but one of the exaust shop guy told me that 3 inch is way too bigwat i mean is if i use 3'' the pick up will be good n the top will drop.thats wat the guy said n how far is it true!!need u guys tips n valuable info's plzzz

escksu

Nov 25, 2011
Singapore
thank u so much for the info bro's but one of the exaust shop guy told me that 3 inch is way too bigwat i mean is if i use 3'' the pick up will be good n the top will drop.thats wat the guy said n how far is it true!!need u guys tips n valuable info's plzzz
Yes, 3" is indeed big for 1 bar but I am thinking about the future. Will you stick with just 1 bar boost and not go further? Thats when 3" will help. Power is very addictive. I had a car using 3SGTE engine. At first 0.8 bar, shiok... later 1 bar because 0.8 not enough. Then 1.2..... Then 1.5..... (spend money to rebuild engine).

NeuroOne

WFH
Sep 11, 2006
Putrajaya
yep, agree with escksu.
even ppl with standard evo3 engine go bigger than 2.5" (ori evo3 i guess is 2.3"..)

he got e-manage installed already kan? did he get dyno result?
after change to 3" exhaust and go dyno again, post here how much power up ok..

kumar22mostwanted

Jan 9, 2010
HELL!!!
im using evo 3 also with standard turbo also and 3 inch is best of both worlds for me because the pick up is still there if paired with the right muffler and also the top end(6000rpms and above) will be better then 2.5 inch exhaust of course if you already have 2.5 inch you just stick with it and swap the muffler to a super high flowing muffler or if you dont mind the noise a straight pipe :biggrin:

virus-v6

May 30, 2006
ok bro's,thanks 4 the advise.will keep u all posted after the dyno results.

Honda Malaysia Sdn Bhd stole the limelight of the 2010 Kuala Lumpur International Motorshow when it launched the highly anticipated Honda Insight at an unbelievable price of RM98,000.

This newly launched entry hybrid model broke new grounds with...