Smoking Bonnet...

BudakSiol!

-
Guys,

Just want to ask your opinion for those Corolla's converted to 4AGE. Nowadays kan raining alot?
Is it okay if your car bonnet/hood terkeluar asap like dry ice? Anybody experiencing this? Is my engine bay too hooooot? It's pretty visible during heavy drizzle when you wiper speed is set to the lowest.

ps - it's definitely coming from the bonnet/hood and not from the grill.

ehdrian

I Don't Care!
Dec 14, 2006
i used to experience dat but after putting the sound proof material underneath the bonnet, no more ade..

my satria also...

but now less of it after raised my hood a bit..

C99D-MMC5537

Jan 9, 2008
put the "Tak Nak" sticker on your windscreen. your bonnet will stop smoking after see it.. :biggrin:

l2s_turbo

Oct 23, 2004
Mine also after removing one rubber strip at the bonnet to let the hot air out..

et_box

Aug 27, 2006
Does it mean that there is not enough air circulation in the engine bay?

AD_EG

Apr 5, 2009
don think so bro...i think its water getting into the engine bay area dropping on hot components..also the hood will get hot after driving and when water drops on it...it should start to evoparate...

by adding air circulation using air scoops etc...you might still see smoke coming out...cause the water is going into the engine bay area and touchin other stuff..

AE101-Wong

Jul 26, 2006
it's normal boss....
water vapor when hot man..
but after putting heat insulator wont have this problem...

Lets take for example a Wira 1.5Gli it comes stock with disc in the front plus 2pot calipers (i think) and drum brakes at the rear.

So if was wondering if wanna get better performance ..

1) Transplant ABS from a compatible Lancer set.

2) Upgrade the rear to disc also, upgrade the front to bigger ventilated disc, and upgrade calipers from 2pot to 4pot (for example).

I think (1) would be the obvious solution if doing an engine transplant as everything would be compatibe but if it wasn't a...