Car modifications - the dummies guide! Part #1

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Mar 28, 2004
KL

Who hasn't heard this before: "I'm a noob and I want to make my car go faster! But.... how ah?" Well I'm going to create a simple guide for those who want to get started but don't know how.

Step #1 : Determine how much budget you have. RM100 will almost get you nowhere and RM10,000 can do wonders. There's usually no such thing as cheap and cheerful. If you have a healthy budget you can do more, if not - save it up and blow it all on mods later. Simple as that.

Step #2 : How far do you want to go? Forced induction? Or your daddy won't allow? Either way, find out what it is you want to achieve from the mods. Do you want to have more torque? Or take corners at insane speeds? Or do you want your car to bounce up and down low rider style? Or do you just wanna go faster than a certain bright orange Supra recently featured on ZTH? :biggrin: (You'll need really big bucks to do that btw)

Step #3 : You need to understand - more power = more air + more petrol. Mumbo jumbo gimmicks won't do crap unless it fits in the equation. More petrol = higher fuel consumption. Also, harder suspension = better cornering = worse ride quality. There's no such thing as cornering like God but having a ride as comfortable as a Citroen C6. Modification is all about compromise. You give some to get some. If you can understand all that and agree, continue reading.

Right. Let's get started with the most basic of all mods - Improving airflow.

The air filter. The stock paper air filter is somewhat restrictive and lots of companies have come up with their higher airflow filters, either drop in or open pod. The general rule is if you're looking for low profile looks, a drop-in airfilter is the one you want. If you want bling, consider the open pod filter, but you'll need to invest in a intake pipe and probably silicon connectors. Meaning open pods are not cheap to install.