Do sim racing improve your driving skills ?

Do Racing Simulators Improve your Driving Skills?

• Yes

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

Never had hands on on one of these but i just feel that its only up to a certain extent, these will help in actual races. I once watched a programme about the WRC game sim champion who actually did better timing than the real WRC drivers in real life. It was the WRC Impreza which was used by the WRC game sim champion. Winning that competition, gave this guy the chance to actually try out the exact same track with the exact same car. He crashed. So, looking at this, yes this racing simulations may give you the feel of racing but not sufficient to use that as a training ground to take on the real tracks. Maybe as a starting platform and that is it.
haaa..because another factor is....

sim cannot create/calculate surface friction/loss after every passes especially on gravel....loose sand and stone including rough surface cannot be created on sims...

on tarmac track also track condition was alway optimum even in the wet still at optimum without water puddle etc etc...so there's still a lot to learn on real life than on sims...

but still sims help train the driver proper line,steering control,throttle control,reflexes,braking and track familiarization :adore:

p/s:f1 driver train on simulator especially on the track that they feels they need to improve (when there's limited testing/training sesion

BLaCkHoWLiNG

'(^^)|Most Awesome Member
www.autojunctions.com
Human has 5 sense..

1. Vision
2. Hearing
3. Touching
4. Taste
5. Smelling

On sims - u see the lcd screen... u hear your neighbour's cat meowing while u r hearing the sim's audio... u smell your sweat as u perspire due to 'excited' sessions with your joypad... u taste orange juice while u drive on sims and yr touches are only confined to static gravity.. not dynamic motion...

We have to really use at least majority of these senses when drive. Sims only sharpens what you need to do, not necessarily subjecting your body to experience as to when and how to react at each corner, each time a cat jumps on the road, each scenario..

Sims will 'teach' u what to do and how to do it but nothing replaces 'the real world' when it comes to honing skills...

---

It's like watching 100x JAP AV porn every night doesn't make u the ultimate stud... aka f**cker

LOL

*cabut*

Joeker

Walking Dead
Nov 19, 2003
Jinjang
I think sim can only help you memorize the track.

When to start braking.

When to start accelerating.

How much speed to carry into Turn 12 in order to slingshot out of the apex of Turn 13, etc, etc.

But when really go to track, its totally different story.

The adrenalin, heat, sweat, engine and trye screaming, you'll soon realize you forget all you memorized from the sim

sgwangacc

Oct 17, 2011
www.sgwangacc.com.my
sim is an alternative way to brush up the driving skills, if compared to drive a real car on the road.
Yet, not advisable to wholly rely on such virtual practice to drive in the reality world. Both situations have their difference.

FVel

Feb 5, 2007
As BlackHowling said earlier, you cannot simulate sex....you actually have to do (frequently) to be considered a f**ker.

He's probably suggesting he is one..... although, to be honest,....with the car he drives, he probably still gets laid by the women even if he is complete disaster in bed. So yeah,....want to get laid, get a Supra ;)

Joking bro

---------- Post added at 05:09 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:47 PM ----------

although i just have GT4 from PS2 at home, but it had help me a lot to understand about FF, FR, MR, RR, AWD and....... it is not as good as GT5 but for me, sudah ok lah....... xde duit nak beli PS3 macam mana ah..... :hmmmm:
Many feel the best sim publicly available at the moment is iRacing.

In its core, GT4 on PS3 is an arcade game aimed mostly at adolescents looking for quick gratification. It's not even close to being a 'simulation' just as much as a 'simulation' is not even close to being the real thing

[PIMPIN]

May 21, 2004
But I have friends who are good at GT5 who don't know how to drive manual without stalling but in GT5 on Nurburgring in an R34 damn fast. If like that how :confused:

mizunori77

Dec 13, 2006
racing sims, if taken too seriously, could lead to driver carelessness on roads and would lead to accidents.

fact is, when anyone starts playing racing sims, going off-course and crashing into barriers are normal BUT you are still in the safety of your couch.

in real life, if you "drive" like how you do in a racing sim, you might end up totalling your car and killing yourself.

although racing sims can help you to be more familiar with racing lines, it doesn't "make" you a better driver and definitely doesn't make you a safer driver.

in racing sims, sometimes you "nudge" your way through to overtake... try doing that it real life like those WTCC and see what happens to you and your car...

games will always remain a game. when you are behind a real steering wheel and driving on the road, please drive safe.

when you go to the tracks, please drive safe too. there is no "reset" button or "pause" button in real life. :wavey:

FVel

Feb 5, 2007
racing sims, if taken too seriously, could lead to driver carelessness on roads and would lead to accidents.
Have you actually met a serious simmer ?

Honestly, I don't think sims is a serious contributory factor to adolescent road recklessness anymore than adolescent themselves, by the very nature of their maturity (or lack of it) will have a tendency to be reckless, regardless of whether they are engaged in simming.

All you have to do is to give them the keys to a car and any wannabe will, at some point, try to show off with his friends. You don't need a computer sim to provoke his impulses.

With the so-called serious race-simmers, well...... I'm one, as are a lot of others worldwide, including some top tier real racers (people like Dale Earnhardt Jr., Rubens Barrichello etc).

A lot of reasons why we sim...and it does not necessarily have to do with being better on the real roads.

1. It's a heck of a lot of fun without the cost and consequences of real racing. Some of us average folks just want to have our little dream immersion at being M. Schumacher and leave the real deal to the real racing gladiators. You risk so much more in life, limb and money and we simmers salute your dedication to your craft. Just don't expect everyone of us to have the mental fortitude to engage in real racing. And we don't much want to. Sims are our little way of letting it all out without the consequences. At the other end of the spectrum, many real racers engage in simming because of the fun factor.

2. Real racers use sims as a preparatory tool. Not so much to teach them how to drive because they already know how to drive. Sometimes it is a big help when going to an unknown venue where you have no idea of the track layout. In some of the 'higher fidelity' sims, such as iRacing where each track is paintakingly recreated using laser scanning of the actual track, the replication is uncanny. One of our fellow simmers, and some of you here will know him as a real life airline pilot and regular MME racer....Bill Sherwood (Bill Sherwoods Car Index page) used rFactor's rendition of the Nordschleife track to help him familiarize with the layout before he ran at the 24hr Nordscleife for the first time in 2007. You can see it all at this website.

3. Let's not forget, even at the so called 'top tier' of motorsports (F1), sims is as much of part of the infrastructure and an indispensable component of their program.

I don't believe sims are dangerous per se. Within its intended context it is educational and fun. Unfairly, it has often been used as a convenient scapegoat for real world behavior. Seriously, if folks have an unreasonable fear against sims promoting recklessness, they should also stop kids from playing all those violent computers games and watching all those movies that involve computer charcters getting shot, decapitated stabbed and whatnot.

khilside

Jun 14, 2010
youre right FVel.
thanks for the reply everyone.

I think sim can only help you memorize the track.

When to start braking.

When to start accelerating.

How much speed to carry into Turn 12 in order to slingshot out of the apex of Turn 13, etc, etc.

But when really go to track, its totally different story.

The adrenalin, heat, sweat, engine and trye screaming, you'll soon realize you forget all you memorized from the sim
i think in Sim racing, providing enough equipments ; wheel, seat, cockpit etc , will help you memorizing tracks, each turn, braking point, the surface, etc.

i dunno, can't say much, as i never been on track before. am still studying, no $$ and proper car. :rolleyes:

too bad only F1 game got Sepang Circuit track.

mizunori77

Dec 13, 2006
Have you actually met a serious simmer ?
of course i have... and i'm not referring to those who play games for fun or those who actually play sims to be more familiar with the tracks.

i'm referring to people who try to imitate those kind of maneuvering, late braking or "powering" through corners just like they would in a racing sim.

my friend's brother is DAMN lucky to walk away with just a broken ankle, cracked ribs and an extremely bruised ego after he totaled his car about 3 years ago... and he is an adult.

FVel

Feb 5, 2007
of course i have... and i'm not referring to those who play games for fun or those who actually play sims to be more familiar with the tracks.

i'm referring to people who try to imitate those kind of maneuvering, late braking or "powering" through corners just like they would in a racing sim.

my friend's brother is DAMN lucky to walk away with just a broken ankle, cracked ribs and an extremely bruised ego after he totaled his car about 3 years ago... and he is an adult.
The consequences of your friend's brother actions were a result of his stupidity, outright naiveity and self-delusions of grandeur.....plain and simple.

It's not reasonable to suggest this kind of mentality and impulses of your friend is an endemic problem in the race simming community.....because it is not.

Any rational, responsible adult knows how to differentiate reality from make-belief. Society is made up of people of varying degrees of intellect and disposition. Unfortunately, we get stupid people within the racesim community as well.

Stupid people will tend to do stupid things irrespective of their affiliations. So I think it somewhat harsh to throw cold-water on a certain hobby or segment of society just on account of a few dumbasses.

After all, how many time have we heard of gung-ho wannabes imitating the kungfu maneuvers in movies they watch, only to get their heads smacked in during a real fight. Same deal.

neohadri

Jul 5, 2008
yes,

provided if you simming with the right sofware ( iracing, rfactor, LFS ) , right hardware ( FFB steering, load cell brake pedal),

& u race againts other serious simmer, i was fortunate to race those simmer ( Malaysian Sim Racers )

now after 6 month, i noticed my awareness & calmness while driving on road have increase

I using 4g93 dohc. change lighten crank pulley better performance or adjustable cam pulley?? need 4g93 sifu guide for technical modification engine.