Need help choosing the best road and casual rally racing car.

Which 1990's rally car best for daily road use and some casual rallying?

• Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution (IV, V, VI)

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Subaru Impreza WRX STI GC8

• Ford Escort RS Cosworth

• Toyota Celica GT-Four (ST165, ST185, ST205)

• Total voters

MuIqHa

From Facebook
Sep 27, 2011
Hi everyone,

I'm an 18-year old boy living in Sabah, Malaysia who is looking for a car to use on the road and some casual countryside rallying.

I'd like a 1990's car that can be used for everyday purposes but can also be used to do some rally practices at my hometown.

These are the cars I have in mind:
1) Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution (IV, V and VI)

2) Subaru Impreza WRX STI GC8 Series

3) Ford Escort RS Cosworth

4) Toyota Celica GT-Four (ST165, ST185 and ST205)

Could anyone give me suggestions as to which of them is the best for road uses and some casual rallying?

I need the car to have these specifications:

1) Good and comfortable for daily road use

2) Great for casual rallying practices

3) Durable enough when going on gravel or muddy roads

4) Great fuel economy

5) Easily insureable

I dont care about a car with beautiful looks because I only want to upgrade the performance of the car for rallies. :)

Thanks and I hope you guys could help me. :)

khoyos

Nov 23, 2003
i think all the 4 cars can easily meet all 5 of ur requirements. but i think mitsu evo/subaru impreza is more practical due to availability of parts locally. gt-four is still ok la but for cosworth, even the timing belt, water pump have to import from UK. imagine if ur altenator/starter kong? u wanna rojak using proton parts? do remember that these cars are easily 15 years old. some parts are already due for replacement...

why not use a cheapo proton satria (convert it to rally spec) for ur rallying duties n keep ur evo/sti/celica/cosworth for road use? its gonna be cheaper n more fun that way. whack the proton with no mercy n no need to worry about breaking down...

MuIqHa

From Facebook
Sep 27, 2011
i think all the 4 cars can easily meet all 5 of ur requirements. but i think mitsu evo/subaru impreza is more practical due to availability of parts locally. gt-four is still ok la but for cosworth, even the timing belt, water pump have to import from UK. imagine if ur altenator/starter kong? u wanna rojak using proton parts? do remember that these cars are easily 15 years old. some parts are already due for replacement...

why not use a cheapo proton satria (convert it to rally spec) for ur rallying duties n keep ur evo/sti/celica/cosworth for road use? its gonna be cheaper n more fun that way. whack the proton with no mercy n no need to worry about breaking down...
If so then between Mitsubishi Evo 4,5 and 6 Vs. Subaru Impreza GC8, which one would be better? I just want one car. I'm not super rich. XD

wow , you are a lucky 18 years old boy!
LOL. I'm just confused to choose which car so I needed help from the experts. I'm not going to buy it straight away. Probably save my money to 60k-70k then find one for me. For now, I just need to know which one of these is the best so I can have a target. ;)

civic_6366

Nov 29, 2005
hi bro,
hope u r doing well. Have to say u r 1 of the luckiest person. good to knw more juniors cmg up in rally scenes. well my advise is, get an 1st model Satria 1.6 convert it into proper rally car and get a Satria GTi for ya self n drive around for ya daily use. both the cars required ya budget, infact much cheaper tht u estimated. if u need more advise on rallying u can contact me. i'm a current junior rally driver as well. :) cheers

---------- Post added at 04:35 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:34 PM ----------

this wan i like!!!

MuIqHa

From Facebook
Sep 27, 2011
hi bro,
hope u r doing well. Have to say u r 1 of the luckiest person. good to knw more juniors cmg up in rally scenes. well my advise is, get an 1st model Satria 1.6 convert it into proper rally car and get a Satria GTi for ya self n drive around for ya daily use. both the cars required ya budget, infact much cheaper tht u estimated. if u need more advise on rallying u can contact me. i'm a current junior rally driver as well. :) cheers

---------- Post added at 04:35 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:34 PM ----------

this wan i like!!!
Thanks. I actually do illegal road rallies...alone. XD My rally skills are really low since I've just got my driver's license so I know very little about controlling the car at high speeds. But I would REALLY, ABSOLUTELY LOVE to get into real legal rally stages and competitions, but there is just isn't any rally activities at Sabah, plus I'm still young. Can you give me an advice on how to start competitive rallying? Is there a rally school in Malaysia? Rallying is my dream but there are just too much obstacles (money, the lack of rally school and the lack of competitive rallying at my hometown).

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
Satria is a good car..

plus it's cheap to buy/maintain & u can whack it as ur heart desires :wink:

and please don't bring those rare cars for rally.. although it's better than Satria, it's quite expensive to maintain..

Just my 2 cents :biggrin:

and this is ur 1st car, right?

MuIqHa

From Facebook
Sep 27, 2011
Satria is a good car..

plus it's cheap to buy/maintain & u can whack it as ur heart desires :wink:

and please don't bring those rare cars for rally.. although it's better than Satria, it's quite expensive to maintain..

Just my 2 cents :biggrin:

and this is ur 1st car, right?
Yeah it's my first car. Which satria is best for rally?

sagaevo

Nov 20, 2003
Dude, take the advice which given to you by bro Khoyos and civic_6366. Its good to hear that more young chaps are inclined towards rally scenes, but u have said yourself, u have very little knowledge on controlling cars in high speeds. Correction on this yaa, hypothetically speaking, rally is not all about high speed or going breakneck super fast pace. Its all about how u able to control the vehicle in every motion and reaction while on the go, how u able to understand and "communicate" with your machine well enough. Rally in fact subconsciously, teaches u how to be a better driver in a sense.

The rides that you've listed are those legends from the rally heydays and getting one to multipurpose by utilizing for rally and alternate for road use is something else, you have to consider as well the maintenance over wear and tear, unpredictable costs and extra spending that will come and flow with it, especially rides like Escort Cosworth which is extremely rare to find (don't know in sabah or sarawak area), and so do the replacement parts and maintenance as well. But considering on u as a beginner, its no harm for u to get start off with a Satria or Putra, or other cars like Mazda 323 Clair for such, and heck, in fact rally hardcores like Gunaseelan Rajoo also started off with Satria (if i remember correctly).

Try to surf up to WHEELSPIN.MALAYSIA - Portal to lookup more on rally events, infos, tips and etcs. Or you can ask our fellow bro, Pomen_GTR, whom involve in rallies for a kick-start.

Cheers...

MuIqHa

From Facebook
Sep 27, 2011
Dude, take the advice which given to you by bro Khoyos and civic_6366. Its good to hear that more young chaps are inclined towards rally scenes, but u have said yourself, u have very little knowledge on controlling cars in high speeds. Correction on this yaa, hypothetically speaking, rally is not all about high speed or going breakneck super fast pace. Its all about how u able to control the vehicle in every motion and reaction while on the go, how u able to understand and "communicate" with your machine well enough. Rally in fact subconsciously, teaches u how to be a better driver in a sense.

The rides that you've listed are those legends from the rally heydays and getting one to multipurpose by utilizing for rally and alternate for road use is something else, you have to consider as well the maintenance over wear and tear, unpredictable costs and extra spending that will come and flow with it, especially rides like Escort Cosworth which is extremely rare to find (don't know in sabah or sarawak area), and so do the replacement parts and maintenance as well. But considering on u as a beginner, its no harm for u to get start off with a Satria or Putra, or other cars like Mazda 323 Clair for such, and heck, in fact rally hardcores like Gunaseelan Rajoo also started off with Satria (if i remember correctly).

Try to surf up to WHEELSPIN.MALAYSIA - Portal to lookup more on rally events, infos, tips and etcs. Or you can ask our fellow bro, Pomen_GTR, whom involve in rallies for a kick-start.

Cheers...
What Satria version is best for starters? I've been to Wheelspin Malaysia website but it's empty?...:confused:

How can I learn rallying in Malaysia? Because I've only *cough* sped up my dad's car through narrow countryside gravel courses. Not even doing any slides and stuff, just crazily speeding up. I REALLY NEED to know where could I learn rallying.

sagaevo

Nov 20, 2003
Different people has different taste, but any satria would be a best start, try to hunt for the 1.6 SOHC or any 4G93 NA transplanted for extra power and torque to match up....try your hunting in mudah and see....

i have not been to wheelspin site for quite a while, but there's a Portal link on the menu stated there...

Like i've said....try to reach out Pomen_GTR, he would be the correct person to seek infos with....

MuIqHa

From Facebook
Sep 27, 2011
Different people has different taste, but any satria would be a best start, try to hunt for the 1.6 SOHC or any 4G93 NA transplanted for extra power and torque to match up....try your hunting in mudah and see....

i have not been to wheelspin site for quite a while, but there's a Portal link on the menu stated there...

Like i've said....try to reach out Pomen_GTR, he would be the correct person to seek infos with....
How to contact him? I'm still such a noob at these things.

teo1957

Nov 12, 2006
1. Car price.
2. Bucket seat.
3. Rollcage.
4. Adjustable absorbers.
5. Rally wheels.
6. Rally tyres.
7. Chassis strengthening (e.g. spot welding).

Easily over RM40k.

8. Parts (e.g. driveshaft, etc.)

If you spend RM1k on driveshaft change every FIVE years for a road driven car, in rallying probably you need to change it every... 2-3 events? (Guys, please enlighten). That's only for driveshaft.

Have you got RM50k CASH already?

I don't think you want to wreck a car you bought on loan, and continue paying monthly installments for nothing (uninsured wreck).

LittleWhiteWagon

Oct 12, 2009
P.J
Hi everyone,

I'm an 18-year old boy living in Sabah, Malaysia who is looking for a car to use on the road and some casual countryside rallying.

I'd like a 1990's car that can be used for everyday purposes but can also be used to do some rally practices at my hometown.

These are the cars I have in mind:
1) Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution (IV, V and VI)

2) Subaru Impreza WRX STI GC8 Series

3) Ford Escort RS Cosworth

4) Toyota Celica GT-Four (ST165, ST185 and ST205)

Could anyone give me suggestions as to which of them is the best for road uses and some casual rallying?

I need the car to have these specifications:

1) Good and comfortable for daily road use

2) Great for casual rallying practices

3) Durable enough when going on gravel or muddy roads

4) Great fuel economy

5) Easily insureable

I dont care about a car with beautiful looks because I only want to upgrade the performance of the car for rallies. :)

Thanks and I hope you guys could help me. :)
You forgot to list in the infamous Lancia Delta too HAHA. If you can find an escort cozzie here in M'sia i'll be proper jealous.

I'd go for a 1.5 satria if I were you. Parts everywhere and the engine is generally quite tough too. Are there any empty fields/dirt roads for you to practice on?

Learning how to drive, irony of ironies you should read about how a car responds in the dirt online then go practice lah :rofl: . Same way I started learning how to heel & toe, its by understanding theory first then putting that into practice.

If you dont understand the theory you'll most likely not even understand the action :driver: .

---------- Post added at 12:43 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:41 AM ----------

1. Car price.
2. Bucket seat.
3. Rollcage.
4. Adjustable absorbers.
5. Rally wheels.
6. Rally tyres.
7. Chassis strengthening (e.g. spot welding).

Easily over RM40k.

8. Parts (e.g. driveshaft, etc.)

If you spend RM1k on driveshaft change every FIVE years for a road driven car, in rallying probably you need to change it every... 2-3 events? (Guys, please enlighten). That's only for driveshaft.

Have you got RM50k CASH already?

I don't think you want to wreck a car you bought on loan, and continue paying monthly installments for nothing (uninsured wreck).
Haha thats just on driveshafts, imagine puncturing tires on the roads, absorbers that kong etc etc...

pandaB

Feb 9, 2005
start wif a car wif minimal electronics. Of the list Scooby, Escort and Cilly will easier to play around. evo iv onwards have YAW/ABC/ god knows wat else. bring a whole bunch of computers in a forest for tuning is troublesome a bit...

guys, i want to know is that if i transplant a B16 into my current civic EG , the fuel consumption will be better compare to D16 engine? i meant normal drive, not open vtec all the time as im not really a person who like to race.... cause i heard a friend of mine say so when he did the transplant, he said the honda civic EG and EK body is heavy...:confused: